Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Stop calling my Spartan "experimental"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Orange, California, USA.
    Posts
    629

    Default Stop calling my Spartan "experimental"

    Hey Guys,

    How do I get ATC to stop calling my newly downloaded (and magnificent) Spartan "experimental." I don't have Edit Voicepack, so hopefully that's not required. I don't need it to call me "Spartan" but I'd prefer to hear nothing than "experimental."

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Face Down on the Sidewalk
    Posts
    255

    Default Maybe I can help....

    Go to the Aircraft.cfg file and look for a line that says something like:

    ATC_Airline=experimental

    or

    ui_manufacturer = experimental

    and change the "experimental" to "Spartan"

    I have my doubts if it will work, as FS9 probably does not recognize Spartan as a call-out.

    I have the XB-70, and it was always called "experimental" and then I changed "ATC_Airline=experimental" to "ATC_Airline=Air Force" and now I'm called "Air Force November 2001"

    Ummm... I just tried it, I changed my XB-70 .cfg to read "Spartan" (instead of Air Force) and it did not work.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    166

    Default RE: Stop calling my Spartan "experimental"

    Go into the aircraft config and scroll down to the section that says General (right below the section for each aircraft). You'll see two entries: atc_type= and atc_model=. If your config is like mine, there's no entry behind the = signs, so ATC considers you to be experimental. With more modern aircraft, the type would be the aircraft manufacturer, example: atc_type=Boeing (or Douglas, etc). The model is the particular aircraft, example: atc_model=B738 (or 737, or 737-800). Atc doesn't seem to be too particular.

    As far as the Spartan goes, you can show Spartan as the type and Executive as the model, BUT since it's an old aircraft, M$FS may not recognize it and continue to call you an experimental, just like it doesn't recognize a number of airlines. Try it and see. I left mine blank for no good reason I can give.

    The same type and model entries work on all aircraft.

    Hope this helps.

    Bob

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Warren, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    12,365

    Default RE: Stop calling my Spartan "experimental"


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portland, Oregon USA
    Posts
    676

    Default RE: Stop calling my Spartan "experimental"

    FS can't recognize "Spartan" as a manufacturer if it doesn't know how to say it. That's where EditVoicepack comes in... it's pretty easy to set up, and free as well. And then you can import the Spartan voicepack mod so that FS will recognize not only "Spartan" but "Executive" as well.
    Bill Womack

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    KLMT, Oregon, USA.
    Posts
    105

    Default RE: Stop calling my Spartan "experimental"

    EditVoicePack is freeware and very handy to have around.
    http://www.editvoicepack.com/

    A Spartan Executive mod file for uploading to EditVoicePack is available in the library, but the most recent news is the calls for "Spartan Executive" were accepted by Lars at EVP. If you get EVP or update your EVP all the goodies are already included.

    Just add the following to the Spartan's aircraft.cfg under the "General" heading:

    atc_type =SPARTAN
    atc_model =7W

    =================
    in the library too
    spr7wevp.zip
    Brent aka "dogknot"

Similar Threads

  1. Round the world stop by stop
    By dennylui in forum FSX
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-17-2015, 09:59 AM
  2. Spartan, my first flight!
    By gaafanatic in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-22-2006, 12:26 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2003, 11:49 AM
  4. ATC calls my plane experimental
    By av8ber in forum FS2004
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-22-2003, 10:53 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-17-2002, 06:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •