Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Someone asked if the 737 NG could fly over the pond nonstop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,585

    Default RE: Someone asked if the 737 NG could fly over the pond nonstop

    1 hour?? Isnt 3 hours the standard?

  2. #2

    Default RE: Someone asked if the 737 NG could fly over the pond nonstop

    "Here is one doing it right now, takes just over an hour."

    :-hmmm



    That is showing local times so you have to factor in the time zone change. That flight is more like 6 hours....

  3. #3

    Default RE: Someone asked if the 737 NG could fly over the pond nonstop

    How does an ATP with 737 type rating make a mistake like this?

    1 hour across that body of water?


  4. #4

    Default RE: Someone asked if the 737 NG could fly over the pond nonstop

    Once they get over the ocean they're no longer restricted below mach 1, they open it up.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ilford, Essex, UK
    Posts
    1,244

    Default RE: Someone asked if the 737 NG could fly over the pond nonstop

    haha, hahahahahahhahahahha hahahahahahahahaha,a

    ya kill me, even the greatest lady o' the skies couldn't do it that quick, 1 hour? Concorde did it in just under 3 i believe, most airliners take 5 or 6.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    1,515

    Default RE: Someone asked if the 737 NG could fly over the pond nonstop

    I'm pretty sure it's a joke about the time zones.

    Using them the concorde could land before it took off by local times I believe.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,585

    Default RE: Someone asked if the 737 NG could fly over the pond nonstop

    >Once they get over the ocean they're no longer restricted
    >below mach 1, they open it up.

    Except that most airliners max out at about Mach .83...

  8. #8

    Default RE: Someone asked if the 737 NG could fly over the pond nonstop

    Nooooo, that's foolish to believe that, the air is really thin up at 400, you can go alot faster than .83, them babys can do mach 3 easy.

  9. #9

    Default RE: Someone asked if the 737 NG could fly over the pond nonstop

    Oh ok I get it, you're just playing around...lol


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Chester, Cheshire, ENGLAND.
    Posts
    509

    Default RE: Someone asked if the 737 NG could fly over the pond nonstop

    What are you all on?
    An hour to cross the Atlantic - since when can a 737 go more than twice the speed of sound?
    It takes about 7hrs at least to cross the Atlantic now without Concorde.
    The times are the timezone differences!!
    www.geocities.com/flyeurotravel
    https://www.flightsim.com/images/noimage.png

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-14-2005, 07:41 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-30-2003, 08:37 AM
  3. I'm Sure someone has asked this already....
    By mlavin80 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-06-2002, 07:35 PM
  4. Could someone tell me if my pc is good?
    By JoeyG628 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-08-2002, 07:43 PM
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-30-2002, 10:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •