Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Vatsim Question----Flight Plans

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA.
    Posts
    481

    Default Vatsim Question----Flight Plans

    I have been flying on vatsim for a while now...a question...how can I ensure that my flightplan will be accepted by ATC...I use FSNAV and sometimes FSBUILD....ATC is always asking me to change my flightplan.


    http://www.rncspr.com/ozark
    http://rncspr.com/ozark/images/banne...evertising.jpg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    911

    Default RE: Vatsim Question----Flight Plans


    Hi,

    the FSNav flightplan is certainly not the one to file and use online.

    Give me an example of a flight you´ll want to do online and I´ll tell you where to obtain a route for it.

    BEn

    https://www.flightsim.com/images/noimage.png

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA.
    Posts
    481

    Default RE: Vatsim Question----Flight Plans

    I fly lots of different flights, as we have 5000+ routes in our database...just was hoping to find a central place to get these from.


    http://www.rncspr.com/ozark
    http://rncspr.com/ozark/images/banne...evertising.jpg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Orlando, FL, U.S.A.
    Posts
    575

    Default RE: Vatsim Question----Flight Plans

    Hi Plumley,

    I'm afraid there is no central resource. If you are flying between busy, major airports, your best bet is to go to the VATSIM.net site, then from there link the appropriate ATC site for that region. Most of them have some sort of pilots' resource page or section, and many include the "preferred routes" the major airports in their area. Use those to set up your flight. Anyway, with FSNav, isn't it pretty easy to modify your flight plan?

    https://www.flightsim.com/images/noimage.png
    Flying Tigers Group
    http://www.virtualairline.org

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    West Islip, NY
    Posts
    367

    Default RE: Vatsim Question----Flight Plans

    I use FSBuild all the time and I've never had a VATSIM controller refuse the plan or ask me to change it. Are you sure you're requesting the correct altitude. This is the only thing they should ask you to change. For FL000 to FL250 for courses 000 to 170 use odd altitudes and for course 180 to 359 used evens. Over FL250, if you are eastbound use FL 270, 290, 330, 370, 410. For westbound use FL 280, 310, 350, 390.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Orlando, FL, U.S.A.
    Posts
    575

    Default RE: Vatsim Question----Flight Plans

    Well, it depends where you fly. As I said above, between many major, close-lying airports there are ATC "Preferred Routes" that you can and will be asked to conform to if you are in those areas (examples: New York-Washington; Jacksonville-Atlanta; Dallas-Houston; London-Paris).

    https://www.flightsim.com/images/noimage.png
    Flying Tigers Group
    http://www.virtualairline.org

  7. #7

    Default RE: Vatsim Question----Flight Plans

    I use FSNav to build my flightplans, I can only think of once that I was asked to change it. As long as you get the altitude right they don't normally stop you.

    pa2q2 :-jumpy

    https://www.flightsim.com/images/noimage.png

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA.
    Posts
    481

    Default RE: Vatsim Question----Flight Plans

    Ok, maybe I will try to concentrate on using FSBUILD then....thanks for the help!

    http://www.rncspr.com/ozark
    http://rncspr.com/ozark/images/banne...evertising.jpg

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    911

    Default RE: Vatsim Question----Flight Plans


    >Are you sure
    >you're requesting the correct altitude.
    >This is the only
    >thing they should ask you
    >to change.

    No - a route has to be flown on airways (there are exceptions to that, you can sometimes fly from a waypoint directly to another, but there are maximum distanced for that, normally around 40nm). So, your routing should consist of waypoint-airway-waypoint-airway etc.
    If it isn´t, and controller don´t advice you about it, it might be because they´re more easy-going, or their airspace isn´t very busy at that time.
    Also, no controller will force a newbie to use a correct flightplan. Flightplanning is a rahter complicated thing to do, nothing to bother with on your first flight. However, as you get more experienced with flying with real-time ATC, you should really get your flightplan in order.

    So how would one plan a flight? You could, for example, take a look at enroute charts and get a route together. That is, however, rather complicated and way too much for.
    For this reason, there are flightplan databases available on the VATSIM sites.

    Plumley, I had a look at the homepage of your VA and saw that it operates out of KSTL.
    So, I went to the VATSIM-USA homepage (http://www.vatusa.org/html/index.php) and continued to Kansas City ARTCC (there are links on the right hand side): http://www.kcartcc.org/.
    There, I went to Pilot Info - Preferred routes - St. Louis Lambert. http://www.kcartcc.org/pilots/fp/kstl_dep.htm
    So there are a lot of real life flightplans. For example to Miami International: KSTL LINDY2.MAW VUZ J39 MGM J41 SZW J43 PIE.CYY3 KMIA.
    This is the route you file in your flightplan. No controller will ever tell you that you have the wrong route, because that on is correct.

    Now, it depends on your navigational program on how to use the route. If you use an FMC like the Dreamfleet/PSS one, you can insert the route above without problems. If you use the Squawkbox FMC or FSNav, you´ll want to get the route waypoint to waypoint. To get this, click on "Download", and you can use FSBuild to convert it to whatever format you´d like.

    Getting standard routes from the internet can take some minutes to search, but you´ll get one eventually.

    BEn

    https://www.flightsim.com/images/noimage.png

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    911

    Default RE: Vatsim Question----Flight Plans


    Well, "they don´t normally stop you" doesn´t mean that´s what you should do.
    Part of the excitement of flying on VATSIM is to simulate real air traffic. And realistic routings are also part of that, sorry.

    BEn

    https://www.flightsim.com/images/noimage.png

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-22-2013, 10:58 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-04-2004, 11:43 AM
  3. Replies: 32
    Last Post: 06-22-2003, 01:31 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-21-2002, 02:46 PM
  5. Building flight plans for VATSIM
    By jcmissionary in forum FS2002
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2002, 02:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •