Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: 3GHZ PROCESSORS

  1. #1

    Default 3GHZ PROCESSORS

    So guys.. does the 3.0Ghz processors make frame rates better?

  2. #2

    Default RE: 3GHZ PROCESSORS

    Compared to an 8088? Yes!

    Compared to a P4 2.8? No!

    -----
    Ken G:-wave

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    California, USA.
    Posts
    1,242

    Default RE: 3GHZ PROCESSORS

    I'd never think that I would have the need for something so powerful.. But I keep getting the notion that I will.. :-lol



    Regards,

    https://www.flightsim.com/images/noimage.png




  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    New York.
    Posts
    4,439

    Default RE: 3GHZ PROCESSORS

    Who ever thought we would need anything like a Pentium 1. What would be interesting to graph is the payback in visual and simulation rates vs the upgrade. How much bang per buck.

  5. #5

    Default RE: 3GHZ PROCESSORS

    Long ago I remember the flight sim community oooing and ahhhing a guy who purchased an early model 90 MHz Pentium I with 16 MB of ram. What did he need with all that power, we asked?

    -- Walt

  6. #6

    Default RE: 3GHZ PROCESSORS

    NASA used 1 MHz processors to fly to the moon's orbit, we use 3 GHz processors to simulate just the first phase of that flight. ;-)

    Regards,

    [link:www.scandva.org/|https://www.flightsim.com/images/noimage.png]

    [font size="1"](..., accidentally born in Germany, this little country between Lybia and Cuba.)[/font]

  7. #7

    Default RE: 3GHZ PROCESSORS

    Yes, faster processors will almost always yield faster frame rates, as well as emptier pockets.


    Don't call me weird, call me spongey.

    Windows 2000
    AMD AthlonXP 2000+
    256 MB PC2700 (DDR333)
    ATI Radeon 9700
    MSI KT3 Ultra ARU
    40Gig 7200 Maxtor HDD
    Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy
    Chieftec Silver Green Case
    1 17" and 1 14" monitor
    56XCD 16XDVD 32X12X42CDRW
    And all other useless stuff...
    Settings:
    Maxed out w/ 6XAA and 16X AF 8lights limit at 22fps

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portland, Or
    Posts
    963

    Default RE: 3GHZ PROCESSORS

    Absolutely!

    I have ran both the 2.8 and the 3.06.

    Also, the hyperthreading feature in the 3.06 helps with running several applications at the same time.

    Rick - KPDX - Private Pilot
    P4-3.06GHz @ 3.4GHz 1GB-1066MHz
    Water-Cooled & 3 Monitors

  9. #9

    Default RE: 3GHZ PROCESSORS


  10. #10
    Captain_Slarty Guest

    Default RE: 3GHZ PROCESSORS

    oh YES



    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/captain...s/coolskul.gif

    System - >
    3gig Intel + .. Size DOES matter



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-06-2010, 02:21 PM
  2. i7 4.3GHz Liquid Cooled and FSX
    By Paxx in forum FSX
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-18-2009, 03:41 PM
  3. Anyone with a 3Ghz Pentium ?
    By itael in forum FS2004
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-03-2003, 10:22 PM
  4. 3GHz Pentium 4 on its way
    By evh347 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-23-2002, 07:57 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-16-2002, 08:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •