Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Stutters help needed

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,173

    Default Stutters help needed

    I am reaching out to the MSFS Community looking (hoping) for a fix to my stutter issues with MSFS 2020.

    My specs are below in my signature. Tim has helped me in the past, and things did improve A LOT!!!! However, we were unable to rid them completely.

    Here is what I have found, and what I have done

    I have Googled this problem and read/watched a lot of articles and You Tube videos. I feel this is a CPU problem, I know MSFS uses only one core of the CPU, thus I have attempted to reduce the workload of the CPU. In the sim, I have no AI traffic, no ships, no road traffic, clouds are at their lowest setting (could turn them off I guess) My graphics settings do not seem to matter. Using VR or not using it does not matter, same problem

    I am running VR HP Reverb, getting 60+ FPS, settings are very high, some are ultra. From my studying, I have read that certain parts of the settings need to be lowered because they are CPU intensive, so I have lowered them.

    While in Developers mode, with the FPS counter and CPU activity going, I freeze/stutter every 3 seconds. Like clock work, every 3 seconds the sim will micro stutter, then continue. This does not matter where I am flying, could be Jacksonville FL (not that much to see), middle of Kansas, NYC, London, I still get the micro stutter every 3 seconds.

    I don't mind going into the BIOS and adjusting a setting, assuming I know what setting I need to adjust. I have reinstalled the sim to a SSD drive as well.
    All the Windows Updates are, up to date, latest Nvidia drivers.

    What other information can I provide?
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    Did you get the new driver for the GPU? it was released today... also some 3D tweaking to be done in Nvidia settings.... I found it made a big difference for my setup after some tweaking... may want to look at some youtube vids on the 3070 3D settings for MSFS... I can post screenshots of my settings later, if helpfull....
    ASRock X570 TAICHI Mother Board
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 64GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    MSI NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti 24GB SUPRIM X Ampere.
    1000W PSU. Samsung 870 EVO 2TB SSD. HP Reverb G2 + Oculus Quest 2
    Samsung Odyssey G9 C49G95TSSR - QLED monitor - curved - 49" - 5120 x 1440 Dual Quad HD @ 240 Hz

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,173

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daspinall View Post
    Did you get the new driver for the GPU? it was released today... also some 3D tweaking to be done in Nvidia settings.... I found it made a big difference for my setup after some tweaking... may want to look at some youtube vids on the 3070 3D settings for MSFS... I can post screenshots of my settings later, if helpfull....
    Yes, I did get the new driver today, tried it both in DLSS and without, no change

    I will at the You Tube videos, I have made changes to the 3d setup, but I could have missed something
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,173

    Default

    Well, my 3D settings HAD changed, guessing the driver update removed them (I did use DDU)

    The one video I rewateched mentioned thermal load, no problems there, I monitor my CPU temps a lot.

    I did reduce my max frame rate down to 31, and a few other settings mentioned in the video, things are a bit better, however, still having stutters
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    Just a hunch set vertical sync to adaptive (half refresh rate) that helped my stutters...... I also limit the frame rate to 60

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	NVIDIA-Control-Panel-27_09_2022-23_23_18.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	197.4 KB 
ID:	231268

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	NVIDIA-Control-Panel-27_09_2022-23_24_01.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	209.0 KB 
ID:	231269
    ASRock X570 TAICHI Mother Board
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 64GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    MSI NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti 24GB SUPRIM X Ampere.
    1000W PSU. Samsung 870 EVO 2TB SSD. HP Reverb G2 + Oculus Quest 2
    Samsung Odyssey G9 C49G95TSSR - QLED monitor - curved - 49" - 5120 x 1440 Dual Quad HD @ 240 Hz

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,173

    Default

    [QUOTE=daspinall;2189980]Just a hunch set vertical sync to adaptive (half refresh rate) that helped my stutters...... I also limit the frame rate to 60

    I don't have that option, on mine it's either off, on or Fast

    Attaching screenshot.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	0114.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	90.8 KB 
ID:	231270Click image for larger version. 

Name:	0114.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	90.8 KB 
ID:	231270
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    "I don't have that option, on mine it's either off, on or Fast
    yet we both have the same card except mine is water cooled...... Have you also updated Gforce Experience? I suggest doing a clean install see video below... I did some months back it did not improve performance for me.... but remember not all rigs are equal, you may like many others benefit from a clean driver install.......

    Last edited by daspinall; 09-28-2022 at 06:56 AM.
    ASRock X570 TAICHI Mother Board
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 64GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    MSI NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti 24GB SUPRIM X Ampere.
    1000W PSU. Samsung 870 EVO 2TB SSD. HP Reverb G2 + Oculus Quest 2
    Samsung Odyssey G9 C49G95TSSR - QLED monitor - curved - 49" - 5120 x 1440 Dual Quad HD @ 240 Hz

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,173

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daspinall View Post
    "I don't have that option, on mine it's either off, on or Fast
    yet we both have the same card except mine is water cooled...... Have you also updated Gforce Experience? I suggest doing a clean install see video below... I did some months back it did not improve performance for me.... but remember not all rigs are equal, you may like many others benefit from a clean driver install.......
    I was able to find the option you were referencing in the sim and adjusted it. Did not help.

    I also installed the drivers the Clean Way, used DDU, went into Safe Mode, reinstalled just the minimum.
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    I forgot to mention try both DX 11 and 12 to see if either of those are the issue..... Mine tends to run smoother in DX11... and maybe experiment with lowering the screen resolution if possible and do you have XMP turned on in Bios .... I can not think of anything else at the moment, sorry David..... When all is siad and done and at the end of your tether maybe a reinstall of MSFS I done that a few times in the past to solve an issue....
    Last edited by daspinall; 09-28-2022 at 08:12 AM.
    ASRock X570 TAICHI Mother Board
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 64GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    MSI NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti 24GB SUPRIM X Ampere.
    1000W PSU. Samsung 870 EVO 2TB SSD. HP Reverb G2 + Oculus Quest 2
    Samsung Odyssey G9 C49G95TSSR - QLED monitor - curved - 49" - 5120 x 1440 Dual Quad HD @ 240 Hz

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    One last thought at fl300 ha.... If your internet connection is running slow that too can cause stutters...... just a thought... I'm flying across the UK at the mo in DX12 with full bells and whistles and it's smooth...
    ASRock X570 TAICHI Mother Board
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 64GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    MSI NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti 24GB SUPRIM X Ampere.
    1000W PSU. Samsung 870 EVO 2TB SSD. HP Reverb G2 + Oculus Quest 2
    Samsung Odyssey G9 C49G95TSSR - QLED monitor - curved - 49" - 5120 x 1440 Dual Quad HD @ 240 Hz

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 07:06 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-06-2005, 10:53 AM
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-25-2003, 05:33 PM
  4. New install fs2002 stutters Help ?
    By rshaw in forum FS2002
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-04-2002, 06:55 PM
  5. Stutters........
    By MrWildChild in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-16-2001, 04:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •