Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Stutters help needed

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daspinall View Post
    I forgot to mention try both DX 11 and 12 to see if either of those are the issue..... Mine tends to run smoother in DX11... and maybe experiment with lowering the screen resolution if possible and do you have XMP turned on in Bios .... I can not think of anything else at the moment, sorry David..... When all is siad and done and at the end of your tether maybe a reinstall of MSFS I done that a few times in the past to solve an issue....
    I have actually tried both version's of DX, does not matter. DX11 does seem to be better.

    As for screen resolution, I have been up and down on that, I usually run at 1600X900, but maxed it out after reading that someone suggested going 4K (sounded crazy but I tried it, no joy).

    My Internet connection is nice, 600+, tried it with it off as well, seeing if that was the problem. Did not matter.

    My memory is in XMP.

    I have also reinstalled MSFS, went from a regular HD drive to an SSD. I did get a lot faster loading speeds, lol, but that was it.

    Something is causing my system to pause exactly every 3 seconds. Grrrrrr
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,766

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidc2 View Post
    Something is causing my system to pause exactly every 3 seconds. Grrrrrr
    It's usually your antivirus scanning any program which has an active internet connection. If you add MSFS to your antivirus whitelist/exceptions list, this should stop.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X, Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia RTX2060 6Gb, Logitech Yoke System, CH Pro Pedals, Acer K272HL 27", Win 10 Pro x64

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    It's usually your antivirus scanning any program which has an active internet connection. If you add MSFS to your antivirus whitelist/exceptions list, this should stop.
    I had already done that Tim, however I had forgotten that I had moved the sim to a new SSD. Added that in, checked firewall.

    We shall see, trying a flight now.
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    I'm having BT issues now something wrong with the line, now more stutters... and dropping on and off-line!!
    Last edited by daspinall; 09-28-2022 at 11:19 AM.
    ASRock X570 TAICHI Mother Board
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 64GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    MSI NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti 24GB SUPRIM X Ampere.
    1000W PSU. Samsung 870 EVO 2TB SSD. HP Reverb G2 + Oculus Quest 2
    Samsung Odyssey G9 C49G95TSSR - QLED monitor - curved - 49" - 5120 x 1440 Dual Quad HD @ 240 Hz

  5. #15

    Default

    Are you sure that all of your MSFS is located on the SSD drive? The stutter you describe sounds just like the delay a seek to a HD would create if it was fetching some data from a HD.
    i7-10700K, ASUS Prime Z490-P motherboard, 32 gig, GTX 1080 Ti, 1TB M2 drive, Thrustmaster T16000M, Logitech Rudder Pedals , xbox controller.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sfojimbo View Post
    Are you sure that all of your MSFS is located on the SSD drive? The stutter you describe sounds just like the delay a seek to a HD would create if it was fetching some data from a HD.
    Reasonably sure. I put it on my "F" drive SSD. Of course, there are some parts on my "C" drive, but it also an SSD
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,174

    Default

    Well, today while looking through You Tube, I watched this video, found out that several of my 3D settings were not set to what the person in the video had, so I switched them, did some fiddling with the ingame settings and tried a flight. It worked!!!

    Tried it in VR as well, no more stutters. Now, I am kicking myself because I am not sure exactly what fixed the problem, but one of the items it mentioned in the Nvidia section was Low Latency, which was off for me.

    Here is the link to the video

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYrw...=NonstopFlying

    I am not declarin git 100% fixed (yet), still going to do some rebooots and see if the settings hold
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Good News David main thing is it worked it was most likely a combination........
    ASRock X570 TAICHI Mother Board
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 64GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    MSI NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti 24GB SUPRIM X Ampere.
    1000W PSU. Samsung 870 EVO 2TB SSD. HP Reverb G2 + Oculus Quest 2
    Samsung Odyssey G9 C49G95TSSR - QLED monitor - curved - 49" - 5120 x 1440 Dual Quad HD @ 240 Hz

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daspinall View Post
    Good News David main thing is it worked it was most likely a combination........
    Very likely

    Well, I did a reboot and took another flight, no changes!! It is nice to look straight down in VR and NOT see the micro stutters that were coming every 3 seconds. Has made flying that much more enjoyable!!!
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,174

    Default

    Well, started flying after taking a break. Started the sim and had to do an update. Now the stutters are back and my settings have not changed. I am at a loss!!

    I am on the verge of just pulling the plug and quitting the sim. An update comes out, (which was the only change) and my stutters are back. It was very enjoyable flying without any.

    I put the sim settings down to low on everything, nothing helped. Every 3 seconds now the sim pauses for 1/2 a second and then starts flying again.

    Sigh
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 07:06 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-06-2005, 10:53 AM
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-25-2003, 05:33 PM
  4. New install fs2002 stutters Help ?
    By rshaw in forum FS2002
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-04-2002, 06:55 PM
  5. Stutters........
    By MrWildChild in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-16-2001, 04:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •