Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: I've created a Partial Fix, but looking for a full Solution

  1. #1

    Default I've created a Partial Fix, but looking for a full Solution

    Long Shot, I may not get an Answer but at least I'm Trying (I've already posted this via Fs-Developer's page been sitting there for days, although i did get some replies but Solution)


    Hello to all, there's an existing Freeware Aircraft that I'm trying to get to work with 3rd Party Program GSX PRO, This Aircraft at one point "DID NOT" work with GSX PRO due to GSX PRO not detecting Parking Brakes, hence giving the Message, You need to set Parking Brakes to Request Ground Services" I've already fixed that part.

    I took it upon myself to investigate further and came up with a Partial Solution via Trial and Error. I now managed to get this working with GSX Pro, "well kind of".

    Partial Solution:

    To get it to work I Simply added the missing Lines refering to Parking Brakes to the corresponding files listed Below, under [Controls.0] [ParkingBrake=100.00 and ParkingBrake=0.] In the proper places where the entry wasn't present.

    I've compared it to another freeware Aircraft to find where the entries belong and added them accordingly to the one that was missing the Entries.

    Also, in Systems.cfg Under [BRAKES] I Changed the line from Parking_brake=0 to Parking_brake = 1 ; BrakeTypes enum.

    After making these changes, GSX now detects the brakes when applied and now everything 'kind of' works as it should, but when pushback is engaged, and Parking Brakes are Released it doesn't detect the parking brakes being released, hence giving me the message to release Brakes continuously even after releasing.

    I've contacted one of the Admis over @ GSX via PM and he replied with, (GSX uses the same test for parking brakes on set and release, there's no reason it could work any differently). he then asked If this plane is using a custom variable for brakes.

    So, continuing forward, I now know this Aircraft uses its own Custom Variable for Brakes that GSX PRO is not Detecting, The Fix I made somehow Bypasses or Ignores whatever variable is set for Parking Brakes being Set within one of the Aircraft’s XML Files but unfortunately not for Release when Pushback is engaged via GSX Pro.


    Since it’s only a Partial Fix the release Parking Brakes issue is present cause GSX PRO cant detect the brakes are released due to the Custom Brake Variable, I have been digging for answers online to see if someone can give me a Solid Answer as to how I can Edit this Brake Variable to get it to fully work with GSX Pro but to no Avail.

    List of the Files edited:

    approach.FLT
    apron.FLT
    Climb.FLT
    cruise.FLT
    final.FLT
    hangar.FLT
    runway.FLT
    taxi.FLT
    Systems.cfg
    Last edited by Garciamk3g; 09-26-2022 at 02:52 PM.
    Phanteks Eclipse P400A, Asus Prime Z490-A, Intel i7 10700k, Nactua U12A cooler, 64GB 3600mhz RAM, Nvidia EVGA RTX 3060 12GB XC Black Gaming, 500GB Samsung 970 Evo NvMe, 1TB WD SSD, 2TB WD SSD, 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, 650W 80+ Gold Thermatake ToughPower GF1 Fully Modular PSU.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,772

    Default

    Can you copy and paste the Custom Brake variable here please? Better still, which freeware aircraft is it?
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X, Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia RTX2060 6Gb, Logitech Yoke System, CH Pro Pedals, Acer K272HL 27", Win 10 Pro x64

  3. #3

    Default

    Hello Tim, it is the Headwind A330, Available @ Flightsim.to, I have Uploaded the one titled Headwind A330 GSX Parking Brake Fix back in AUG If you wish to take a look at that one, or you can have a look @ the Original Headwind, they're both the same, I simply edited the CFG Files listed above to get it to partially work with GSX Pro on the one I uploaded.

    The Issue presents itself only when Pushback is Engaged via GSX Pro and ask to Release Parking Brakes, when parking Brake is released GSX fails to detect it and continues to ask for Parking Brake Release.

    My Upload Here with the Partial Fix: https://flightsim.to/file/39374/revi...king-brake-fix

    Original Headwind Download Here: https://flightsim.to/file/18198/airb...neo-conversion
    Last edited by Garciamk3g; 09-27-2022 at 10:25 AM.
    Phanteks Eclipse P400A, Asus Prime Z490-A, Intel i7 10700k, Nactua U12A cooler, 64GB 3600mhz RAM, Nvidia EVGA RTX 3060 12GB XC Black Gaming, 500GB Samsung 970 Evo NvMe, 1TB WD SSD, 2TB WD SSD, 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, 650W 80+ Gold Thermatake ToughPower GF1 Fully Modular PSU.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,772

    Default

    It looks like this A330 is based on the default A320neo, so why not replace the A330 system.cfg [Brakes] section with the A320neo [Brakes] section:

    [BRAKES]
    parking_brake = 1 ; BrakeTypes enum
    auto_brakes = 3 ; This value is the number of "positive" settings, not including OFF. '0' means NO AutoBrake
    toe_brakes_scale = 0.5 ; Brake scalar
    differential_braking_scale = 0 ; Delta on the amount of brake when the rudder pedals deflected
    hydraulic_system_scalar = 1 ; On brakes dependant on the hydraulic system, ratio hyd system to max brake hyd pressure
    rto_disabled_on_takeoff = 1
    autobrakes_requires_antiskid = 1
    autobrakes_disabled_on_braking = 1

    The A330 section has no auto_brakes or hydraulic_system_scalar, these could be what GSX is looking for.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X, Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia RTX2060 6Gb, Logitech Yoke System, CH Pro Pedals, Acer K272HL 27", Win 10 Pro x64

  5. #5

    Default

    Yes, I've done this to No Avail unfortunately, according to the people over @ the FS Developer Page it is an Internal Custom Brake Variable within the A330 XML File that's seems to be causing the Issue.

    Although the first line under [BRAKES] helped along with the rest of the Changes I made to the other CFG files to get it working with GSX Pro (Other than GSX Pro Pushback not detecting Parking Brake Release) the rest of the Lines under [BRAKES] aren't doing much for Parking Brake Release when Pushback is initiated.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	54.2 KB 
ID:	231267
    Last edited by Garciamk3g; 09-27-2022 at 06:05 PM.
    Phanteks Eclipse P400A, Asus Prime Z490-A, Intel i7 10700k, Nactua U12A cooler, 64GB 3600mhz RAM, Nvidia EVGA RTX 3060 12GB XC Black Gaming, 500GB Samsung 970 Evo NvMe, 1TB WD SSD, 2TB WD SSD, 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, 650W 80+ Gold Thermatake ToughPower GF1 Fully Modular PSU.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garciamk3g View Post
    Yes, I've done this to No Avail unfortunately, according to the people over @ the FS Developer Page it is an Internal Custom Brake Variable within the A330 XML File that's seems to be causing the Issue.
    There isn't an A330.xml, however there are several .xml files in the ModelBehaviorDefs folder. I searched them all for any reference to 'brake' and unfortunately none of them contain anything brake-related.
    The only .xml file which does have brake variables, as far as I can see, is the A330_NEO_INTERIOR.xml in the model folder. One section which covers the toebrakes has this line:

    <DONT_BRAKE_ON_PARKINGBRAKE>True</DONT_BRAKE_ON_PARKINGBRAKE>

    You might try changing True to False on that line and see what happens to braking in general and with GSX. Sorry I don't have GSX to test it myself!
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X, Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia RTX2060 6Gb, Logitech Yoke System, CH Pro Pedals, Acer K272HL 27", Win 10 Pro x64

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    There isn't an A330.xml, however there are several .xml files in the ModelBehaviorDefs folder. I searched them all for any reference to 'brake' and unfortunately none of them contain anything brake-related.
    The only .xml file which does have brake variables, as far as I can see, is the A330_NEO_INTERIOR.xml in the model folder. One section which covers the toebrakes has this line:

    <DONT_BRAKE_ON_PARKINGBRAKE>True</DONT_BRAKE_ON_PARKINGBRAKE>

    You might try changing True to False on that line and see what happens to braking in general and with GSX. Sorry I don't have GSX to test it myself!
    That I have Not Tried, I will give this a shot and Report Back.

    In Reference to the name of the XML File, I was Referring to A330_NEO.xml LoL My mistake...at the verry Bottom of the XML I saw this, wasn't sure if anything there was of any importance, so I left it as is.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	43.3 KB 
ID:	231274
    Last edited by Garciamk3g; 09-28-2022 at 11:12 AM.
    Phanteks Eclipse P400A, Asus Prime Z490-A, Intel i7 10700k, Nactua U12A cooler, 64GB 3600mhz RAM, Nvidia EVGA RTX 3060 12GB XC Black Gaming, 500GB Samsung 970 Evo NvMe, 1TB WD SSD, 2TB WD SSD, 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, 650W 80+ Gold Thermatake ToughPower GF1 Fully Modular PSU.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garciamk3g View Post
    at the verry Bottom of the XML I saw this, wasn't sure if anything there was of any importance, so I left it as is.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	43.3 KB 
ID:	231274
    It's the code for making the wheel chocks appear when the plane is parked.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X, Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia RTX2060 6Gb, Logitech Yoke System, CH Pro Pedals, Acer K272HL 27", Win 10 Pro x64

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    It's the code for making the wheel chocks appear when the plane is parked.
    That did cross my Mind but since I'm no Expert I left it as is, thanks for clearing that up.

    I set <DONT_BRAKE_ON_PARKINGBRAKE>True</DONT_BRAKE_ON_PARKINGBRAKE> to False to no Avail, I have a feeling this is something GSX themselves may have to work with on their end to get this Aircraft to fully work with GSX PRO Pushback Feature. Or perhaps A330_NEO_INTERIOR_LOD01.gltf also has to be edited for it to accept whatever Variable changes are made to the XML File that holds the Brake Variable.

    What I don't understand is what else could there be? My Original Changes Mentioned under Partial Fix Above gets Rid of the (You must set Parking Brakes to request Ground Services) witch at least allows Users to now use 90% of GSX Pro features, it is only when Pushback is engaged that it doesn't recognize when Parking Brakes are Released hence giving you the continuous message to Release Parking Brakes, not allowing to continue the pushback forcing Users to avoid Pushback all together.

    Guess they'll have to settle for that until I can find out exactly what GSX is looking for to try and fix the Issue.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.png 
Views:	33 
Size:	12.2 KB 
ID:	231277
    Last edited by Garciamk3g; 09-28-2022 at 02:31 PM.
    Phanteks Eclipse P400A, Asus Prime Z490-A, Intel i7 10700k, Nactua U12A cooler, 64GB 3600mhz RAM, Nvidia EVGA RTX 3060 12GB XC Black Gaming, 500GB Samsung 970 Evo NvMe, 1TB WD SSD, 2TB WD SSD, 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, 650W 80+ Gold Thermatake ToughPower GF1 Fully Modular PSU.

  10. #10

    Default

    NOTE: The Admin over @ FSDT did ask me if the Aircraft uses a Custom Internal Brake Variable, perhaps something in one of the .gltf files Not sure, I ask him if he can elaborate Further, but he never did get back to me.
    Phanteks Eclipse P400A, Asus Prime Z490-A, Intel i7 10700k, Nactua U12A cooler, 64GB 3600mhz RAM, Nvidia EVGA RTX 3060 12GB XC Black Gaming, 500GB Samsung 970 Evo NvMe, 1TB WD SSD, 2TB WD SSD, 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, 650W 80+ Gold Thermatake ToughPower GF1 Fully Modular PSU.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Stuttering from last up partial fix
    By Energizer23 in forum Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-27-2021, 12:49 PM
  2. Partial Solution to Aircraft Movement on Idle Throttle
    By peugeot309style in forum FS2004
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-01-2012, 06:03 AM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-24-2006, 06:50 PM
  4. BLACK SCREEN OF DEATH: A Partial Fix is Found
    By Atmosphere5 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2005, 09:58 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-28-2002, 05:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •