Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: BASIC Tools for Scenery Editing/Additions

  1. #11

    Default

    Just a few minutes work using SceneGenX

    The xml for a repositioned Coors Field is as below :-

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
    <FSData
    version = "9.0"
    xmlns:xsi='http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance'
    xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="bglcomp.xsd" >

    <!-- File generated by SceneGenX Version 1.1 Build 100 for FS 2004 -->
    <!-- Copyright Chris Eve -->

    <!-- Scenery Object 1 - Coors Field -->
    <SceneryObject
    lat = "39.7561021162856"
    lon = "-104.994166699082"
    alt = "0.0"
    altitudeIsAgl = "TRUE"
    pitch = "0.0"
    bank = "0.0"
    heading = "0.0"
    imageComplexity = "SPARSE">
    <LibraryObject
    name = "e76b5ec64324f21309199a8a35928ada" scale = "1.0"/>
    </SceneryObject>

    <ExclusionRectangle
    latitudeMinimum = "39.7767984935918"
    latitudeMaximum = "39.7803978635581"
    longitudeMinimum = "-104.971958435695"
    longitudeMaximum = "-104.967281605754"
    excludeAllObjects = "TRUE"/>

    </FSData>

    Copy everything from <?xml version … to </FSData> into a text file, save it as Coors_Field.xml then compile it with BGLCOMP from the SDK to give you Coors_Field.bgl.
    Put this file in your Addon Scenery\Scenery folder (or wherever you choose) and the default stadium will disappear and the relocated stadium will show up more or less where it's supposed to be (using the location info found on WikiPedia)
    Unfortunately the grey background polygon doesn't form part of the model and would have to be dealt with separately, but this should get you going

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO USA KAPA, KLMO, 35CO
    Posts
    2,067

    Default

    Okay....

    Got the FS 2004 SDK, and ran the BGLCOMP Setup program. Cut and pasted the .xml info into a Notepad file, saved it as Coors_Field.xml and tried to compile it using BGLCOMP.

    Obviously I'm missing something here, because I cannot create the .bgl file.

    HELP!!

    "I created the Little Black Book to keep myself from getting killed..." -- Captain Elrey Borge Jeppesen
    AMD 1.9GB/8GB RAM/AMD VISION 1GB GPU/500 GB HDD/WIN 7 PRO 64/FS9 CFS CFS2

  3. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ViperPilot2 View Post
    Okay....

    Got the FS 2004 SDK, and ran the BGLCOMP Setup program. Cut and pasted the .xml info into a Notepad file, saved it as Coors_Field.xml and tried to compile it using BGLCOMP.

    Obviously I'm missing something here, because I cannot create the .bgl file.

    HELP!!
    I've just double checked and it does work.
    You don't mention what (if any) error messages you receive.
    There must be no blank lines before the initial " <?xml version= " etc. line.
    Have you complied with the installation requirements for BGLCOMP as detailed in the SDK … specifically "you must make sure that MSXML 4 is installed on any machines that will run BGLComp" also "BGLComp.xsd This file must be located in the same directory as BGLComp.exe for the compiler to function properly" ?
    Last edited by chris_eve; 09-20-2022 at 03:36 AM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO USA KAPA, KLMO, 35CO
    Posts
    2,067

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris_eve View Post
    I've just double checked and it does work.
    You don't mention what (if any) error messages you receive.
    There must be no blank lines before the initial " <?xml version= " etc. line.
    Have you complied with the installation requirements for BGLCOMP as detailed in the SDK … specifically "you must make sure that MSXML 4 is installed on any machines that will run BGLComp" also "BGLComp.xsd This file must be located in the same directory as BGLComp.exe for the compiler to function properly" ?
    I have MSXML 6.0 installed on my machine. Both the .exe and the .xsd files are in the same File Folder on my hard drive. If I run the BGLComp.exe file or open the Coors_Field.xml with BGLComp, the Command Prompt Screen flashes on momentarily, then disappears.

    What next?

    "I created the Little Black Book to keep myself from getting killed..." -- Captain Elrey Borge Jeppesen
    AMD 1.9GB/8GB RAM/AMD VISION 1GB GPU/500 GB HDD/WIN 7 PRO 64/FS9 CFS CFS2

  5. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ViperPilot2 View Post
    I have MSXML 6.0 installed on my machine. Both the .exe and the .xsd files are in the same File Folder on my hard drive. If I run the BGLComp.exe file or open the Coors_Field.xml with BGLComp, the Command Prompt Screen flashes on momentarily, then disappears.

    What next?
    Maybe you've got BGLCOMP installed in the Program Files (x86) folder and Windows is preventing it from writing to the disc?
    I keep all my little "old fashioned" utilities in sub-directories on my D: drive, where W10 is less "protective", but a sub-directory in the root of the C: drive would probably be as good.
    I've just checked and indeed, with BGLCOMP installed in Program Files (x86) it doesn't write a file, though it doesn't generate an error either!
    These are hoops I jumped through many years ago when I set up my W10 machine and I'll confess that once I got it all working I've managed to forget a lot of the details of how I achieved it

    I had a feeling of "deja vue" when dealing with this problem … I find I've already answered a lot of these questions in reply to your previous query https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showt...ting-Additions !!
    Last edited by chris_eve; 09-23-2022 at 04:44 AM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Westminster, CO
    Posts
    7,783

    Default

    But ADE can place your airport objects, but not objects like stadiums far from any airport.
    Actually ADE can put things most anywhere, though I think you have to start with an airport reference. I've done things many miles from an airport, such as the parking lot and some buildings on top of Sandia peak near Albuquerque.

    And you can take a screenshot from Google Earth and use it as a background to place objects accurately.
    Very true, but for runways and some other things you have to be careful about magnetic vs true orientation, since the magnetic north pole has shifted quite a bit since FSX and FS2004 were made.

    Larry N.

    As Skylab would say:
    Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO USA KAPA, KLMO, 35CO
    Posts
    2,067

    Default

    Chris,

    BGLComp is installed in a File Folder outside of Program Files.

    I will refer back to the Thread you mentioned, and see if I can figure this out.

    As always, many thanks for your assistance!

    "I created the Little Black Book to keep myself from getting killed..." -- Captain Elrey Borge Jeppesen
    AMD 1.9GB/8GB RAM/AMD VISION 1GB GPU/500 GB HDD/WIN 7 PRO 64/FS9 CFS CFS2

  8. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ViperPilot2 View Post
    Chris,

    BGLComp is installed in a File Folder outside of Program Files.

    I will refer back to the Thread you mentioned, and see if I can figure this out.

    As always, many thanks for your assistance!
    Try running BGLCOMP from a Command Prompt in a Command Window (or "DOS Box" as we used to call it) … you should at least then get some kind of error message or status report.
    I'm just a little concerned about your statement that you have "MSXML 6.0 installed" … possibly it's not totally backward compatible with MSXML 4 or that BGLCOMP will only accept MSXML 4 and reject anything else. I've definitely got MSXML 4 installed on my machine (I just checked in Program Files).

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Springfield, New Zealand
    Posts
    215

    Default

    Gi'day Alan,

    You haven't, by chance, installed the FS9 ATC SDK recently? If so, then read: https://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/th...lation.442267/ If not, then simply disregard.

    Regards,
    Dorian

  10. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris_eve View Post
    I had a feeling of "deja vue" when dealing with this problem … I find I've already answered a lot of these questions in reply to your previous query https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showt...ting-Additions !!
    Just looked at this further and realised that the OP in this thread had simply "copied and edited" from the previous thread and has since been conspicuous by his absence …

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. BASIC Tools for Scenery Editing/Additions
    By ViperPilot2 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-05-2021, 12:17 PM
  2. Basic Basic
    By SPOFF in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-12-2008, 04:22 PM
  3. Additions to scenery
    By saltaxa in forum Scenery Design Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-30-2005, 12:29 AM
  4. Scenery Additions
    By saltaxa in forum FS98
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-29-2005, 08:43 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-03-2004, 02:14 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •