Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: MSFS2020 Won’t Start

  1. #1

    Default MSFS2020 Won’t Start

    Trying to get Flight Simulator to open and the bar on the bottom of the screen goes all the way across and that’s it. It won’t even open in Safe Mode. The only thing different I have done is add a second monitor for showing things like NeoFly or charts. I used it last night had no problem. I installed the new Kodiak 100 Series ll. Thinking this might be what’s wrong. Any ideas what I need to do now?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nv, USA.
    Posts
    4,629

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeKing1218 View Post
    Trying to get Flight Simulator to open and the bar on the bottom of the screen goes all the way across and that’s it. It won’t even open in Safe Mode. The only thing different I have done is add a second monitor for showing things like NeoFly or charts. I used it last night had no problem. I installed the new Kodiak 100 Series ll. Thinking this might be what’s wrong. Any ideas what I need to do now?
    Currently having server issues. It’s on their end, not ours.
    CLX - SET Gaming Desktop - Intel Core i9 10850K - 32GB DDR4 3000GHz Memory - GeForce RTX 3060 Ti - 960GB SSD + 4TB HDD - Windows 11 Home

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,094

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kingnorris View Post
    Currently having server issues. It’s on their end, not ours.
    Sigh, and here I thought the problem was on my end and I am reinstalling it!!

    Oh well, I've been wanting to relocate it to a different drive anyways.
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Spokane WA Area
    Posts
    317

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidc2 View Post
    Sigh, and here I thought the problem was on my end and I am reinstalling it!!

    Oh well, I've been wanting to relocate it to a different drive anyways.
    Me too unfortunately!!!
    MSI MPG Z490 Gaming Plus Motherboard, I9-10900K 5.1 Ghz, 64 GB 3200 DDR4 Ram, Nvidia RTX 2080 8GB Ram, 2 x 1 TB NVMe M.2 Drives, 850W P/S, HP Reverb G2 VR Headset, Honeycomb Alpha Yoke, Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit, Saitek Pro Flight Combat Rudder Pedals and Windows 11

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,094

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kevinfolsom View Post
    Me too unfortunately!!!
    18 hours later and it is finally done!!!
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Spokane WA Area
    Posts
    317

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidc2 View Post
    18 hours later and it is finally done!!!
    I am so sorry it takes you this long to get MSFS downloaded and installed. You must have a very slow internet speed? Please don't take this to sound like I'm bragging, PLEASE DON"T, but it only takes me 1:55 minutes to download and install MSFS. I did it twice yesterday and twice today. This last time I got it installed in the proper drive and directory-too many mess-ups the 1st 3 times.
    MSI MPG Z490 Gaming Plus Motherboard, I9-10900K 5.1 Ghz, 64 GB 3200 DDR4 Ram, Nvidia RTX 2080 8GB Ram, 2 x 1 TB NVMe M.2 Drives, 850W P/S, HP Reverb G2 VR Headset, Honeycomb Alpha Yoke, Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit, Saitek Pro Flight Combat Rudder Pedals and Windows 11

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,094

    Default

    My speed is 600+ from Xfinity, however (a BIG however), my speed from MS varies from 30 down to 5/sec

    Can't explain the why but it does, wish I could get that part done faster. Two hours would be great!!
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

  8. #8

    Default

    Sad as it is Xfinity like FiOS will throttle large downloads to slower speeds at times. I find when updating MSFS its best to do it early in the morning, before 6am local and it goes very fast and smoothly.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,094

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amberdog1 View Post
    Sad as it is Xfinity like FiOS will throttle large downloads to slower speeds at times. I find when updating MSFS its best to do it early in the morning, before 6am local and it goes very fast and smoothly.
    That could be the case. I did find that it was going faster when I got up the next morning............
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce RTX 3070, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler-HP Reverb G2 for Virtual Reality

Similar Threads

  1. Won’t update stuck on decompressing help!
    By Airline Jerry in forum Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-09-2022, 09:26 AM
  2. Flightsim.com website won’t load
    By Monarch1958 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-2021, 12:35 PM
  3. sim won’t launch
    By silhill ron in forum Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-01-2020, 08:17 AM
  4. Won’t open
    By vb1 in forum Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-20-2020, 03:57 PM
  5. Fsx won’t appear after loading
    By Cjet123 in forum FSX
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-17-2019, 08:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •