Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Autopilot Peculiarity

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    453

    Question Autopilot Peculiarity

    Finally, finally, I have learned how to get the 320neo to track a loaded flight plan on autopilot. (This took weeks of occasional effort and half a dozen Youtube videos, until one of them finally informed me that clicking the up arrow on HDG acts to "Engage managed heading" -- and that, in turn, is the equivalent of "NAV" -- a button that does not appear in the 320!)

    Even so, I am puzzled by this repeating phenomenon: On AP, I'm tracking the vector to the next (distant) waypoint, when suddenly the plane veers off, to right or left. This happens without my touching a thing. The AP is still engaged, but the plane isn't following anything I can perceive; it's just choosing a course of its own. I have learned, though, I can gently "nudge" the yoke back towards the selected course; the AP doesn't disengage, but the plane seems to re-orient itself and picks up the vector again. Then I'm good until it happens again.

    Has anyone else experienced this? What's going on?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA.
    Posts
    69

    Default

    I have that from time to time with a 60+ crosswind. Not veering off, just not right on the MFD path. You also might gage by looking at a moving map in conjunction with the veer. Your controls are calibrated and do not have a yaw or roll induced. No other keyboard press's interfering? One last thing. Is this in the default Asobo? Best of luck to you then. The FBW mod, Dev version is completely decoupled with the Asobo version.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    East Texas, USA.
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    Also, could your flight plan need more waypoints so that the tracking is more constrained?
    I7-9700K, RTX-2070, Asus Strix Z-390-H MB, 32gb G Skill 3000 CL15, Corsair Obsidian 750D case, WD Black 1tb M.2, Crucial CT500MX SSD, Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium PSU

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    453

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plainsman View Post
    Also, could your flight plan need more waypoints so that the tracking is more constrained?
    I'm using the VOR - VOR flight plan generated at the welcome screen between 2 airports. I'm using the default 320neo, gentle winds. And it's not just a little bit off; left to its own devices, it turns radically away from the vector.

    I think this is a bug.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    East Texas, USA.
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    Try using the High Altitude Airways plan generation for the A320.
    I7-9700K, RTX-2070, Asus Strix Z-390-H MB, 32gb G Skill 3000 CL15, Corsair Obsidian 750D case, WD Black 1tb M.2, Crucial CT500MX SSD, Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium PSU

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,361

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mac6737 View Post
    On AP, I'm tracking the vector to the next (distant) waypoint, when suddenly the plane veers off, to right or left. This happens without my touching a thing. The AP is still engaged, but the plane isn't following anything I can perceive; it's just choosing a course of its own. I have learned, though, I can gently "nudge" the yoke back towards the selected course; the AP doesn't disengage, but the plane seems to re-orient itself and picks up the vector again. Then I'm good until it happens again.

    Has anyone else experienced this? What's going on?
    Almost since day one with the A320, the advice on the official forums has been to set your controller axis dead zones to 10% and sensitivity to 50%. This cures it 9 times out of 10.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X and a big smile! Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    Almost since day one with the A320, the advice on the official forums has been to set your controller axis dead zones to 10% and sensitivity to 50%. This cures it 9 times out of 10.
    I agree with Tim. Too much "noise" from a controller / yoke / stick can cause this to happen. Definitely worth a little experimenting, especially the dead zone.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    453

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    Almost since day one with the A320, the advice on the official forums has been to set your controller axis dead zones to 10% and sensitivity to 50%. This cures it 9 times out of 10.
    I guess I'm the 10th case.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,361

    Default

    Are you using the default A320? The FlyByWire A32nx mod features dozens of fixes, including this issue: https://flybywiresim.com/
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X and a big smile! Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    453

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    Are you using the default A320? The FlyByWire A32nx mod features dozens of fixes, including this issue: https://flybywiresim.com/
    I said above I'm using the default. Are you saying the issue I raised is known and is fixed by the add-on? I would like to think the defaults work or will be made to work eventually, if the community identifies bugs.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-20-2016, 10:44 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-02-2010, 04:46 AM
  3. DreamFleet 727 not work autopilot 727 autopilot tutorial help
    By luisdeaf in forum DreamFleet 727 Support Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-2006, 04:04 PM
  4. XP Peculiarity!
    By urbankhaos in forum FS2002
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-03-2003, 10:03 AM
  5. Autopilot Woes
    By Tyler Reilly in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-12-2001, 01:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •