Hi All,

I'm new to sim but not to flying.

However. I have MSFS 2020 up and running and I want to add MSFS Air Creation 582SL Ultralight from flyawaysimulation.com. The instructions are to extract the files to the MSFS Community directory.

Try as I might, I cannot work out where this is!

Ideas?

Dave

Like I said none of that worked but I think I've found it.

Turn on developer mode. Click on tools at the top left. Click on virtual file system. Click on community folder.

As this is a pretty essential part of the whole experience I'd have thought it would be made easier-- or am I being naive? Perhaps they only want paid addons?

There should never be a need to go into development mode in order to install add-ons (or to do anything, in normal operations). Most add-ons are designed to simply place the unzipped file into Community. That's it!

Use of an add-on manager such as MSFS Addons Linker, a free program available at flghtsim.to, is highly recommended for convenience, and to enable an orderly management of add-on files. A great advantage is that it loads only links to files, rather than the actual files, into Community; the files themselves can be stored anywhere, preferably on a different drive from MSFS. I believe that Addons Linker automatically finds your community folder during the installation process.

Guest Robert455
@dunbreck - It sounds like you are running the Xbox version in which case there isn’t a Community folder you can modify like is possible in the PC world. I think anything you want to run with FS2020 has to come from the Marketplace. Xbox is missing some of the roll up your sleeves and modify/add/delete files since it’s a closed and protected operating system and ecosystem. Not saying it won’t ever change but I haven’t heard any indications. Addon linkers and other references to unzipping and putting things in the Community folder don’t apply to Xbox pilots unfortunately. Edited by Robert455