Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Glideslope for Carenado 172n

  1. #1

    Default Glideslope for Carenado 172n

    Somehow, when I first got the thing, I added a glideslope and VOR distance measurement to the 172n's panel.
    Had a computer glitch and had to reinstall everything and I can't remember how I did it. I've searched for three days in various forums and web pages in vain. Can anybody please tell me how I did it? All I remember when I did it was thinking, "Well that was easy".
    The Carenado 172n flies almost exactly like my old Cessna in real life did but it had the full IFR package and I kind of miss that.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,280

    Default

    Was this a gauge? If so, was it a dial gauge or a digital readout-type?
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X and a big smile! Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  3. #3

    Default

    Standard looking VOR gauge in Nav 1 spot and speed and milage readout below the frequencies.
    It really flummoxes me too. I keep really detailed records of what I change and what works and what doesn't. You should see my Luftwaffe paint mixes for my model building addiction! Just can't figure out where I stored this little secret to hide it from myself.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,280

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hossfly68 View Post
    Standard looking VOR gauge in Nav 1 spot and speed and milage readout below the frequencies.
    It really flummoxes me too. I keep really detailed records of what I change and what works and what doesn't. You should see my Luftwaffe paint mixes for my model building addiction! Just can't figure out where I stored this little secret to hide it from myself.
    Maybe you downloaded two files from the links in this thread, third post down from flying_bob:
    https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/3...2n-ils/page/2/
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X and a big smile! Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,280

    Default

    Just in case, here are the instructions for adding those two .cab files:

    Open the panel folder of Carenado C172II N.
    Look for file called "172things4.cab" and rename the file to "172things4_original.cab".
    Now take the downloaded files and add them to the panel and panel.1 folders.

    Open the panel.cfg file with notepad.
    Scroll down till you get to the [Vcockpit02] section, see below:

    [Vcockpit02]
    Background_color=0,0,0
    size_mm=512,512
    visible=0
    pixel_size=1024,1024
    texture=$Panel_172_2

    gauge00=172Things4!Radios, 2,4,287,285
    gauge01=172Things4!adf, 4,291,281,114
    gauge02=172Things4!transponder, 4,410,281,62
    etc.

    Now change gauge01 of vcockpit section 2 to be the same as below:

    [Vcockpit02]
    Background_color=0,0,0
    size_mm=512,512
    visible=0
    pixel_size=1024,1024
    texture=$Panel_172_2

    gauge00=172Things4!Radios, 2,4,287,285
    gauge01=172Things5!ADFDME, 4,291,281,114
    gauge02=172Things4!transponder, 4,410,281,62
    etc.

    SAVE NOTE:---------
    If you have more than one panel folder, e.g. panel.1 folder also in carenado 172 main folder, repeat the process for the panel.1 folder.
    Start FSX and enjoy ADF with DME incorporated.
    To select VOR1 or VOR 2 there is a selection button on the right side.
    To change the ADF click the buttons beneath.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X and a big smile! Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  6. #6

    Default

    WOOHOO! I gotz my ILS back! Thank you Tiger!
    I don't remember downloading those files but that must be how I did it before.
    I now have a backup copy in case I ever need to do it again.

Similar Threads

  1. Carenado Cessna 172N Repaint Request
    By planefreak14 in forum Painter's Workshop
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-01-2014, 01:16 PM
  2. St Vincent And Grenadines - Carenado 172N Skyhawk
    By adamb in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-06-2009, 11:48 PM
  3. Carenado Cessna 172N and 182
    By Distorted Humor in forum FSX
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-22-2009, 05:37 PM
  4. Carenado 172N Skyhawk II On Floats
    By adamb in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-31-2009, 10:11 PM
  5. GLIDESLOPE, GLIDESLOPE
    By bmarcoux in forum DreamFleet General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-16-2002, 07:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •