Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: "+ Reply to thread" buttons - top one works, bottom doesn't

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    Far North Coast, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    122

    Default "+ Reply to thread" buttons - top one works, bottom doesn't

    Hi Nels and admins, I'd noticed lately (probably always been the case, I just didn't realise before) that for the blue "+ Reply to thread" buttons - top one works, bottom doesn't. This is perhaps why folks are tending to use the "Reply" or "Reply with quote" buttons at the bottom of an individual post (and perhaps overusing a bit the quote option). I use the "Reply" button at the bottom of another person's post after trying the bottom blue "+ Reply to thread" button a few times. It was only yesterday that I tried the top blue button and thought "huh, that works". Could this situation be fixed? Or maybe it doesn't matter, but it's a bit confusing. As folk will naturally go to the end of a thread as they read the latest posts, having the bottom blue button working would be good.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    18,860

    Default

    Normal! I have my replies set up so that the newest reply to a thread or topic goes on top! I'm just bassackwards, I suppose!
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    Far North Coast, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    122

    Default

    Ahh, thanks Mr Zippy, I would normally prefer newest first too, just like in emails. Never thought of a setting. Just found it and set it newest first (on that sneaky little blue menubar under the main blue menubar. Is "Forum Actions" > "General Settings" > Thread Display Options" > "Thread Display Mode": "Linear - Newest First". The other options are handy/useful e.g. "Threaded". That'll do the job for me, newest first. Was just my usual self, a lazy SOB, didn't bother to explore the site. Thanks Mr Zippy.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    18,860

    Default

    Hey, no problem! That's why I make the big bucks!
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Near EGCW
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Hi.

    It sort of works: the click spot for the bottom button is only on the upper & lower edges. There's nothing clickable in the middle of the button.

    (Sorry about the rubbish quality. Print Screen doesn't show mouse pointers.)

    D

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P9010014.JPG 
Views:	257 
Size:	45.7 KB 
ID:	227160

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P9010015.JPG 
Views:	316 
Size:	49.9 KB 
ID:	227161

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P9010016.JPG 
Views:	278 
Size:	44.4 KB 
ID:	227162

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    Far North Coast, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    122

    Default

    Huh, thanks defaid, yes, am sending this via the bottom button. I now see that around the top, left, bottom edges it works, seems that the label field in the button sits over the top of the button proper so that the cursor doesn't change to the button function proper (whereas the top button has the label 'transparent' so you can hover anywhere over it).

Similar Threads

  1. The racers, part II (view top to bottom)
    By tigisfat in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-23-2009, 02:11 PM
  2. Buttons, buttons, buttons.
    By eric johnson in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-12-2008, 03:43 AM
  3. nVidia buttons and FS buttons.
    By WilliamRich in forum FS2002
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-23-2003, 05:55 PM
  4. In reply to an earlier thread...:-)
    By Erick_Cantu in forum DreamFleet General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-25-2002, 08:10 AM
  5. top and bottom toolbars on screen display
    By lawcollingwood in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2002, 08:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •