Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Update 5 download keeps locking up in Installation Manager

  1. #11

    Default

    What is the DISM.exe?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,179

    Default

    It's a Microsoft tool for repairing windows update:
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/tro...-update-errors
    I use it every month or so, just in case. It works a treat, too.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X and a big smile! Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    790

    Default

    I have tried everyone's excellent suggestions, tried others found on other forums, nothing is working.

    I appreciate everyone's efforts to help me get my sim installed. However, it is apparent that this is not going to work.

    I am throwing in the towel, Microsoft has won. They have my $$$, they had my time.

    Congrats MS, you've won.
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce GTX 1660, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,179

    Default

    Sorry to hear that David, I hope you can re-install MSFS again sometime soon - good luck!
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X and a big smile! Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    790

    Default

    Out of not wanting to give up, I decided to try one last time. This time I got a new message that there was a mandatory update waiting for me in the MS Store. Went there and of course, I was up to date.

    So, I thought to myself, "Self, uninstall (again for the 56 time) and reload from the Store" which I did, it ran through the usual screen fairly fast (something it had not done since this nightmare began), and has allowed me to click the Update button! Now, it is going to 5mbits/second (on a 400 meg connection), however, due to EVERYONE downloading the patch etc., I am not complaining!!
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce GTX 1660, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,179

    Default

    WHAT a relief! Great job David, fingers crossed for you here.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X and a big smile! Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  7. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidc2 View Post
    Just tried that, no good
    I have now tried most of the Zendesk advice without any luck. Still having to download very small chunks before the dreaded loop appears.

    Not tried Netlimiter as I do not wish to pay for software which will only be used once. The free alternatives are far too technical at first glance. Why would I need to do this anyway when it was never an issue before?

    Despite posting on four Facebook MSFS forums in addition to this one, nobody seems to have a reliable solution.

    Even if I reinstall the sim (I have the dvd version) I am still faced with huge updates when presumably the looping issue will occur again?

    THe only solution seems to be sticking with 2 or 3 updates at a time then rebooting/restarting the sim. This will take forever though.

    Also why is this occuring just with this update 5 ? Some of the previous updates where pretty big and I never had any "looping" issues.

    Still looking for a effective answer to my problem

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,179

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnFoz View Post
    Still looking for a effective answer to my problem
    There's no definitive answer, if that's what you mean - everyone's setups are so different that what works for one person won't work for someone else.
    That makes it impossible to pin this issue down to someone's PC, their internet connection, their ISP or the Azure server network.
    Sometimes a download will start or restart for no apparent reason after days of trying everything.
    Unfortunately the only practical advice is to keep trying, sorry.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Xbox Series X and a big smile! Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    790

    Default

    I am saddened that you do not have this fixed. I agree that we should not have to use a limiting software to download.

    Have you tried, forums.microsoft.com? Not trying to chase you away, just offering another choice
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce GTX 1660, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnFoz View Post
    I have now tried most of the Zendesk advice without any luck. Still having to download very small chunks before the dreaded loop appears.

    Not tried Netlimiter as I do not wish to pay for software which will only be used once. The free alternatives are far too technical at first glance. Why would I need to do this anyway when it was never an issue before?

    Despite posting on four Facebook MSFS forums in addition to this one, nobody seems to have a reliable solution.

    Even if I reinstall the sim (I have the dvd version) I am still faced with huge updates when presumably the looping issue will occur again?

    THe only solution seems to be sticking with 2 or 3 updates at a time then rebooting/restarting the sim. This will take forever though.

    Also why is this occuring just with this update 5 ? Some of the previous updates where pretty big and I never had any "looping" issues.

    Still looking for a effective answer to my problem
    Netlimiter has a free trial period. I never paid for it. But if the problem happens again I might have to.

    Pat

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Download STUCK, keeps trying to download same file over and over
    By Bighandal in forum Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2020, 01:41 PM
  2. Hosting server keeps locking
    By MasterFranky in forum FSX
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-2011, 11:01 AM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-10-2007, 08:56 AM
  4. Locking your FPS = Locking Performance!
    By faosfx in forum FS2002
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 04-10-2003, 03:39 PM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-05-2003, 08:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •