Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: The 5 Minute Simulator!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    44

    Default The 5 Minute Simulator!

    Ever since the July 27-28 2021 Update, it seems like we've gone to a 5 minute sim that has great framerates and improved usability but...............It's only for 5 minutes and then the seemingly omnipresent CTD happens. I have gotten an error message after one CTD: The Instruction at 0x00007FF750711A15 referenced memory at 0x00000196F891D000. The memory could not be read. I have tried the usual attempts at fixing; emptying the Community folder, uninstalling Afterburner, etc. etc. but nothing works. I have now adjusted to this 5 minute problem by using some of my faster aircraft and used shorter routes. I am now used to flying my Supermarine Spitfire on a 22 mile route, sometimes maintaining more than 200 knots with the gear up until very short final, to a flapless plop onto the runway. I am lucky to exit the runway before I hear that telltale double sound-dropout and then I am looking at my desktop. Thanks, Asobo! I now appreciate MSFS more since I use it less.
    Last edited by Ducktooth; 07-29-2021 at 02:43 PM.
    Intel Core i7 3930K 3.2 GHz, 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Windows 10

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bradford, West Yorkshire. UK
    Posts
    1,555

    Default

    I’m no expert but it sounds like the sim is trying to use more Ram than is available. I don’t know if this will help but you might want to take a look..
    https://forums.flightsimulator.com/t...tutters/245620

    Regards
    Steve
    Intel I9-10900K - Gigabyte Z490 Vision G - 64Gb DDR4 - Gigabyte RTX2080ti - 3x 43” Panasonic 4k TVs
    Corsair HXi series 1000W 80+ Platinum PSU - 1x500gb & 1x1TB M.2 SSDs. - Reverb G2 VR Headset
    Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit - Thrustmaster TPR Rudder Pedals - Saitek Throttles

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Thanks for the link but dude, even if I knew enough about tweaking the parameters I would still be worried about causing a potentially permanent blue screen of death. It's mostly gibberish to me. Many people have been reporting a running period of around 5-6 minutes before CTD anyway. It's not just me. Unless I can find a safe, step by step solution to fix the RAM situation, I'll just have to wait until Asobo takes pity on MSFS users who can't yet afford an fast CPU, a GPU that costs more than most PCs and loads of RAM. Or just give up and get FSX. At least with FSX there are huge choices of different planes and features to use. This has been going on for too long. I have used MSFS since FS4 and never have seen so many issues and glitches and headaches with a Sim. It's just silly now.
    Last edited by Ducktooth; 07-29-2021 at 05:38 PM.
    Intel Core i7 3930K 3.2 GHz, 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Windows 10

  4. #4

    Default

    Hotfix coming tomorrow.

Similar Threads

  1. The 1 minute pause
    By Davecook in forum FS2002
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 04:44 AM
  2. Not a minute without simming!
    By haje in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-11-2005, 08:05 AM
  3. FS9 Locking Up After One Minute
    By edwardziegler in forum FS2004
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-29-2004, 01:03 PM
  4. The 5 Minute Rule
    By john_bispham in forum FS2004
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-11-2003, 10:40 PM
  5. Help! 15 minute Real weather
    By littleray in forum FS2004
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-25-2003, 10:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •