Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: FS9 Autogen objects with black squares

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    32

    Default FS9 Autogen objects with black squares

    Some months ago I broke down and got a WIN10 gaming machine for flying. Followed advice on numerous threads
    to install FS9nocd and ADE. Moved over all files from old machine without a hitch. Things have been going great.
    Then WIN10 did an update. (sigh).

    In addition to trying to find the right combination of display resolution and resolution settings in FS9 to bring back
    the original visual characteristics, all the TREES and Power Transmission towers have BLACK Squares around them.

    This effects both autogen trees and 3rd party trees. Autogen buildingd and third party building objects are NOT effected.

    Also, the lettering in the corner for PAUSED or SLEW have black outlines on each letter. Very weird.

    I have tried combinations of ailising, resolution, scenery density with no luck.

    Can anyone suggest an approach other than reinstalling FS9. I have pulled the internet connection on the machine.

    If it matters: Win10 Pro, i5-8500, 32GB RAM, GTX 1050Ti graphics, 54 bit operating system

    Thanks -
    "For every problem, no matter how complex, there is
    always a solution that is simple, well reasoned, elegant
    and wrong . . ."
    H. L. Mencken

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,182

    Default

    Can you not roll back and delete the update or a system restore, I don't have W10 so not sure?

    Col.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    32

    Default

    I thought about that, but I'm not sure how to do that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Well, I tried a Recovery to the previous version of WIN 10 and it tells me I cant unless
    I turn ON a recovery setting. Which I did and it still will not allow a reset to the previous version. On-line help says you only have 30 days to recover to previous version. FS9 is on a different drive.
    System drive is C. Anyone else have this problem with black squares?
    "For every problem, no matter how complex, there is
    always a solution that is simple, well reasoned, elegant
    and wrong . . ."
    H. L. Mencken

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    32

    Default

    All is well and returned to normal. Can exhale. There is a choice under System that keeps saying the Recovery can not be done. But in Win 7 Recovery in the lower left is another Recovery choice. That one says it will return system to last WIN 10 version. No arguments. Even gives a couple things to try first. Hit continue and in about 5 minutes it restarts and everything is back. A cautionary tale for FS9 users in WIN10 who let the system update automatically. Thanks for the moral support.
    "For every problem, no matter how complex, there is
    always a solution that is simple, well reasoned, elegant
    and wrong . . ."
    H. L. Mencken

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,182

    Default

    Great, pleased you got it working again, is there a facility in W10 to stop updates so it doesn't happen again?

    Col.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,231

    Default

    This is a little strange as we've probably all updated W10 (at least I have anyway) and haven’t seen anything like this.

  8. #8

    Default

    I assume it has to do with an update to his particular video card driver?
    Tom Gibson

    CalClassic Propliner Page: http://www.calclassic.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    32

    Default

    No, it was a Win 10 update. Didn't touch the graphics card driver. No auto update set for
    that. Have now set Win10 to allow only manual update, then pulled the plug. My new flight sim rig was suppose to be an air gap unit. But i got lazy and plugged in a cable to get a scenery down load and MS snuck in there. I have a separate machine for email, writing, photo editing etc. I'll actually down load stuff there. Put it on an thumb drive and sneaker-net it across the room. Hi Tom. You've helped me elsewhere in the ether. Thanks.

    This is the first time a RECOVERY has actually worked as advertised. Which is why I was reluctant with WIN10. Yea, I read the instructions and did some homework. But RECOVERY in several previous versions of Windows turned into hours long ordeals. Cheers all.
    "For every problem, no matter how complex, there is
    always a solution that is simple, well reasoned, elegant
    and wrong . . ."
    H. L. Mencken

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JSMR View Post
    This is a little strange as we've probably all updated W10 (at least I have anyway) and haven’t seen anything like this.
    What made it all the more strange was it affected only trees - both third party and autogen. Also affected transmission towers. Buildings, cars, boats, ez scenery telephone poles - all display properly. Changed ailising, changed scenery density sliders. Set things to Zero etc. Same result. Very weird.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SQUARES, SQUARES, SQUARES.......Please help
    By gusjnazh in forum FS2004
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 09-10-2007, 01:13 PM
  2. Strange black squares around trees and lights?
    By Nickelbart_ in forum FS2002
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-19-2003, 09:25 AM
  3. My landscape has lots of black squares on it
    By CCairns10 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-12-2002, 08:26 AM
  4. Black squares around trees, lights
    By b2spirit in forum FS2002
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-17-2002, 02:26 PM
  5. Black Squares Around Trees
    By shakr in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-16-2002, 11:55 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •