Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: my FSX Add-On Menu suddenly became empty

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    874

    Default my FSX Add-On Menu suddenly became empty

    I had a problem with RAAS pro and uninstalled it, Then I noticed that my add on menu is missing entries. I have n idea how to re-install it. I know for sure I had many entries in it including the FSUIPC and Captain Sim etc. now almost nothing appears in this menu. Is there a way to restore it? Thanks in advance for your help.

    I have FSX Gold Edition with SP2 and Acceleration and the lot installed.

    Name:  add.jpg
Views: 419
Size:  26.0 KB
    Asus P8Z77-V Premium Mobo w\32GB MSATA Caching SSD On-Board | i7-3770K CPU | 16GB DDR3 1600 | FSX Gold on 1TB boot SSD | P3Dv4 on 512MB SSD | 1TB+2TB WD HDDs | 2 Asus GTX660 2GB Ti Cu cards w\SLI | Win7 Pro 64 | REX Full Catalogue | ORBX FTX Full Catalogue | Saitek Flight Control Pro w\Dual Throttle Quadrants+Pedals | 24"+2x19" HP Monitors | 1000W PSU


  2. #2

    Default

    how did you get that add on menu on the tool bar? I don't have that on mine

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    874

    Default

    Things come with various add ons. I think SODE came with ORBX scenery.
    Asus P8Z77-V Premium Mobo w\32GB MSATA Caching SSD On-Board | i7-3770K CPU | 16GB DDR3 1600 | FSX Gold on 1TB boot SSD | P3Dv4 on 512MB SSD | 1TB+2TB WD HDDs | 2 Asus GTX660 2GB Ti Cu cards w\SLI | Win7 Pro 64 | REX Full Catalogue | ORBX FTX Full Catalogue | Saitek Flight Control Pro w\Dual Throttle Quadrants+Pedals | 24"+2x19" HP Monitors | 1000W PSU


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,995

    Default

    You need to restore an older DLL.XML.

    In my C:\Users\Wim\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX folder, I see a lot of files named DDL.XML_before_installing_etc.bak or similar. Obviously those were created by 3rd party installers as a backup.

    I think you should be looking for a file dll.xml.raasprobackup (or similar) and copy/rename that file to dll.xml. Be sure to first check if the file date/time corresponds to the faulty install.

    Wim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    874

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f16jockey_2 View Post
    You need to restore an older DLL.XML.

    In my C:\Users\Wim\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX folder, I see a lot of files named DDL.XML_before_installing_etc.bak or similar. Obviously those were created by 3rd party installers as a backup.

    I think you should be looking for a file dll.xml.raasprobackup (or similar) and copy/rename that file to dll.xml. Be sure to first check if the file date/time corresponds to the faulty install.

    Wim
    Spot on. Thank you, Wim. You are simply brilliant.

    Khalid
    Asus P8Z77-V Premium Mobo w\32GB MSATA Caching SSD On-Board | i7-3770K CPU | 16GB DDR3 1600 | FSX Gold on 1TB boot SSD | P3Dv4 on 512MB SSD | 1TB+2TB WD HDDs | 2 Asus GTX660 2GB Ti Cu cards w\SLI | Win7 Pro 64 | REX Full Catalogue | ORBX FTX Full Catalogue | Saitek Flight Control Pro w\Dual Throttle Quadrants+Pedals | 24"+2x19" HP Monitors | 1000W PSU


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    18,515

    Default

    +1 Wim! We'll have to see about a raise in your paycheck!
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-16-2018, 11:31 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-21-2017, 12:05 PM
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-17-2014, 03:29 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-04-2013, 12:42 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-07-2013, 04:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •