Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Rolling cache

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    148

    Default Rolling cache

    During my troubleshooting period one of the questions asked of me was
    “Do have you have Rolling Cache set up?”.
    I replied that I did not know and just forgot about it.
    Well I did have it set up and the size was 8GB.
    I increased it to 12GB
    I looked at the “MANUAL CACHE” and it was set at 0.
    I increased it to 12GB
    It said I could change it later.
    Since I have plenty of free space (for now) I figured what the heck, the more the better.
    I don’t know exactly how that stuff works but………
    VFRguy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    719

    Default

    If I am correct (big if), lol, the rolling cache is used to store local scenery for times when you don't have Internet access but still want the eye candy. You have to select the areas you want stored, it goes down to street level.

    Course, I could be wrong It is a Tuesday
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce GTX 1660, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Well at least I know where to pick up some extra memory if I need some.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,561

    Default

    The rolling cache is primarily there to minimize the amount of data downloaded, though could be used if you don't have an internet connection. If you regularly fly in the same areas, the sim can use the locally stored data rather than downloading from the server again. It will refresh itself based on where you're flying, so moving to a new area could mean the data for previous ones is automatically dumped to make room. Manual caches, on the other hand, are specifically chosen by the user and won't be automatically removed and, as with the rolling cache, can be used offline.

    Here's a guide for the manual cache.

    https://forums.flightsimulator.com/t...regions/136740

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    148

    Default

    If you cut off the panhandle of Oklahoma leaving the rest to form one
    big square, that is the area that I do 60% of my flying.
    Sounds like that might be useful for me.
    You think?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    East Texas, USA.
    Posts
    1,379

    Default

    I suspect that is too large a dataset for your storage device??
    I7-9700K, RTX-2070, Asus Strix Z-390-H MB, 32gb G Skill 3000 CL15, Corsair Obsidian 750D case, WD Black 1tb M.2, Crucial CT500MX SSD, Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium PSU

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Just as well.
    Last night I was gimping around in that area when a warning appeared
    and said my package was out of date and that I have been logged off.
    I saw that warning before when I got myself in big trouble.
    I quickly put things back the way they were before, rebooted my computer
    and fired up FS to see if I still could fly.
    Things looked good and for a better check I flew a flight pan from Norman Oklahoma to Wichita Kansas.
    All is well.
    That ends my fooling around with Rolling Cache.
    Last edited by VFRguy; 06-23-2021 at 09:27 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Rolling cache and manual cache
    By cianpars in forum Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-14-2020, 09:40 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-23-2002, 02:46 PM
  3. What is your Scenery Cache setting ?
    By acornick in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-16-2002, 10:37 AM
  4. empty-cache
    By swwnz in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-2002, 10:28 PM
  5. Win XP Tweak Tips - Level2 Cache
    By vortac in forum FS2002
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-06-2002, 05:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •