Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Too many reinstalls causing loss of FREE SPACE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    147

    Default Too many reinstalls causing loss of FREE SPACE

    In March I bought a New computer just for the new Microsoft Flight Simulator.
    It has 500GB of memory.
    The only thing that I loaded into the new computer was a
    Word processor and a small puzzle program.
    I even deleted a whole bunch of stuff that came with the computer.
    I don't play games, except that puzzle thing and fly.
    I pay my bills also. That's about it.
    I then ordered the Flight Simulator (On Disk) and it will take 4 weeks to arrive.
    In the meantime I loaded My FS X and fired it up.
    I attempted to register it but Microsoft would not let me register it because it was on a second computer.
    So, I removed FS X from my new computer and waited.
    When My new Flight Simulator arrived I loaded it up.
    All 10 disks.
    I flew it for 3 or 4 weeks and got tired of having to insert disk 1 in order to fly.
    So, I removed my new Flight Simulator from my new Computer.
    I then downloaded another Flight Simulator from the Microsoft Store.
    I flew it for a while until I got into trouble with an Update.
    A Microsoft TEC fixed the problem but I had to reinstall the program.
    When the TEC fixed my problem he also moved my community folder to the
    the location listed below.

    C:\Flight simulator\community (EMPTY)
    ......................... \Official\ Onestore (DATA) (132 GB)

    Where ever the base program is , I don't know but I do know it is not that big.
    Last week a new update problem appeared and I spent around 4 or 5 hours trying to figure it out.
    What the heck, I removed the program and reinstalled it. The program was 90.5 GB so it took me 9.5 hours to reload ( 10 GB\hr ).
    That fixed my problem.
    I also had to install all the stuff from the Content Manager 59.5 GB.
    When I look at the properties for the C drive there is 7.5 GB free space out of a total of 496 GB.
    I figure that there is around 150 GB to 250 GB free space missing, perhaps more.
    I suspect that a bunch free space got lost during all that reinstalling and I don't know what to about.
    If I don't resolve this issue, sooner or later I will be out of memory all together. Then I will be in deep you know what.
    VFRguy
    Last edited by VFRguy; 06-19-2021 at 03:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bradford, West Yorkshire. UK
    Posts
    1,412

    Default

    Hi Glen,
    I presume when you remove things, you actually “uninstall” them, rather than just delete them?

    What you could try is a disc clean up. Press your Windows key & type Disk
    You should see “Disk Clean-up”. A box will pop up, recommending you delete things like temporary internet files etc. This might give you a bit more space.. in fact, at the bottom of the box, it will say how much space you will get back.
    There is also a “clean up system files” option. Again it might give you a bit more.

    When you look at your C drive properties, have you clicked on Tools? You get an option to optimise your drive and also to defragment it... however this probably doesn’t need doing as Windows 10 does this automatically nowadays.

    Also.. I presume your recycle bin gets emptied regularly? Always worth checking.

    Hope some of this helps

    Regards
    Steve
    Last edited by g7rta; 06-19-2021 at 04:06 PM.
    Intel I9-10900K - Gigabyte Z490 Vision G - 64Gb DDR4 - Gigabyte RTX2080ti - 3x 43” Panasonic 4k TVs
    Corsair HXi series 1000W 80+ Platinum PSU - 1x500gb & 1x1TB M.2 SSDs. - Reverb G2 VR Headset
    Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit - Thrustmaster TPR Rudder Pedals - Saitek Throttles

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    147

    Default

    Sorry about my poor choice of words.
    Of coarse I mean uninstall.
    I have done that disk clean up, scan and all that stuff.
    It is just hard for me to believe I ran of space considering the small amount things I have installed.
    I guess the time will come to learn how to add a second hard drive or something like that to store my FS files in.

    By the way.
    I found my first Aircraft Carrier a little while ago.
    It is across the bay from San Francisco straight east.
    I think I found 5 in FS X.
    Last edited by VFRguy; 06-19-2021 at 04:51 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bradford, West Yorkshire. UK
    Posts
    1,412

    Default

    Not a problem Glen. I presumed you had, but had to check.
    My flight sim takes up about 162gb but that includes several Marketplace addons (plus I have another 52gb of addons in my community folder)
    I also have 10gb of rolling cache. Speaking of which.. do you also have rolling cache enabled.. if so, how much?
    Still sounds like you have a lot of stuff on there that shouldn’t be.

    I think a second (solid if poss) drive would be a good idea.
    I keep Windows 10 on a 500gb drive & flight sim on a 1tb drive, which should see me for a long time.

    I’m a bit stuck on suggestions at the moment.


    Speaking of aircraft carriers, I found one off the coast of Dubai yesterday and another off New York today... but I presumed they were because of a carrier addon I bought a few weeks back (& haven’t used much since) but maybe they are part of the sim & not my addon?
    On the world map.. try trying CARRIER for an airport. It certainly brings up a list of them On mine

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	carrier.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	153.4 KB 
ID:	226519

    Regards
    Steve
    Last edited by g7rta; 06-19-2021 at 05:12 PM.
    Intel I9-10900K - Gigabyte Z490 Vision G - 64Gb DDR4 - Gigabyte RTX2080ti - 3x 43” Panasonic 4k TVs
    Corsair HXi series 1000W 80+ Platinum PSU - 1x500gb & 1x1TB M.2 SSDs. - Reverb G2 VR Headset
    Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit - Thrustmaster TPR Rudder Pedals - Saitek Throttles

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Sweat Mountain, GA
    Posts
    598

    Default

    I would start looking around using Windows Explorer to see where exactly the space is being consumed.

    Cheers!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    147

    Default

    Don't know any thing about rolling cache enabled or how to enable it. Tell me.
    And tell me what kind of drive to buy and how to set it up and while you are at it, fix me dinner.

    I did a search, "Aircraft carrier" and nothing.
    That is why I have never found one.
    Thanks a lot fellas.
    I will strap on my Ultralight and go land on some carriers.
    VFRguy

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VFRguy View Post
    In March I bought a New computer just for the new Microsoft Flight Simulator.
    It has 500GB of memory.
    The only thing that I loaded into the new computer was a
    Word processor and a small puzzle program.
    I even deleted a whole bunch of stuff that came with the computer.
    I don't play games, except that puzzle thing and fly.
    I pay my bills also. That's about it.
    I then ordered the Flight Simulator (On Disk) and it will take 4 weeks to arrive.
    In the meantime I loaded My FS X and fired it up.
    I attempted to register it but Microsoft would not let me register it because it was on a second computer.
    So, I removed FS X from my new computer and waited.
    When My new Flight Simulator arrived I loaded it up.
    All 10 disks.
    I flew it for 3 or 4 weeks and got tired of having to insert disk 1 in order to fly.
    So, I removed my new Flight Simulator from my new Computer.
    I then downloaded another Flight Simulator from the Microsoft Store.
    I flew it for a while until I got into trouble with an Update.
    A Microsoft TEC fixed the problem but I had to reinstall the program.
    When the TEC fixed my problem he also moved my community folder to the
    the location listed below.

    C:\Flight simulator\community (EMPTY)
    ......................... \Official\ Onestore (DATA) (132 GB)

    Where ever the base program is , I don't know but I do know it is not that big.
    Last week a new update problem appeared and I spent around 4 or 5 hours trying to figure it out.
    What the heck, I removed the program and reinstalled it. The program was 90.5 GB so it took me 9.5 hours to reload ( 10 GB\hr ).
    That fixed my problem.
    I also had to install all the stuff from the Content Manager 59.5 GB.
    When I look at the properties for the C drive there is 7.5 GB free space out of a total of 496 GB.
    I figure that there is around 150 GB to 250 GB free space missing, perhaps more.
    I suspect that a bunch free space got lost during all that reinstalling and I don't know what to about.
    If I don't resolve this issue, sooner or later I will be out of memory all together. Then I will be in deep you know what.
    VFRguy
    Hey there,

    Given that you sound not so savvy with the deep underbelly of computers I would suggest you download and use CCleaner, the free version is perfectly fine. This is a safe one click cleanup program I've used for years. It will cleanup temp and old cache files and should free up some space.

    Although, 500gb these days is far from suitable as there is an unwritten rule that you should not really have less than 10% at worst, of drive space remaining as you could encounter all sorts of weird things go on as you deplete the free space. 7.5gb remaining is not a lot these days especially with msfs having potential to fill up the rest of the space with future updates.

    .. I'm a qualified systems engineer. I'm a little interested in what your pc specs are.

    Sent from my SM-G998B using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    147

    Default

    Thanks a lot Kelvinr
    I'm on it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    147

    Default

    Ran that cleaner program.
    Not much of a change.
    I guess I need to look into a second drive.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    East Texas, USA.
    Posts
    1,374

    Default

    Yes, I use CCleaner as well and run it before updates. A very handy program!
    Glen, if you have some old unused programs, you can use the tools part of CCleaner to identify and uninstall them. You probably have some things on there you did not know you had.
    A Crucial or Kingston 1tb SSD might be an inexpensive option. Both are good economy brands. I have a 500gb Crucial SSD. I also have a 1tb M.2, which is a fast storage device. You need a MB that can support an M.2 to use one.
    I7-9700K, RTX-2070, Asus Strix Z-390-H MB, 32gb G Skill 3000 CL15, Corsair Obsidian 750D case, WD Black 1tb M.2, Crucial CT500MX SSD, Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium PSU

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. What Could Be Causing The Loss Of Flight Plans When Resuming?
    By Elvensmith in forum Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-13-2020, 03:06 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2015, 06:40 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-21-2010, 11:36 AM
  4. Hamachi2 Reinstalls
    By salt_air in forum MSFS Multiplayer Adventures
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-10-2010, 07:41 AM
  5. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-08-2009, 10:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •