Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Ai Aircraft porpoising on landing.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,003

    Default Ai Aircraft porpoising on landing.

    I used to have the correction for this but I seem to have lost it, I remember it was about 3 lines in the aircraft.cfg you had to alter and it cured it everytime.

    didn't matter what aircraft it wa, if it porpoised then changing these lines did the trick, anyone got any idea please?

    Col.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    381

    Default

    I assume you mean that they porpoise visibly during their approaches and if so, try increasing their empty weights by, e.g. 5 to 10K pounds. If that does not solve your problem(s), try the AIR file from any default AI of (more or less) the same type.

    Good luck.

    Hans

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,003

    Default

    As for the above, I did a bit of jiggery pokery in the aircraft.cfg I found another aircraft the same make and edited bits from it's cfg and swapped a few entries about including changing the air file.
    Now it flies OK but as I said earlier it shouldn't need all that I used to cure it by altering a few lines.

    Col.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Boca Raton, Florida, USA.
    Posts
    173

    Default

    hi,

    it can have a couple of reasons:

    In CFG

    1. The MOI
    2. The Geometries Wing Area / Elevator etc
    3. The Flap values (IF Flaps used)
    4. AI Speed (Reference)

    In AIR Record 1101

    1. Flap Value
    2. Gear Value
    3. AOA value

    IF you tell me which airplane it is and it can be downloaded I will fix it for you.

    Sincerely

    G. Kirschstein

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Long Island, NY - USA
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Hey Col,

    Any chance you're talking about the Casa 212-300 by Morne Pieters? It's a beautiful model but awful porpoising and ultimate crash and vanish upon landing.
    To view my repaints and other stuff just click on the image below!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,003

    Default

    Hi Doug, no it was Enigma ATP which is an AI model, it did porpoise but not drastic like some models I've had, but it annoyed me.

    Anyway cured it like I said from editing the cfg and changing the air file. I am going to look in my pen drives I have FS stuff on some of them I may have saved those magic lines that stop it on all aircraft.

    Col.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Boca Raton, Florida, USA.
    Posts
    173

    Default

    Hi,

    the MOI figure for Pitch is totally wrong..Please try the following change in the CFG ONLY.

    I used the Original Files from the Download and the MOI is REALLY way to high.

    Here we go:

    [WEIGHT_AND_BALANCE]
    reference_datum_position= 0.000, 0.000, 0.000
    empty_weight_CG_position= 0.000, 0.000, 0.000
    max_number_of_stations=11 //50
    ;station_load.0=10240.000000,0.000000,0.000000,0.000000 //total pax loading
    ;station_load.x ="wt lbs, long, lat, vert, station name"
    station_load.0="360.0, 40.0, 0.0, 4.0, Flight deck"
    station_load.1="320.0, 35.0, 0.0, 4.0, Cabin crew"
    station_load.2="3015.0, 25.0, 0.0, 4.0, Economy 1"
    station_load.3="3015.0, 0.0, 0.0, 4.0, Economy 2"
    station_load.4="3015.0, -25.0, 0.0, 4.0, Economy 3"
    station_load.5="400.0, 25.0, 0.0, -4.0, Forward cargo"
    station_load.6="400.0, -20.0, 0.0, -4.0, Rear cargo"


    empty_weight= 31290
    max_gross_weight= 50550

    empty_weight_roll_MOI= 240400
    empty_weight_pitch_MOI=240400 /// 1581185 ******
    empty_weight_yaw_MOI= 406097
    empty_weight_coupled_MOI= 0


    CG_forward_limit= 0.000
    CG_aft_limit= 1.000


    She flies EXCELLENT in AI.


    To see what is wrong with ANY plane JUST set the Flight Simulator Speed to 4X and you will see any imperfection ... related to the Flight Dynamics.

    Sincerely

    G. Kirschstein

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,003

    Default

    Wow thank you GK for looking in to it, I did revert back to the original now edited CFG and yes the ATP flies great.

    I'll be honest I'm not very good with weights and moi settings wish I was it would save me a lot of trouble with my AI aircraft.

    Thank you once again, you are a genius.

    Col.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Long Island, NY - USA
    Posts
    103

    Default

    @GKKnupper

    Would you like to try your hand at fixing this one?

    Ai Casa 212-300

    https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/fslib...rchid=86512103

    I made some repaints I never released for it because of it's poor performance.

    Thanks,

    DR
    To view my repaints and other stuff just click on the image below!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,003

    Default

    Doug I have an AI CASA 212-300 that I tweaked for AI and it flies OK, if GK can't sort it let me know I can send you mine.


    Col.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Porpoising aircraft
    By gprice2 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-28-2003, 06:11 PM
  2. Aircraft "Porpoising" in autopilot (AN-22)
    By flyguyddt in forum FS2002
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-21-2003, 11:42 PM
  3. porpoising ai aircraft on approach
    By judesman in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2003, 05:02 PM
  4. A Question on Porpoising
    By Chpwg in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-24-2002, 04:24 AM
  5. Aircraft Porpoising
    By acva008 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-18-2002, 04:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •