Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: Things I miss from FS 10

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Spokane WA Area
    Posts
    216

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wout123 View Post
    opinions , opinions thats all what we hear here, and i have those too.
    it doesnt really matter whatever you play, as long as you have fun doing it.
    still i see a trend of certain ppl really sticking to their old , probably heavily invested stuff, and bashing
    the sim for no reason at all.
    no way i can go back to the other sims, and it seems a vast majority thinks the same.
    I agree. But there will always be people who want to spit in your soup.
    MSI Mag Z390 M/B, I7-9700K 4.7 Ghz, 32 GB 3200 DDR4 Ram, Nvidia RTX 2080 8GB Ram, 1 TB NVMe M.2 Drive, 850W P/S, HP Reverb G2 VR Headset

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    147

    Default

    If I could trade one item from FS20 for one item from FSX it would be the VFR MAP.
    I did not know how much I liked the FSX VFR MAP until I moved to FS20.
    VFRguy

  3. #13

    Default

    My fav thing in FSX was the ability to record my own flight, then add the recording as an AI aircraft in the mission builder, start it up and fly wingman to myself
    Then of course doing several different ones, and timing them all together to make scenario's of aircraft doing complex maneuvers together

  4. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VFRguy View Post
    If I could trade one item from FS20 for one item from FSX it would be the VFR MAP.
    Are you guys talking about the top-down (satellite map) which you get when you press the F12 key?
    In that case yes I miss that too.

    Other things I sorely miss from FSX is:
    1. Flyby view
    2. Flyby view
    3. Flyby view.
    4. Ability to change liveries or entire aircraft in mid-flight.
    5. Ability to jump to another airfield in mid-flight, instead of having to go all the way back to the main menu
    i7-7700K @ 4.8 GHz, ASUS Z270G Strix motherboard, GTX 1080ti 11GB, 16GB DDR4 3200MHz, ASUS PG348Q 34" 3440x1440 monitor, CH Products Fighterstick, Pro Throttle and Pro Pedals, Track IR 5, Oculus Rift S, Windows 10 64-bit

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bradford, West Yorkshire. UK
    Posts
    1,403

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VFRguy View Post
    If I could trade one item from FS20 for one item from FSX it would be the VFR MAP.
    I did not know how much I liked the FSX VFR MAP until I moved to FS20.
    VFRguy

    Hi Glen, there are loads of free maps available though, many of which use google street maps
    Like this one for example.. https://www.msfsaddons.org/freeware/plugin-vfrmap

    There are also maps which will display on a tablet or smartphone. You see your plane moving across the map & it’s ideal for finding your way around the towns & cities.
    Like this excellent one.. https://www.fsmaptool.com/. This one isn’t free but it’s very cheap (something like $2 if I remember correctly)

    I even have one which I use in VR. I put the map on the empty co-pilot’s seat & works well. I can even click on the map somewhere & teleport my aircraft to that location should I want to.

    Regards
    Steve
    Intel I9-10900K - Gigabyte Z490 Vision G - 64Gb DDR4 - Gigabyte RTX2080ti - 3x 43” Panasonic 4k TVs
    Corsair HXi series 1000W 80+ Platinum PSU - 1x500gb & 1x1TB M.2 SSDs. - Reverb G2 VR Headset
    Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit - Thrustmaster TPR Rudder Pedals - Saitek Throttles

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    147

    Default

    OK
    I paid my 3 bucks and downloaded FS MAP TOOL on my phone.
    It is setting there now wants my ip address
    I don't know it.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bradford, West Yorkshire. UK
    Posts
    1,403

    Default

    It’s fine Glen. Your phone needs to connect to flight sim.

    It’s a very good tool once it’s set up. I take it you’ve downloaded the server?



    You can see what others are saying about it here..
    https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/5...or-ms-fs-2020/


    Regards
    Steve
    Last edited by g7rta; 06-25-2021 at 06:47 AM.
    Intel I9-10900K - Gigabyte Z490 Vision G - 64Gb DDR4 - Gigabyte RTX2080ti - 3x 43” Panasonic 4k TVs
    Corsair HXi series 1000W 80+ Platinum PSU - 1x500gb & 1x1TB M.2 SSDs. - Reverb G2 VR Headset
    Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit - Thrustmaster TPR Rudder Pedals - Saitek Throttles

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    147

    Default

    I must have done something wrong
    The map tool still wants IP address
    been 15 min

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bradford, West Yorkshire. UK
    Posts
    1,403

    Default

    Did you download & install the map tools server?

    You install the server, then it puts a little icon at the bottom right of your computer screen. Clicking that will display your IP address.
    You then simply enter that on the phone app (& launch flight sim of course)

    https://www.fsmaptool.com/setup

    Regards
    Steve
    Last edited by g7rta; 06-25-2021 at 06:53 AM.
    Intel I9-10900K - Gigabyte Z490 Vision G - 64Gb DDR4 - Gigabyte RTX2080ti - 3x 43” Panasonic 4k TVs
    Corsair HXi series 1000W 80+ Platinum PSU - 1x500gb & 1x1TB M.2 SSDs. - Reverb G2 VR Headset
    Honeycomb Alpha Yoke - Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Unit - Thrustmaster TPR Rudder Pedals - Saitek Throttles

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Posts
    147

    Default

    The server is in back ground but there is no green icon on bottom of screen

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Near Miss at BUR Today (4/24/10)
    By airfrance in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-24-2010, 08:01 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-16-2009, 12:02 PM
  3. Four things I miss in FSX hobby
    By kmentt in forum FSX
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-18-2007, 05:13 PM
  4. New SGA DC-10! Don't miss it!
    By imported_steve_d in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 08:40 AM
  5. Mixed takeoff screenshots, do not miss it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (10 shots)
    By bofredrik in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-06-2003, 09:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •