Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Doing the best with my computer system

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    .United Kingdom
    Posts
    35

    Smile Doing the best with my computer system

    Hi People,
    I have not posted for along time. I got MSFS as a present from my son and he downloaded it onto my computer as a suprise. I said to him there is no way my computer will run it as it is quite outdated now. I still fly with P3D and it is fine.
    My specs:
    Win 10, I5 3570k oc 4.5ghz, 16mb 1600 ddr3, 7200rpm 1TB drive, EVGA GTX 970, 42" LG television 1920x1080p, 30mbps internet

    To my suprise I am getting fairly good performance, I have settings on low to medium with clouds on high [like my clouds]. What I have done in NVCP, I have set a custom resolution for my desktop 2304x1296, which looks good for my general use and then in the sim I have set my game resolution to
    1843x1036, which is 80 render scaling.
    The resolution is not pin sharp but with the big screen it looks amazing. I am getting a good 30-35 frames per second. but of course if I go to the big cities the frame rates drop to about 20-25. I do most of my flying with the TBM [love that plane] and general GA aircraft.

    I have to say, MSFS has blown me away, yes there are problems, the annoying stutters when coming into land, updates that now when i go into General to change settings when flying the engine cuts out when going back to the flying.
    I am going to upgrade eventually, I am going to get an SSD first and then later on this year I will buy a motherboard combo and then eventually get a new graphics card when the shortages are hopefully over.

    Happy flying to everyone, I have made the best of what I have currently, will still keep experimenting to get the best performance possible.
    So all of you with your mega specs, think about poor old me, Ha!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    113

    Default

    My rig, settings, and thus general performance, is roughly similar to yours. I might suggest an overclock on the CPU and GPU, it seemed to help me smooth out some stutters. Actually, I'm quite curious if your CPU is a bottleneck? The utilization of one of my R3 3100 cores is close to 100%, while my 970 is also at 100%. So it seems like perfectly balanced system, for my configuration.

    I use my native resolution (2560 x 1080), but with a 80% resolution scaling [Yes, yes, some of you will clutch your pearls and won't be able to imagine how I could stand the blurriness. We'll, I don't think it's that bad]. I also like my clouds, so I set that and buildings to high. I don't care much for shadows, so all those settings are turned way down. Rest are generally medium.
    Ryzen 3 3100 @ 4.4 GHz
    16 GB @ 3200 MHz
    GTX 970
    2560 x 1080

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    .United Kingdom
    Posts
    35

    Default Bluriness

    Hi KiloWatt,

    I have my CPU overclocked to 4.5ghz and my GPU to 30% oc. My cores are maxed out and my GPU very close When in heavy urban areas. I set the graphics to keep a constant 30fps if possible. I set in NVCP 31 framerates max and adaptive half refresh rate. No vsync in MSFS.

    When cruising my core 2 is maxed but the other cores vary. GPU is quite constant 75 to 100%.

    Having the big screen makes up for the slight bluriness, my eyes aren't that good these days, everything is now getting blurrier.
    I do use 8x Antilaising and 2x2 Multisampling, makes the runway clearer in the distance and ground textures.

    I cannot go back to P3D now as the MSFS scenery and clouds are brill.
    I am going to get an SSD drive shortly as my HDD drive does chatter alot in heavy scenery. Don't know if this will make a difference, but it will be a start to my upgrade.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Sounds like you are doing well with what you've got on your system. Adjusting your graphics level to medium, more or less, is a good way to compensate for what is a marginal graphics card. I did a build at the end of 2020 to use for Flight Sim. It uses a GTX-1050 graphics card which is maybe slightly stronger than the 970. But I have only tried minor overclocking as I get nervous about temperatures and I don't like to set the fans to max. When I have checked my frame rate it is usually in the mid-20s. So relax and enjoy your flying!
    When you upgrade get a motherboard that can use the m.2 slot for an SSD card. It is even faster than a SATA SSD drive.

    Pat
    system build: Intel I3-10100 on an Asrock mobo. ASUS GTX-1050 graphics. An M.2 500 GB SSD for storage (don't remember the brand)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fireartist View Post
    Hi KiloWatt,

    I have my CPU overclocked to 4.5ghz and my GPU to 30% oc. My cores are maxed out and my GPU very close When in heavy urban areas. I set the graphics to keep a constant 30fps if possible. I set in NVCP 31 framerates max and adaptive half refresh rate. No vsync in MSFS.

    When cruising my core 2 is maxed but the other cores vary. GPU is quite constant 75 to 100%.

    Having the big screen makes up for the slight bluriness, my eyes aren't that good these days, everything is now getting blurrier.
    I do use 8x Antilaising and 2x2 Multisampling, makes the runway clearer in the distance and ground textures.

    I cannot go back to P3D now as the MSFS scenery and clouds are brill.
    I am going to get an SSD drive shortly as my HDD drive does chatter alot in heavy scenery. Don't know if this will make a difference, but it will be a start to my upgrade.
    30% OC on the 970? I believe the core clock on the card is 1315 MHz, which would mean that you achieved about 1710 MHz; does that sound about right? Mine became unstable at around 1515 MHz (which seems to be the average). Did you water-cool that sucker to achieve that?

    I have a 75 Hz monitor, so I aim for 37-38 fps, which I can usually achieve outside of major cities; but that absolutely necessitates 80% resolution scaling on this old card. I also find that it uses 3.5 GB of VRAM pretty much at startup, and will start to use the remaining (and much slower) 0.5 GB if it has to - I'm sure it's a driver optimization thing.

    Quote Originally Posted by Patinthedesert View Post
    It uses a GTX-1050 graphics card which is maybe slightly stronger than the 970.
    Ah, yes. A common misconception, due to the unintuitive naming scheme that Nvidia uses. The opposite is actually true, a 970 is considerably more powerful than a 1050, and even a 1050Ti. In fact, even a GTX770 (my previous GPU) is more powerful than a 1050Ti (which means a 1050ti is slightly below minimum spec). Check it out:

    https://gpu.userbenchmark.com/Compar...-Ti/2577vs3649
    https://gpu.userbenchmark.com/Compar...-Ti/2174vs3649
    Ryzen 3 3100 @ 4.4 GHz
    16 GB @ 3200 MHz
    GTX 970
    2560 x 1080

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-06-2017, 05:10 AM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-06-2008, 06:59 PM
  3. Part 2 of the Great Blue Angels doing there best again !!!!!!
    By Bomby in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 08:58 AM
  4. FFS RV-7 doing what it does best!
    By keaja in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 08:43 AM
  5. J-016 doing what it does best... ~real~
    By dudarf in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-02-2003, 04:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •