Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Discovered a useful trick

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    925
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyJohnJohn View Post
    Why ruin the realism of the sim?
    I get ya I'm all for realism in flight sim, but there is room for fun too...... this came from a mishap with the pause button.... I saw the potential right away for short takeoffs when needed like ditching in a field.... happy landings
    ASRock B550 Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 32GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    XFX RX 5600 XT Thicc III ULTRA-14GBPS 6GB Boost UP to 1750MHz GDDR6 3xDP *Overclocked*
    850W PSU. Samsung 870 EVO 2TB SSD. HP Reverb G2 + Oculus Quest 2
    CH Eclipse Yoke Corsair K60 Keyboard Cherry Mouse

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    milwaukee, wi, us.
    Posts
    157

    Default

    Speaking of realism...

    how about a full throttle rocket lauch of a 787 or A320 from Meigs?

    I'd love to see that video
    Asus Z97-A, Intel I7-4770K, nVidia RTX 3070, 32gb ram(1600), 3 ssd drives -4tb total, 1 nvme ssd (500gb),
    Samsung CH890-34" curved - 3440x1440 monitor, Bose Companion 5 PC speakers

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    925
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stempski View Post
    Speaking of realism...

    how about a full throttle rocket lauch of a 787 or A320 from Meigs?

    I'd love to see that video

    Meigs! those were fun days.... I landed a few 747's there on fumes....... speaking of which is there a new hub like Meigs where everyone meets..... I have my rig and software running sweet now and turned on multiplayer for the first time yesterday....... it's time to start being social again....
    ASRock B550 Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 32GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    XFX RX 5600 XT Thicc III ULTRA-14GBPS 6GB Boost UP to 1750MHz GDDR6 3xDP *Overclocked*
    850W PSU. Samsung 870 EVO 2TB SSD. HP Reverb G2 + Oculus Quest 2
    CH Eclipse Yoke Corsair K60 Keyboard Cherry Mouse

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Aptos, California
    Posts
    342

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daspinall View Post
    Place yourself on a runway set for take-off brakes off.... on the screen menu hit pause, take your engines up to take-off speed and wait a min then hit pause again..... It's like a steam catapult!!!! discovered hit by accident in the TBM tonight.....
    Or you could just set full throttle with the brakes on, wait until all the gauges on the TBM rev up, or whatever, and then release the brakes. Same effect, I think. I watched a YouTube video of a couple of pilots in a real TBM (a 940, as opposed to the 930 in the sim) who took it on a short flight in Florida to demonstrate the newest Garmin 3000, which has autothrottle. Anyway, that's the way they did it. Since watching the video, that's the way I've begun all my takeoffs. Throttle up with the brake on; release; go!
    HP Omen 25L Desktop, Intel i7-1070 CPU, 32 GB DDR RAM, Nvidia 3070 GPU, 1 TB SSD, Logitech flight yoke, throttle quadrant, rudder pedals, multi-panel, radio panel, TrackIR 5

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near KHEG-Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    643

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aptosflier View Post
    Or you could just set full throttle with the brakes on, wait until all the gauges on the TBM rev up, or whatever, and then release the brakes. Same effect, I think. I watched a YouTube video of a couple of pilots in a real TBM (a 940, as opposed to the 930 in the sim) who took it on a short flight in Florida to demonstrate the newest Garmin 3000, which has autothrottle. Anyway, that's the way they did it. Since watching the video, that's the way I've begun all my takeoffs. Throttle up with the brake on; release; go!
    I've done the same thing flying out of KSPG (St. Petersburg FL). Full throttle with the brakes on, then about 5 seconds or so later, release. Very short runway! Of course, it is worth it, the view of the Sunshine Skyway bridge is nice!
    Windows 10 Pro, 32 gigs DDR4 RAM, Nvidia GForce GTX 1660, Intel I7 10700 running at 3.8, with Noctua NH-L9x65, Premium Low-Profile CPU Cooler

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    925
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    I've been on many plane journeys over the years and it's quite normal practice to run up the engines with brakes on, usually short runways and big jets with max takeoff weight.....
    ASRock B550 Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 32GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    XFX RX 5600 XT Thicc III ULTRA-14GBPS 6GB Boost UP to 1750MHz GDDR6 3xDP *Overclocked*
    850W PSU. Samsung 870 EVO 2TB SSD. HP Reverb G2 + Oculus Quest 2
    CH Eclipse Yoke Corsair K60 Keyboard Cherry Mouse

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. A Nice Little UI Sound Trick
    By dglove23 in forum FSX
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-27-2012, 05:09 PM
  2. Opera users beware newly discovered flaw
    By VApilot2004 in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-26-2005, 06:13 PM
  3. Nice aircraft nice weather nice location( nice pilot)=good shots
    By yannickvw in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-15-2002, 06:13 AM
  4. discovered time bug
    By jimmccarthy2 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-25-2002, 02:18 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-21-2002, 07:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •