Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Is this normal 3D off the scale?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    907
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default Is this normal 3D off the scale?

    loaded fs2020 to the opening selection, just a page right, so why is my 3D showing at full blast.... Is this normal or is it a fault? The only thing running on my system in this is FS.......


    ASRock B550 Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 32GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    XFX RX 5600 XT Thicc III ULTRA-14GBPS 6GB Boost UP to 1750MHz GDDR6 3xDP *Overclocked*
    850W PSU
    HP Reverb G2
    CH Eclipse Yoke

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    107

    Default

    I think it's normal. I've tried MSFS on two different computers with different video cards and it always used the GPU at 100%, even in the menu.

    I'm not sure why the game does that. Common sense would suggest that it's not necesarry to ride the GPU that hard in the menu. I suppose Asobo has some optimising to do there. But truth be told, I think they've more important stuff to focus on at the moment...
    Ryzen 3 3100 @ 4.4 GHz
    16 GB @ 3200 MHz
    GTX 970
    2560 x 1080

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    328

    Default

    I read a bunch of GPU threads on reddit and many people reported that 100% usage is normal. So I stopped worrying about it.

    If you use VR, make sure you have updated your settings to the most recent recommendations. For Oculus they have changed since a few months ago. VR works great for me these days with barely any glitches.
    Intel Core i7 10700KF (8-Core 5.1GHz Turbo Boost), RTX 3070 8GB, 32GB Dual Channel at 3200MHz, 512GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD. Monitor: Samsung C49RG9x. VR: Oculus Quest 2.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    907
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Interesting you mention VR..... Later I was monitoring like in the vid above, I unplugged the G2 and right away the 3D graph went right down!!!!!...... Since I bought and used the G2 Oculus quest 2 don't connect to the sim... and my brain has been on holiday from sorting out hardware software problems.......

    I know what I have to do and that's to upgrade the gpu, but try and find one for sale!!! I've kept up to date with Tch Radar on the cards... It seems the reason why there's a drought is down to the boom in Cryptocurrency.... It's worth noting when the gold rush is over the secondhand market will be flooded with cheap high end cards... so there will come a time when we can cherry pick high end cards... in my case the sooner the better!!!!!
    ASRock B550 Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 32GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    XFX RX 5600 XT Thicc III ULTRA-14GBPS 6GB Boost UP to 1750MHz GDDR6 3xDP *Overclocked*
    850W PSU
    HP Reverb G2
    CH Eclipse Yoke

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    907
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    I sit here tapping this out feeling smug, for now..... I've spent months trying to get the sim running smoothly to no avail. It's been one hell of a learning curve and multitudes of headaches resulting in the brain crashing at times! Cut a long story short I always knew my problem came down to the gpu. So I pushed myself into overclocking which has always been a no no for me.. the results were good and pointed to a problem with the XMP which I fixed, that in itself improved the gpu performance, but still there was still something I'm missing I'm still getting random black screen and computer clocking up, Ctrl +Alt +Delete being rendered useless..... Yesterday after much testing my thoughts came round to the Bios, the card has 2 Passive and the full monty... did test between both settings Passive actually produced better results slightly... I watched a YT vid on updating the Bios and by chance the guy just happened to mention make sure you check which RT5600TX manufacturer made you're card, there's MSI ASUS XFX and a few others. DING DONG!! the first time I updated the Bios I'm sure thinking back they probability ASUS, my card is XFX ha what a compleat --- is flash through my mind! As you can see from the new vid below I'm home and dry at last, but not get too close to densely 3D populated areas... as for VR I really do need to upgrade the card and who knows when that will be since you can't get one...... So I've forgiven my self for being a ass hole and settling in for a great weekend in the sim........ the results are phenomenal YEAH!! Happy Flying...


    Last edited by Nels_Anderson; 04-30-2021 at 01:11 PM.
    ASRock B550 Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.79 GHz *Overclocked*
    Corsair 240mm H100i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB Intel/AMD CPU Liquid Cooler
    Corsair DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB 32GB 3600MHz *Overclocked*
    XFX RX 5600 XT Thicc III ULTRA-14GBPS 6GB Boost UP to 1750MHz GDDR6 3xDP *Overclocked*
    850W PSU
    HP Reverb G2
    CH Eclipse Yoke

Similar Threads

  1. Is it just me - or are some aircraft off scale?
    By wjwoodward in forum FS2004
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-19-2012, 02:41 PM
  2. When 3d textures go from normal to blurred out....
    By Qballbandit in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2006, 03:36 PM
  3. flightsim scale vs 3dsmax scale
    By maxv in forum Aircraft Design
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2004, 06:11 PM
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-31-2003, 09:34 PM
  5. Scasm TaxiMarkings scale factor VS APT scale
    By cekko in forum Airport for Windows Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-17-2002, 09:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •