Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Stutters on a new system

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,540

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    It shouldn't do (in theory) but it evidently DOES. I'm currently using a 1920x1080 27" SD monitor with none of the stuttering issues I had with the 3840x2160 28" 4K HD monitor I was using with my GTX 1050 Ti 4Gb GPU. My takeaway is this: HD - AVOID. SD - GOOD.
    Your performance difference was due to the resolution difference, not physical size. A 1080p (which is HD by the way) 50" TV and 24" monitor would have the exact same performance using the same GPU. 4k resolutions, however, require pushing four times the number of pixels as 1080p, which requires significantly more processing power and VRAM. On top of that, a GTX 1050 was never designed to run at 4k, which was the domain of the GTX 1080 (and even then it was still pushing the limit). The GTX 1060 was aimed squarely at the 1080p level, and shouldn't be causing stutters here. Those are likely from settings, add-ons, or maybe something else in the sim.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,909

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loki View Post
    The GTX 1060 was aimed squarely at the 1080p level, and shouldn't be causing stutters here. Those are likely from settings, add-ons, or maybe something else in the sim.
    And if he isn't prepared to compromise on graphics settings, add-ons or anything else, then his monitor is too big and too high resolution.
    Last edited by tiger1962; 04-19-2021 at 04:27 PM.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz OC'd 4.28GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M case, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    82

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    And if he isn't prepared to compromise on graphics settings, add-ons or anything else, then his monitor is too big and too high resolution.
    I have low to medium settings, but even with every sliders at their lowest it stutters.

    I've had this monitor since 2013, and it ran fsx smooth, together with my old i5 3570, nvidia 750 system on w7 64 bit

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-A505FN met Tapatalk

  4. #24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bwoinbeerr View Post
    I have low to medium settings, but even with every sliders at their lowest it stutters.

    I've had this monitor since 2013, and it ran fsx smooth, together with my old i5 3570, nvidia 750 system on w7 64 bit

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-A505FN met Tapatalk
    When it was smooth were you running your iFly?
    Mark Daniels

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    82

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skywatcher12 View Post
    When it was smooth were you running your iFly?
    I did not have the iFly back then, but I did have the Carenado B350, which is a system hog

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-A505FN met Tapatalk

  6. #26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bwoinbeerr View Post
    I did not have the iFly back then, but I did have the Carenado B350, which is a system hog

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-A505FN met Tapatalk
    If you end up doing a reinstall, try what I suggested. You should have a completely smooth vanilla FSX with all settings turned down and no add-ons installed whatsoever.
    As soon as you add just the iFly, even with all settings still down, I expect your stutters will return.

    If you can ever confirm this would be a great help.
    Mark Daniels

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    82

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skywatcher12 View Post
    If you end up doing a reinstall, try what I suggested. You should have a completely smooth vanilla FSX with all settings turned down and no add-ons installed whatsoever.
    As soon as you add just the iFly, even with all settings still down, I expect your stutters will return.

    If you can ever confirm this would be a great help.
    So I have reinstalled a vanilla FSX, and as you say, with no add ons installed, there is no stutter

    As soon as I use payware planes, like the iFly or the Carenado B350i, the stutter is back again. Even if these are
    the only addons installed, so without any AI traffic, extra scenery etc...

    I have noticed something strange though, the stutter only occurs at Dutch airports, the other airports I have tested at (Harrisburg, Copenhagen, Liverpool and many more) do not have any stuttering on the ground, and this even with AI traffic enabled..

    I do have tweaked my cfg, and am using a custom Nvidia Inspector Profile

    Thanks again!

    Bwoinbeerr

  8. #28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bwoinbeerr View Post
    So I have reinstalled a vanilla FSX, and as you say, with no add ons installed, there is no stutter

    As soon as I use payware planes, like the iFly or the Carenado B350i, the stutter is back again. Even if these are
    the only addons installed, so without any AI traffic, extra scenery etc...

    I have noticed something strange though, the stutter only occurs at Dutch airports, the other airports I have tested at (Harrisburg, Copenhagen, Liverpool and many more) do not have any stuttering on the ground, and this even with AI traffic enabled..

    I do have tweaked my cfg, and am using a custom Nvidia Inspector Profile

    Thanks again!

    Bwoinbeerr
    Ok, thanks. FS9 has the same issue. I'm working with a friend to try and resolve it permanently. We are about halfway there.
    Mark Daniels

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. High end System- FSX stutters etc
    By mejjo1989 in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-2017, 01:49 PM
  2. FYI - new pc offers NO STUTTERS or flicker for FSX, full grapics, 60% traffic !!
    By murfman89 in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-09-2012, 07:09 AM
  3. Sorry ..... but stutters again with a top notch system
    By raybirch in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-09-2006, 02:32 PM
  4. new video card better frames but more stutters
    By flightsimmer747 in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-29-2005, 12:56 PM
  5. New install fs2002 stutters Help ?
    By rshaw in forum FS2002
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-04-2002, 05:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •