Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: What is my PC doing?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    328

    Default What is my PC doing?

    I've been patient with MSFS hiccups over time, but the last few days my aggravation level is getting pretty high. When approaching any particular airport, my PC seems to choke up and suddenly fall into some low-performance mode with a lot of stuttering. This is not even for a large metro city, mind you.

    I took a screenshot of Task Manager during one of these moments. Is there any data here that points to the problem? I notice that a few levels are showing up as at or about 100% usage, which seems problematic. Any ideas?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gpu.jpg 
Views:	122 
Size:	171.8 KB 
ID:	226082
    Intel Core i7 10700KF (8-Core 5.1GHz Turbo Boost), RTX 3070 8GB, 32GB Dual Channel at 3200MHz, 512GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD. Monitor: Samsung C49RG9x. VR: Oculus Quest 2.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    South Coast Uk
    Posts
    1,325

    Default

    This is a current known issue and is being reported at several locations around the world. Best to send in a Zendesk report.

    Sent from my SM-T813 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,921

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by neilends View Post
    I notice that a few levels are showing up as at or about 100% usage, which seems problematic. Any ideas?
    I've been having these same issues for weeks now. I finally fixed my i5-7600k CPU and GTX1050Ti 4Gb GPU constantly running at near 100% by swapping my new 4k monitor for my old Acer 27" standard definition monitor. Both CPU and GPU run at around 60% now on the same Medium graphics settings I was using with the 4k monitor.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz OC'd 4.28GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M case, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    South Coast Uk
    Posts
    1,325

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    I've been having these same issues for weeks now. I finally fixed my i5-7600k CPU and GTX1050Ti 4Gb GPU constantly running at near 100% by swapping my new 4k monitor for my old Acer 27" standard definition monitor. Both CPU and GPU run at around 60% now on the same Medium graphics settings I was using with the 4k monitor.
    Out of interest Tim, does it look much worse in non-4k? I don't use a 4k monitor but I have often wondered if there is much benefit.

    Sent from my SM-T813 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,921

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stinger2k2 View Post
    Out of interest Tim, does it look much worse in non-4k? I don't use a 4k monitor but I have often wondered if there is much benefit.

    Sent from my SM-T813 using Tapatalk
    Not to me it doesn't, and I spent 4 years in Art college back in the day, followed by 30 years in graphic design. The pre-set options are VERY good indeed, the sim itself selected Medium for my set-up. The only option I changed was to the Garmin screen refresh rate, from Low to Medium, and my FPS is locked to 20. It does drop to 10 over cities with the occasional stutter, but there are no pauses or repeated stutters/microstutters which were a plague with the 4k monitor. I have VSync On in the sim, with VSync On and Half Refresh Rate in NVidia Control Panel.
    Last edited by tiger1962; 04-11-2021 at 12:17 PM.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz OC'd 4.28GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M case, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    328

    Default

    Appreciate all the responses.

    After some head scratching I figured out that it was actually my VR headset that was causing some weird issues. I dug into some threads with advice and realized that the recommended settings for Oculus 2 have been significantly updated, because of the O2's updates. I was going off of old recommended settings.

    With the new settings, everything's working like a dream again.
    Intel Core i7 10700KF (8-Core 5.1GHz Turbo Boost), RTX 3070 8GB, 32GB Dual Channel at 3200MHz, 512GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD. Monitor: Samsung C49RG9x. VR: Oculus Quest 2.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    303

    Default

    Glad to hear you got it all sorted out - AND happy that it wasn't the sim causing the issues.
    "Don't believe everything you see on the internet." - Abraham Lincoln
    HP Pavilion Desktop [email protected], 16gb RAM, 1TB M.2 SSD, GTX1650 4GB, 200 MBPS internet, 31.5" curved monitor, Logitech yoke and throttle quadrant, TFRP rudder pedals, Grass Monkey Odyssey IR headset, Extreme 3D Pro joystick

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-15-2014, 11:12 PM
  2. My first try at doing a screenshot..
    By davestan_ksan in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 08:37 AM
  3. My PC is doing weird things to me! Please help!
    By woottsbj25 in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-29-2004, 03:00 AM
  4. What is he doing in my T-6??
    By dudarf in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-13-2004, 11:57 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-27-2003, 02:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •