Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Oil pressure woes

  1. #1

    Default Oil pressure woes

    I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but I'm flying the TBM-930 from KSEZ to KBKL for my first night flight (yes, fully loaded with fuel, JUUUUST shy of the max takeoff weight!).

    Not long after climbing to my designated altitude of FL300, the engine suddenly starts revving way down and then I get the oil pressure alert on the CAS...then the pressure drops and so does the oil temp. Prop's still spinning, but no thrust.

    What am I doing wrong? I'm careful not to redline the torque, even when taking off (and that runway was JUST long enough with a full tank!).

    I do understand, though, that the turboprop logic in MSFS is totally screwed up and that Asobo will address that in a later update. Perhaps the modeling is a touch too sensitive/unrealistic to engine performance?
    Ryzen 5 3600 / NVIDIA 3060 Ti Founder's Edition / ASRock B450M Steel Legend Motherboard / 2TB Inland Premium TLC NVMe SSD / 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM / Monitor: Monoprice Zero-G 35" UWQHD (3440x1440 Ultrawide)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    18,287

    Default

    Do you use any kind of throttle assy with your yoke/joystick? Any chance you have a lever for mixture, even though the TBM is a turboprop and doesn't use a mixture control? Sounds like a fuel cutoff problem.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  3. #3

    Default

    Yeah, I have a CH Products Pro Throttle, but I've done a few flights now with it and didn't really have this problem. I mean, I did have an oil pressure failure once before, but I thought that was probably because I redlined the torque a little too much. I was trying to follow the PoH of throttle recommendations before I learned the turboprop logic in this game is completely borked.

    Only other problem was cabin pressure, but I learned how to fix that pretty quickly in mid-flight (dumping bleed).

    Can't think of any other reason for oil pressure failure, except maybe I set it in summer? The OAT was below 0, so I doubt that.

    I do have mixture assigned to a paddle axis on my joystick, but I can verify it does nothing with the TBM-930, and rightfully so.

    Also, how does fuel cutoff affect oil pressure?
    Last edited by CLE_GrummanTiger; 04-07-2021 at 03:58 PM. Reason: Added question at end
    Ryzen 5 3600 / NVIDIA 3060 Ti Founder's Edition / ASRock B450M Steel Legend Motherboard / 2TB Inland Premium TLC NVMe SSD / 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM / Monitor: Monoprice Zero-G 35" UWQHD (3440x1440 Ultrawide)

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CLE_GrummanTiger View Post
    I'm careful not to redline the torque, even when taking off (and that runway was JUST long enough with a full tank!).
    How about prop rpm during cruise?
    Was that kept within reason?
    i7-10700K, ASUS Prime Z490-P motherboard, 32 gig, GTX 1080 Ti, 1TB M2 drive, Thrustmaster T16000M, Logitech Rudder Pedals , xbox controller.

  5. #5

    Default

    That’s automatically tied into the throttle. Always at 2000 during flight.

  6. #6

    Default

    In the real world a TBM, probably couldn't get up to FL30 unless it had used up a lot of its fuel. Maybe try using step altitudes as they do IRL.
    i7-10700K, ASUS Prime Z490-P motherboard, 32 gig, GTX 1080 Ti, 1TB M2 drive, Thrustmaster T16000M, Logitech Rudder Pedals , xbox controller.

  7. #7

    Default

    There is a TBM "Mod" somewhere on the official forum did you try that?

    I tried flying the TBM once (without the mod) but the handling was so unrealistic I went back to flying my FS9 vintage SF-260.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,815

    Default

    The TBM Improvement Mod is available at flightsim.to: https://flightsim.to/file/8288/tbm930-improvement-mod
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz OC'd 4.28GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 32Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M case, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k, Win 10 Pro x64

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    18,287

    Default

    As to his response on the "other" site, it had to do with mixture being tied in to his throttle lever(s) and fuel cutoff!
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  10. #10

    Default

    I do have the TBM mod installed, yes. And yes, on the "other" site I mentioned that I read up a bit more about it and found out that if I have mixture mapped to a controller button or axis, that it apparently cuts off the fuel if I have the mixture set to cutoff, despite the fact that we're not supposed to be able to control it. It's weird, though, because the problem doesn't occur every time I fly it.

    Chalk it up to a quirk of the programming within MSFS.

    I'm moving on to the CJ4 now, and I think that's going to be my plane of choice for a majority of the flying.

    I do want to fly the Pitts or Extra through a valley at high speed, though, just for the heck of it, but fear my PC will start smoking from the extra workload.
    Ryzen 5 3600 / NVIDIA 3060 Ti Founder's Edition / ASRock B450M Steel Legend Motherboard / 2TB Inland Premium TLC NVMe SSD / 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM / Monitor: Monoprice Zero-G 35" UWQHD (3440x1440 Ultrawide)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Ambient Pressure vs. Barometer Pressure [FS 2004]
    By b3burner in forum Panel & Gauge Design
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-30-2012, 05:44 AM
  2. "oil pressure rising" "19 percent"
    By vando99 in forum DreamFleet 727 Support Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-23-2004, 09:01 PM
  3. Oil Pressure Nil
    By bartman in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2003, 02:12 PM
  4. Question about oil pressure:
    By Ace_Chaplan in forum FS2002
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-05-2002, 11:56 PM
  5. oil pressure low warning
    By sannu in forum FS2000
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-06-2002, 06:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •