Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Will this Suffice for FS2020 High Settings?

  1. #1

    Default Will this Suffice for FS2020 High Settings?

    Looking into buying a new computer for Flight Simulator 2020
    Stumbled on this particular computer for about 1,500.

    I would like to know people's opinion on what type of performance can I expect before purchasing this computer and for the hardware included is it worth the price.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_20210304-133257_Chrome.jpg 
Views:	44 
Size:	237.6 KB 
ID:	225645
    Last edited by Garciamk3g; 03-04-2021 at 01:40 PM.
    Intel i7 10700k 32gb 3600mhz RAM XMP Enabled 4GB Nvidia GTX970 Samsung 970 Evo NvMe 500GB 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD Sim Platform FS2004-FSX Aunque tengo ambos FSX......FS2004 siempre será el número uno para mi. Espero que disfruten las capturas de pantalla.

  2. #2

    Default

    It's not a bad PC, but what really matters is the monitor you're using. What resolution and refresh rate is it? That will tell us if the PC you're eyeing will be sufficient for high settings.
    Ryzen 5 3600 / NVIDIA 3060 Ti Founder's Edition / ASRock B450M Steel Legend Motherboard / 2TB Inland Premium TLC NVMe SSD / 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM / Monitor: Monoprice Zero-G 35" UWQHD (3440x1440 Ultrawide)

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CLE_GrummanTiger View Post
    It's not a bad PC, but what really matters is the monitor you're using. What resolution and refresh rate is it? That will tell us if the PC you're eyeing will be sufficient for high settings.
    Currently Running 3 VA24EHEY 24" 1920x1080 Monitors and only one will be running FS2020 as I Normally don't Fly on all 3 monitors.

    ASUS VA24EHE Eye Care Monitor – 23.8 inch, Full HD, IPS, Frameless, 75Hz, Adaptive-
    23.8-inch Full HD (1920x1080) LED backlight display with IPS 178° wide viewing angle panel

    Up to 75Hz refresh rate with Adaptive-Sync/FreeSync™ technology to eliminate tracing and ensure crisp and clear video playback


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	123.jpg 
Views:	39 
Size:	362.2 KB 
ID:	225648
    Last edited by Garciamk3g; 03-04-2021 at 02:14 PM.
    Intel i7 10700k 32gb 3600mhz RAM XMP Enabled 4GB Nvidia GTX970 Samsung 970 Evo NvMe 500GB 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD Sim Platform FS2004-FSX Aunque tengo ambos FSX......FS2004 siempre será el número uno para mi. Espero que disfruten las capturas de pantalla.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garciamk3g View Post
    Currently Running 3 VA24EHEY 24" 1920x1080 Monitors and only one will be running FS2020 as I Normally don't Fly on all 3 monitors.

    ASUS VA24EHE Eye Care Monitor – 23.8 inch, Full HD, IPS, Frameless, 75Hz, Adaptive-
    23.8-inch Full HD (1920x1080) LED backlight display with IPS 178° wide viewing angle panel

    Up to 75Hz refresh rate with Adaptive-Sync/FreeSync™ technology to eliminate tracing and ensure crisp and clear video playback


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	123.jpg 
Views:	39 
Size:	362.2 KB 
ID:	225648
    If you're only running it on one monitor, then you're fine, but I wouldn't be sure you can run it at high settings. Medium, for sure, but high might be pushing it a bit.

    With 3 monitors, you're ripe for some seriously immersive flying! Why not use all three? For about the same money or maybe slightly more, you can get a PC with much newer (read: better) video cards. At least go for a PC using either an NVIDIA 3000-series video card or AMD's Radeon 6000-series. That's what I would do in your shoes. Look at Newegg.com or microcenter.com for some nice prebuilt ones. They usually offer far more selection and better bang for your buck.
    Ryzen 5 3600 / NVIDIA 3060 Ti Founder's Edition / ASRock B450M Steel Legend Motherboard / 2TB Inland Premium TLC NVMe SSD / 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM / Monitor: Monoprice Zero-G 35" UWQHD (3440x1440 Ultrawide)

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CLE_GrummanTiger View Post
    If you're only running it on one monitor, then you're fine, but I wouldn't be sure you can run it at high settings. Medium, for sure, but high might be pushing it a bit.

    With 3 monitors, you're ripe for some seriously immersive flying! Why not use all three? For about the same money or maybe slightly more, you can get a PC with much newer (read: better) video cards. At least go for a PC using either an NVIDIA 3000-series video card or AMD's Radeon 6000-series. That's what I would do in your shoes. Look at Newegg.com or microcenter.com for some nice prebuilt ones. They usually offer far more selection and better bang for your buck.

    I'm KINDA of on a tight budget so I was planning to take advantage of the Lease to own Program that Best Buy has to offer and thought perhaps the hardware on the PC above would do well with FS2020, at least on High settings.

    I'm currently runing MSFS 2020 on my current PC, (Spec's below) on medium settings and although its a bit stuttery, suprisingly it's not too bad on low density areas and Still Flyable on high density areas.

    So I thought perhaps the computer above (having much better Hardware) would run it really well on high settings.
    Last edited by Garciamk3g; 03-04-2021 at 04:05 PM.
    Intel i7 10700k 32gb 3600mhz RAM XMP Enabled 4GB Nvidia GTX970 Samsung 970 Evo NvMe 500GB 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD Sim Platform FS2004-FSX Aunque tengo ambos FSX......FS2004 siempre será el número uno para mi. Espero que disfruten las capturas de pantalla.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garciamk3g View Post
    I'm KINDA of on a tight budget so I was planning to take advantage of the Lease to own Program that Best Buy has to offer and thought perhaps the hardware on the PC above would do well with FS2020, at least on High settings.

    I'm currently runing MSFS 2020 on my current PC, (Spec's below) on medium settings and although its a bit stuttery, suprisingly it's not too bad on low density areas and Still Flyable on high density areas.

    So I thought perhaps the computer above (having much better Hardware) would run it really well on high settings.
    I can understand your desire to upgrade to a newer and better-performing PC. The one you have is definitely decent, but not enough if you want an improved graphical experience.

    It's a bad time to do it with the extreme semiconductor shortage and sky-high demand, but building a PC will offer you the best bang for your buck if you can wait for the market to normalize (which, I admit, could be a long time).

    If you're willing to spend a little bit more, this PC offers you everything you could want for MSFS2020:
    https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/desk...FTGswAodXrMKmg
    Ryzen 5 3600 / NVIDIA 3060 Ti Founder's Edition / ASRock B450M Steel Legend Motherboard / 2TB Inland Premium TLC NVMe SSD / 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM / Monitor: Monoprice Zero-G 35" UWQHD (3440x1440 Ultrawide)

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CLE_GrummanTiger View Post
    I can understand your desire to upgrade to a newer and better-performing PC. The one you have is definitely decent, but not enough if you want an improved graphical experience.

    It's a bad time to do it with the extreme semiconductor shortage and sky-high demand, but building a PC will offer you the best bang for your buck if you can wait for the market to normalize (which, I admit, could be a long time).

    If you're willing to spend a little bit more, this PC offers you everything you could want for MSFS2020:
    https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/desk...FTGswAodXrMKmg
    Thanks for taking the time to help me out, guess I'll end up waiting a bit longer see if I can save up enough to get a better build.
    Intel i7 10700k 32gb 3600mhz RAM XMP Enabled 4GB Nvidia GTX970 Samsung 970 Evo NvMe 500GB 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD Sim Platform FS2004-FSX Aunque tengo ambos FSX......FS2004 siempre será el número uno para mi. Espero que disfruten las capturas de pantalla.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    29

    Default

    If you are running it on one 1080 monitor, it should be good. Whether all settings at high will run with a decent refresh rate, I'm not sure.
    The problem with going to any higher-end graphics is 2 issues. One they are expensive and not likely to be discounted. Second, they are all out of stock, due to the demand from all the bitcoin-mining rigs being set up.
    My current setup is about like your current rig. With a GTX-1050 for the graphics. I run at medium-level settings except a couple at high for ground details.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Halifax
    Posts
    84

    Default

    I suppose it depends on your expectations. I think if you're ok with a reasonable (but not extraordinary) frame rate boost and most settings on high, then I think you'll be happy.

    On the other hand, if you were expecting 60 fps in New York, perhaps not.

    I'm reasonably happy with my system, also using a 970 (which I overclocked the snot out of). But I Fly GA in northern Canada and I'm happy with 30 fps.

    But these 970s are now hanging on by a thread. The newer cards are much more advanced...

Similar Threads

  1. Advice - Getting back into FSX, will this set up suffice?
    By igford in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-24-2016, 02:57 AM
  2. Idle to high, high N1 idle values
    By rforst in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-22-2015, 05:17 PM
  3. Flying high, high, I'm a bird in the sky...
    By DominicS in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-09-2014, 10:06 PM
  4. How high is Ultra High?
    By georgetyrrell in forum FSX
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-25-2013, 07:45 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-01-2004, 06:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •