Is this an error

jparnold

The Nov/Dec issue of PC Pilot (the latest available in Australia) has an article on the A320 family which ends with a description of the flight plan for the YMML (Melbourne) to YSSY (Sydney) route, described as a busy route, which states (for the arrival into YSSY) -

"Hence the SIDs will only take you so far before ATC will vector you to the relevant ILS final approach fix. The typical SID for arrivals from the south are to track to RIVET or TAMMI intersections....." - highlighting by me not in the article.

I am only a beginner but I thought STARs were used for arrival at an airport not SIDs.

Is it an error or am I missing something?

John

Gigabyte Z390 UD Intel Core i7-9700K 3.60 Ghz Dual 16Gb DDR4 2666

Gigabyte RTX2060 OC 6GB 2 X 256MB SSD drives 1 X 500GB HDD

Windows 10 64bit Home Logitech Extreme 3D Pro joystick

The Nov/Dec issue of PC Pilot (the latest available in Australia) has an article on the A320 family which ends with a description of the flight plan for the YMML (Melbourne) to YSSY (Sydney) route, described as a busy route, which states (for the arrival into YSSY) -

"Hence the SIDs will only take you so far before ATC will vector you to the relevant ILS final approach fix. The typical SID for arrivals from the south are to track to RIVET or TAMMI intersections....." - highlighting by me not in the article.

I am only a beginner but I thought STARs were used for arrival at an airport not SIDs.

Is it an error or am I missing something?

Standard Terminal Arrival = STAR

Standard Instrument Departure = SID

A Standard Instrument Departure Route (SID) is a standard ATS route identified in an instrument departure procedure by which aircraft should proceed from take-off phase to the en-route phase.

A Standard Arrival Route (STAR) is a standard ATS route identified in an approach procedure by which aircraft should proceed from the en-route phase to an initial approach fix.