Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Older plane, contact points, FSX

  1. #1

    Default Older plane, contact points, FSX

    Hello everyone,
    This is an old topic discussed many times before, but this matter is not quite clear to me as I am very likely interpreting contact point numbers incorrectly or not quite understanding what does what and was written on this topic so far. What I am trying to do is to tweak contact points for Eric Cantu's B732 to make it sit on the ground a bit more leveled instead of dipping forward. Is there a way to "compress" the main gear a bit more?
    Thank you!
    Regards
    Rafal

  2. #2

    Default

    Please have a read through this thread. https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showt...Landing-lights
    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  3. #3

    Default

    Thank you CRJ_, I will give it a try


    Quote Originally Posted by CRJ_simpilot View Post
    Please have a read through this thread. https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showt...Landing-lights

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    7,281

    Default FDE Update

    Try this: https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/fslib...ight&fid=92149

    It is an 'update' of the aircraft cfg (including contact points). You will notice the compression values have been changed as is the position of the nose gear. I don't have this model so can't test it for you. But the changes make sense to me. You can save your aircraft cfg BEFORE you make any changes. You can put '//' in front of lines of the (contact points) section (Sim will ignore anything after '//') and then copy the new contact point then paste to aircraft cfg - then do a SAVE and you are done. Go try. Let us know if this helped.
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  5. #5

    Default FDE Update

    Great suggestion, thank you Chuck,
    I will definitely check what this tweaked .cfg file does and let you know.
    Best
    Rafal

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8,095
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    make a backup copy of the original aircraft.cfg file before you start.

    (and if not done yet, make a backup copy of the complete fsx folder. (the whole 15Gb I mean). You'll be glad you did, because the day will come that you accidentally delete a default file.)

    (It is not possible to copy original files from the Fsx Disks. And using the repair option will often 'fix' more files then just the one you wanted back. So a backup is needed.)
    Last edited by il88pp; 03-02-2021 at 09:10 PM.

  7. #7

    Default

    Good point...thank you. I should do that too. I remember well my frustrations and all that time it took to restore fs9 + addons many years ago!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 47
    Last Post: 01-03-2014, 04:55 AM
  2. Older simmer, even older system!
    By appliedsol in forum Newcomer Services
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-29-2013, 03:45 PM
  3. Contact points
    By sputman in forum FS2002
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2002, 08:02 PM
  4. Contact Points
    By Shibinik in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-27-2002, 09:14 AM
  5. Changing Float Contact Points...
    By hewitsd in forum FS2002
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-15-2002, 09:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •