Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Higher gpu usage after update.

  1. #1

    Default Higher gpu usage after update.

    For me the sim is running good after the UK update. It seems to be very smooth, not perfect, but close. I haven't changed any settings. But I checked my system performance, and my gpu is now being used at 100%. Before the update, it was only being used at 80%. My CPU usage is 24%. I have a 2070 and a Intel 10980.
    I guess this also means, that gpu is a lot more important,for the sim than, CPU.
    I'm wondering, if anyone else has noticed a increase in gpu usage, after the update?
    Last edited by shb7; 02-22-2021 at 11:21 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    Will probably only get higher after each update. Look what they do to the sim with each world update. Its like a totally new sim.
    Thermaltake Ryzen Gen 9 3900x 12 cores, 4.6 ghz 32 gig of Ram, Liquid Cooled Everything.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyJohnJohn View Post
    Will probably only get higher after each update. Look what they do to the sim with each world update. Its like a totally new sim.
    Mine can't get any higher, because it's at 100%!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shb7 View Post
    Mine can't get any higher, because it's at 100%!
    Yup, mine too. I'm even spanking mine with an overclock thats just about stable.

  5. #5

    Default increased GPU usage

    Are you flying in the areas around the UK with the upgraded locations and scenery, or other places? I could see if it was chewing on the greater detail that would increase the graphics usage. If you are in other areas then it suggests other parts of the sim were upgraded. I did not see where they were saying the main sim engine got changes.

    Pat

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patinthedesert View Post
    Are you flying in the areas around the UK with the upgraded locations and scenery, or other places? I could see if it was chewing on the greater detail that would increase the graphics usage. If you are in other areas then it suggests other parts of the sim were upgraded. I did not see where they were saying the main sim engine got changes.

    Pat
    No, I was flying in the United States. I haven't tried UK since the update.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    East Texas, USA.
    Posts
    1,168

    Default

    Flying my standardized route KFMZ to KOLU in the Diamond 40 NG cruising at 4,500',
    my CPU usage has increased slightly after the UK update from 22-23% before to about 25-27% after.
    That increases as the aircraft gets near the ground up to ~37% at 500'.
    I don't have live weather and that is in clear skies.
    My ground traffic is minimal and I use live traffic for aircraft.
    My GPU usage seems unchanged at about 51-56%. I did see that increase earlier as my original GPU usage was about 42% back in September (the first time i checked it).
    Last edited by plainsman; 02-23-2021 at 09:14 AM.
    I7-9700K, RTX-2070, Asus Strix Z-390-H MB, 32gb G Skill 3000 CL15, Corsair Obsidian 750D case, WD Black 1tb M.2, Crucial CT500MX SSD, Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium PSU

  8. #8

    Default

    I'll have to test mine at higher altitudes. I didn't think of that. I've been flying low at 3,000 feet.

  9. #9

    Default

    I found that altitude doesn't effect gpu usage at all. Even when I was at 40,000 feet, and the scenery was like a still picture, gpu was still at 100%. Sim rate didn't effect it either.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    East Texas, USA.
    Posts
    1,168

    Default

    Altitude does affect CPU usage if you are below 100%.
    Do you run live weather? What is your ground traffic setting? Do you have addon modules?
    I am trying to understand why your CPU usage is so high? Mine is much lower.
    I7-9700K, RTX-2070, Asus Strix Z-390-H MB, 32gb G Skill 3000 CL15, Corsair Obsidian 750D case, WD Black 1tb M.2, Crucial CT500MX SSD, Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium PSU

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Huge stutters / low GPU after time or month change
    By guzler in forum Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-22-2020, 05:06 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-17-2013, 04:32 PM
  3. FSX Graphics Problem after new GPU
    By dbroerse in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-11-2013, 12:39 PM
  4. CPU usage And PF usage
    By hprass in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-19-2006, 06:34 AM
  5. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-18-2005, 01:32 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •