Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Slew You

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8,055
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Other basic question. Are you sure the joystick is plugged in? (we've all been there)

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    767

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lnuss View Post
    In my Standard.xml file for my rudder pedals:

    <SimControls.Map>
    <Name>Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals SLEW {5B5F8A70-D33D-11E2-8001-444553540000}</Name>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>XAxis</AxName>
    <Index>0</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_SLEW_SIDEWAYS_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>127</AxScale>
    <AxNull>5</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>YAxis</AxName>
    <Index>1</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_SLEW_AHEAD_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>127</AxScale>
    <AxNull>4</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>RzAxis</AxName>
    <Index>5</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_SLEW_HEADING_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>126</AxScale>
    <AxNull>11</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Entry>
    <Index>0</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_RESET</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>1</Index>
    <Down>VIEW_MODE</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>2</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_ALTIT_PLUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>3</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_ALTIT_MINUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>4</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_PITCH_PLUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>5</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_PITCH_MINUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>6</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_BANK_MINUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>7</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_BANK_PLUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>8</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_FREEZE</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>9</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_RESET</Down>
    </Entry>
    <POV>
    <Index>0</Index>
    <Down>PAN_VIEW</Down>
    <DownRpt>1</DownRpt>
    </POV>
    </SimControls.Map>
    =====================================
    And for my joystick:

    <SimControls.Map>
    <Name>Joystick - HOTAS Warthog SLEW {871032F0-1B8D-11E1-8001-444553540000}</Name>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>XAxis</AxName>
    <Index>0</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_SLEW_SIDEWAYS_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>64</AxScale>
    <AxNull>36</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>YAxis</AxName>
    <Index>1</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_SLEW_AHEAD_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>64</AxScale>
    <AxNull>36</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>RxAxis</AxName>
    <Index>3</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_SLEW_HEADING_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>127</AxScale>
    <AxNull>1</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Entry>
    <Index>0</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_RESET</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>1</Index>
    <Down>VIEW_MODE</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>2</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_ALTIT_PLUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>3</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_ALTIT_MINUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>4</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_PITCH_PLUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>5</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_PITCH_MINUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>6</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_BANK_MINUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>7</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_BANK_PLUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>8</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_FREEZE</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>9</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_RESET</Down>
    </Entry>
    <POV>
    <Index>0</Index>
    <Down>PAN_VIEW</Down>
    <DownRpt>1</DownRpt>
    </POV>
    </SimControls.Map>

    That may not exactly give what you want, but it's something to work with.

    I see the indentations don't take in this post, but they're strictly visual and don't affect the code itself.
    I have saved a copy of my existing Standard SME file in a separate directory on C drive. After some searching, I have located the section of my XME file that relates to the Joystick. (Since I don't use Rudder Pedals, I take it I can ignore the Rudder Pedals information you have sent here.)

    My joystick (Logitech) is listed on the first line. I gather HOTAS Warthog is the name of your joystick so I will proceed with my joystick name rather than yours (obviously).

    Thing is - I'm not sure what to do now. Should I replace all of the wording relative to my joystick in my XME file, with the wording you have provided to me? Should I ignore the Rudder Pedals data, since I don't use Rudder Pedals?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    767

    Default

    Here's what I have in my XME file relative to the joystick:

    <SimControls.Map>
    <Name>Logitech Extreme 3D{439EDA30-8B52-11E3-8001-444553540000}</Name>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>XAxis</AxName>
    <Index>0</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_AILERONS_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>34</AxScale>
    <AxNull>1</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>YAxis</AxName>
    <Index>1</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_ELEVATOR_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>34</AxScale>
    <AxNull>1</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>RzAxis</AxName>
    <Index>5</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_RUDDER_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>1</AxScale>
    <AxNull>1</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>Slider</AxName>
    <Index>6</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_THROTTLE_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>127</AxScale>
    <AxNull>1</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Entry>
    <Index>0</Index>
    <Down>BRAKES</Down>
    <DownRpt>2</DownRpt>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>1</Index>
    <Down>VIEW_MODE</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>2</Index>
    <Down>ELEV_TRIM_DN</Down>
    <DownRpt>2</DownRpt>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>3</Index>
    <Down>ELEV_TRIM_UP</Down>
    <DownRpt>2</DownRpt>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>6</Index>
    <Down>RELEASE_DROPPABLE_OBJECTS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>7</Index>
    <Down>GEAR_TOGGLE</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>8</Index>
    <Down>VIEW_MODE</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>9</Index>
    <Down>GEAR_TOGGLE</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>10</Index>
    <Down>FLAPS_DECR</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>11</Index>
    <Down>FLAPS_INCR</Down>
    </Entry>
    <POV>
    <Index>0</Index>
    <Down>PAN_VIEW</Down>
    <DownRpt>2</DownRpt>
    </POV>
    </SimControls.Map>
    <SimControls.Map>
    <Name>Logitech Extreme 3D SLEW {439EDA30-8B52-11E3-8001-444553540000}</Name>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>XAxis</AxName>
    <Index>0</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_SLEW_SIDEWAYS_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>34</AxScale>
    <AxNull>1</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>YAxis</AxName>
    <Index>1</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_SLEW_AHEAD_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>34</AxScale>
    <AxNull>1</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Axis>
    <AxName>RzAxis</AxName>
    <Index>5</Index>
    <AxEvent>AXIS_SLEW_HEADING_SET</AxEvent>
    <AxScale>1</AxScale>
    <AxNull>1</AxNull>
    </Axis>
    <Entry>
    <Index>0</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_RESET</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>1</Index>
    <Down>VIEW_MODE</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>2</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_ALTIT_PLUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>3</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_ALTIT_MINUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>4</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_PITCH_PLUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>5</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_PITCH_MINUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>6</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_BANK_MINUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>7</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_BANK_PLUS</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>8</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_FREEZE</Down>
    </Entry>
    <Entry>
    <Index>9</Index>
    <Down>SLEW_RESET</Down>
    </Entry>
    <POV>
    <Index>0</Index>
    <Down>PAN_VIEW</Down>
    <DownRpt>1</DownRpt>
    </POV>
    </SimControls.Map>
    </SimBase.Document>

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    767

    Default

    Well, now it seems that all of my Slew commands work just fine from the KEYBOARD. But not from the joystick. ???

  5. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pdmike View Post
    Well, now it seems that all of my Slew commands work just fine from the KEYBOARD. But not from the joystick. ???
    You were asked if you might have switched the joystick off? You haven't replied? If you have, switch it back on.
    If not, check the Slew allocations assigned to the joystick.

  6. #16

    Default

    I've used nothing but the keyboard to slew. I either use the NUM pad or the arrow keys. And the NUM pad operates in two ways, too. Pressing NUM Lock will allow for certain things while pressing NUM Lock again will allow for others. I don't remember which did which now.

    I think your issue here is the joystick and its assignments. Out of curiosity, if you cycle the NUM Lock key and try your joystick, does that fix the issue?

    If I remember right, I had this issue, but it was due to those pesky brakes. It's been a long time (years) but I seem to remember that keeping me from slewing. You wouldn't think so though. Or perhaps it was due to something else or just a one off I have yet to understand. What ever the case may be I had the issue in the past and managed to fix it.
    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    767

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mallcott View Post
    You were asked if you might have switched the joystick off? You haven't replied? If you have, switch it back on.
    If not, check the Slew allocations assigned to the joystick.
    I have never knowingly switched the joystick off.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8,055
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    This:
    Quote Originally Posted by il88pp View Post
    Other basic question. Are you sure the joystick is plugged in? (we've all been there)

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    767

    Default

    Problem solved! Slew now works on both the Keyboard and the Joystick. I can slew in all directions, up, down, sideways and in your hat. Don't ask me why, all of a sudden, it started to work. It sure wasn't working before.

    I suspect the Slew Gremlin saw us nosing around and decided to abandon his project. Anyway, all is good in the Slew Dept.

    Thanks to all of you who pitched in here.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Westminster, CO
    Posts
    7,394

    Default

    Glad you got it working. Enjoy.

    Larry N.

    As Skylab would say:
    Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. When you realize you have the space you wish you had.
    By EberKain in forum Cockpit Builders
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-11-2017, 03:47 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-21-2012, 07:20 PM
  3. Can you slew?
    By solwell in forum Microsoft Flight
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-04-2012, 04:07 PM
  4. Piling thru the terminal after slew
    By RickTaylor in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-19-2002, 11:00 PM
  5. Slew Speed
    By mkschad in forum FS2002
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-01-2002, 11:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •