Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Joystick is wonky and making MSFS unplayable!

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lake Buena Vista, FL
    Posts
    606

    Default

    I had the old MS Sidewinder 2 FFB joystick and used it for a good 4 months before I got the Honeycomb Alpha yoke.

    The stick worked just fine for me after I mapped out the controls which was a royal pain in the ass.

    Have you recalibrated your stick for your computer?
    ....Signature not required for delivery....
    **i7-9700k @ 3.60GHz, GeForce RTX 2070 Super, ROG Strix Z390-E, 32gb G Skill 3200 C16, 1 TB Pcie SSD, 850w Power**
    **Honeycomb Alpha Yoke, Logitech Throttle, Logitech Pedals**

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    342

    Default

    I also use a Thrustmaster though I think it's a different model than the others. Like them though, it works great. Currently $160 on Amazon though I think I got mine for $130.

    https://www.amazon.com/Thrustmaster-...3142624&sr=8-2
    Intel Core i7 10700KF (8-Core 5.1GHz Turbo Boost), RTX 3070 8GB, 32GB Dual Channel at 3200MHz, 512GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD. Monitor: Samsung C49RG9x. VR: Oculus Quest 2.

  3. #13

    Default MS FFB 2 and MSFS 2020

    I use also a FFB2 joystick. No problems with MSFS2020. My joystick was recognized.
    But don't use the standard FFB in the program. It is no good.

    Make sure the joystick is configured in windows properly.
    Download Airforceplayer (beta)
    Replace the simconnect xml or alter the simconnect xml file with the appropriate lines for the airforceplayer.

    Should work, have fun.

    The FFB 2 is a real good joystick, don't replace it.

    Waviateur

  4. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by waviateur View Post
    I use also a FFB2 joystick. No problems with MSFS2020. My joystick was recognized.
    But don't use the standard FFB in the program. It is no good.

    Make sure the joystick is configured in windows properly.
    Download Airforceplayer (beta)
    Replace the simconnect xml or alter the simconnect xml file with the appropriate lines for the airforceplayer.

    Should work, have fun.

    The FFB 2 is a real good joystick, don't replace it.

    Waviateur
    Did all of that and it's still no good. Did you have to adjust sensitivity/reactivity settings? I don't know what I'm not doing right. Hopefully Microsoft will issue a fix because it seems to be a widespread issue. Did they release any kind of statement?

  5. Default

    I FINALLY FIGURED IT OUT!

    I feel like an idiot, but I used the wrong bindings! I was supposed to assign the AXIS bindings instead of the SURFACE bindings! (Surface being "Rudder Left" or "Elevator Up", etc). I simply cleared out the wrong bindings, scanned the axis bindings to to the appropriate joystick axis and presto! It worked!

    This little post on reddit solved it for me: https://www.reddit.com/r/flightsim/c...ue_for_fs2020/

    I KNEW it had to be something so simple, but obviously a lot of people are having the same problem I did.

    If you're one of them, here's the...

    TL;DR

    Bind your joystick axis to the AXIS controls and not the surface controls and your joystick will work as it's supposed to.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    7,281

    Default Sensetivity Settings

    Here is a pic of the 'best' settings for the joy sensitivities. Notice there is '0' dead zone(s). And you don't WANT more then 19% sens. Hope this helps.
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  7. #17

    Default

    I have a CHpro yoke and pedals and I have the same problem. The sim for me is unusable.
    I've had all the flight sims since FS95 and have never had this control problem.

  8. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by napamule2 View Post
    you don't WANT more then 19% sens. Hope this helps.
    I set my sensitivity to 60% and from reading other posts, I believe most others here are doing about the same. How did you come up with 19%?
    i7-10700K, ASUS Prime Z490-P motherboard, 32 gig, GTX 1080 Ti, 1TB M2 drive, Thrustmaster T16000M, Logitech Rudder Pedals , xbox controller.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    UK North East
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Options/Controls/Miscellaneous. Check on the Flight Model box and it'll show what you are set on. If it's not Modern just click on the arrow to change it, Save your changes and try again.

    Another idea - try going to your joystick manufacturers website to see if there are any updated drivers specific for whatever Windows version you're using.

  10. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by terrylawdinn View Post
    Options/Controls/Miscellaneous. Check on the Flight Model box and it'll show what you are set on. If it's not Modern just click on the arrow to change it, Save your changes and try again.

    Another idea - try going to your joystick manufacturers website to see if there are any updated drivers specific for whatever Windows version you're using.
    Thanks, but I already resolved the issue. I apparently wasn't supposed to bind the joystick movements to left/right or up/down but the axis. Poor interface on Asobo's part.
    Ryzen 5 5600x / NVIDIA 3060 Ti Founder's Edition / ASRock B450M Steel Legend Motherboard / 2TB Inland Premium TLC NVMe SSD / 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM / Monitor: Monoprice Zero-G 35" UWQHD (3440x1440 Ultrawide)

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Wonky Camera Views?
    By SAM Hunter in forum Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2020, 03:02 AM
  2. Wonky ATC ?
    By gypsymoth in forum FS2004
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-17-2019, 05:15 PM
  3. Fsx lagging. Unplayable
    By rastavriend in forum FSX
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 01-03-2019, 03:13 AM
  4. FSX has unplayable lag on medium/high graphic settings?
    By ThRyCkz in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-01-2013, 10:48 PM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-11-2013, 01:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •