Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Upgrade question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    near eddk
    Posts
    73

    Default Upgrade question

    Hi all,

    I`m planning to leave FSX and jump onto P3Dv4.5
    V5 is not possible because my present pc cannot handle them.

    I have 3 SSD´s in my pc: 250GB for Win10/64, 500GB for FSX, 500GB free for V4.5

    Do I have the freedom to install 4.5 where I would to have them, or does he install where he it want, like on C: drive??

    Tks for any answer

    Peter
    Ancient [email protected], 24gb ram, 250gb ssd win10/64, 500gb ssd fsx, 500gb ssd p3d v3.4

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwi View Post
    Hi all,

    I`m planning to leave FSX and jump onto P3Dv4.5
    V5 is not possible because my present pc cannot handle them.

    I have 3 SSD´s in my pc: 250GB for Win10/64, 500GB for FSX, 500GB free for V4.5

    Do I have the freedom to install 4.5 where I would to have them, or does he install where he it want, like on C: drive??

    Tks for any answer

    Peter
    Yes, 4.5 can be installed anywhwere. Just remember FSX addons DO NOT work in the main.
    Why are you choosing 4.5? 5.1 is the latest and greatest? You have to buy it anyway...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    2,366

    Default

    A quote from the OP:

    "V5 is not possible because my present pc cannot handle them."

    When you install P3D, on the very first installation screen (the one with the license agreement), at the bottom there is a button for options, and that will allow you to install P3D anywhere you want.

    Jorgen

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    near eddk
    Posts
    73

    Default upgrade question

    Thank you for your reply.

    Peter
    Ancient [email protected], 24gb ram, 250gb ssd win10/64, 500gb ssd fsx, 500gb ssd p3d v3.4

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwi View Post
    Thank you for your reply.

    Peter
    v5.1 is faster than 4.5 on the same hardware.
    Who told you otherwise?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    near eddk
    Posts
    73

    Default

    System requirements on P3D webside. The graphics card for v5 is the no go for me.

    Peter
    Ancient [email protected], 24gb ram, 250gb ssd win10/64, 500gb ssd fsx, 500gb ssd p3d v3.4

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    2,366

    Default

    Peter,

    What graphics card do you have? I have a "minimum" card, a GTX960 with 4 GB of VRAM, and v. 5 runs fine on it - but not with too many add-ons....

    Jorgen

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jorgen.s.andersen View Post
    Peter,

    What graphics card do you have? I have a "minimum" card, a GTX960 with 4 GB of VRAM, and v. 5 runs fine on it - but not with too many add-ons....

    Jorgen
    Minimum is a discussion worth having. What is your card?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium.
    Posts
    514

    Default

    Hello,
    I use
    2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950 (MSI) 36 °C
    4095MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (MSI) 29 °C

    And 5.1 HF1 is OK With 3 monitors
    Emile EBBR Asus P7P67 Pro v3, Intel 1155 3.4 GH, Corsair DDR3 8Gb,GTX Nvidia 950 ti,PCX Nvidia 550 ti,
    SSD 120Gb, 2 x 1 Tera SATA6, Dual Boot .Win10 Pro X64

  10. #10

    Default

    5.1 should work with that setup. Just not with extreme settings, as advised.

    4.5 is the END of L-M updates for the v4.X series. 5.1 is still at the start for the 5.0 series, meaning compatability and updates will last longer-
    And as said, 5.1 offers faster FPS over 4.5 on the same hardware. Unless yours is hardware-limited, I would recommend 5.1.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrade question
    By lmponte in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-01-2002, 03:06 PM
  2. Upgrade Question Con't
    By abenson in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-22-2002, 01:02 PM
  3. RAM Upgrade Question??
    By edukator in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-23-2002, 01:03 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-06-2002, 03:35 PM
  5. Memory upgrade question
    By green1 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2002, 12:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •