Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: playing X-plane 7

  1. #1

    Default playing X-plane 7

    Hi
    yes i know this is an old game, but i am someone who likes old flight sims so putting that aside, i do have a query

    i got x-plane 7 from ebay and installed it today - it runs okay if i use my intel graphics card and not the nvidia one, however in the sim, there seems to be only land textures for western europe or thereabouts - all the other countries have their airports and aids, but no land, so if i go to say La Guardia or Melbourne intl, then it is just runways sitting on water

    - is this right? or is something not working as it should, playing this in windows 10 64bit

    is there something ineed to do to fix this?

  2. #2

    Default

    Without a licence, that is all you will see. Down load XP11 and it is the same

    Quote Originally Posted by agathosdaimon View Post
    Hi
    yes i know this is an old game, but i am someone who likes old flight sims so putting that aside, i do have a query

    i got x-plane 7 from ebay and installed it today - it runs okay if i use my intel graphics card and not the nvidia one, however in the sim, there seems to be only land textures for western europe or thereabouts - all the other countries have their airports and aids, but no land, so if i go to say La Guardia or Melbourne intl, then it is just runways sitting on water

    - is this right? or is something not working as it should, playing this in windows 10 64bit

    is there something ineed to do to fix this?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Leesburg, FL
    Posts
    112

    Default Runways on water

    I'm not an expert on X-Plane 7 - I was a Microsoft simmer for eons. When I returned to simming, it was to X-Plane because it seemed there was a lesser level of complexity

    I see you got an answer already. Let me agree with him, but add the following:

    It seems that nowhere where you bought X-Plane, if you installed the sim with the DVDs, you should have the appropriate "key" with your physical data (DVD, DVD-holder, etc).

    I think I remember reading somewhere that the "..runways on water.." can also be a symptom of not having scenery installed for that region. Go back to your docs (is there a "read.me.txt" or similar?) and somewhere along the way you can find info about adding scenery if you didn't install it all the first go around.

    Art Burke - N4PJ
    Leesburg, FL

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-20-2012, 01:06 AM
  2. Who's playing - Fsx? Who's playing - FS9?
    By eric johnson in forum FS2004
    Replies: 82
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 04:15 PM
  3. Op-Ed: Are FS Developers Playing Fair?
    By N400QW in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-29-2007, 10:24 AM
  4. Been playing with my favorite plane ...
    By 123rog in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-12-2003, 10:52 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-10-2002, 12:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •