C172 - Altitude at low temperature

Hi Guys, I'm still pretty new to this game. So far I've done only a couple of hours in a C172. When I fly at temperatures around 0° Celcius or below I can hardly climb above 3000ft. Is that a bug or is it just normal for this aircraft? I tried both auto-mixture and manuel. Made no difference.

Look for the Carb Heat lever/switch, your carburettor is icing up. Also switch on the Pitot Heat.

Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."

Xbox Series X, Asus Prime H510M-K, Intel Core i5-11400F 4.40GHz, 16Gb DDR4 3200, 2TB WD Black NVME SSD, 1TB Samsung SATA SSD

NVidia RTX3060 Ti 8Gb, Logitech Flight Yoke System, CH Pro Pedals, Acer K272HL 27", Windows 11 Home x64

FWIW, I've had a look around the C172 cockpit and couldn't find the carb heat lever (which isn't to say it's not there, I guess). I also tried adding a key-binding for carb-heat and I couldn't find a setting for it (yes, I looked under the "All" filter). This led me to believe that 172 in the sim is fuel injected.

All conjecture though...

Ryzen 5 3600X, 16 GB 3733 MTs RAM, Radeon RX5700 OC, 2560 x 1080 Ultrawide

I suspect that because modern 172s are fuel injected, they no longer need carb heat.

That should only come into play in descents anyway.

i7-10700K, ASUS Prime Z490-P motherboard, 32 gig, GTX 1080 Ti, 1TB M2 drive, Thrustmaster T16000M, Logitech Rudder Pedals , xbox controller.

C172S doesn't have carb heat. (0C is a good temperature to get max engine efficiency)

Check the Flight Model in General Settings is Modern

Assuming you are starting from sea-level, 3000 ft should be no problem at all. If you are starting at +5000 ft amsl though, you're definitely going to need to "lean" out the mixture, although the aircraft is good for 15000ft if set up correctly.

Flaps up, use 75-85 knots as a good climb speed.

As for loading try the default 50% fuel and two crew which again is well within the capabilities.