Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Navigational Lights

  1. #1

    Default Navigational Lights

    I know this has been posted and discussed many times before, but for whatever reasons, I cannot find anything that has worked. Does anyone know how to make the lights on the plan not look light little Christmas Bulbs?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    18,935

    Default

    You probably need to try some different effects from your main Effects folder.

    https://www.surclaro.com/fsdownload-detail-15484.html
    Last edited by mrzippy; 01-01-2021 at 03:43 PM.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    You probably need to try some different effects from your main Effects folder.

    https://www.surclaro.com/fsdownload-detail-15484.html
    Thank you, Mr. Zippy. Happy New Year!

  4. #4

    Default

    You can not tweak the affect so yes find (as Mr Zippy suggested) a different one. There are many available usually coming with aircraft downloads. You can even put Cessna lights on on B747. Not allowed by ATC I am sure

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Flanders, Belgium
    Posts
    158

    Default

    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by Stewie View Post
    I know this has been posted and discussed many times before, but for whatever reasons, I cannot find anything that has worked. Does anyone know how to make the lights on the plan not look light little Christmas Bulbs?
    Maybe the lights are part of your aircraft model? Check the lights section of the aircraft.cfg if they're defined there.

    From the C182:

    [LIGHTS]
    //Types: 1=beacon, 2=strobe, 3=navigation, 4=cockpit
    light.0 = 3, -3.03, -18.11, 3.58, fx_navred
    light.1 = 3, -3.03, 18.11, 3.58, fx_navgre
    light.2 = 3, -21.45, 0.00, 1.95, fx_navwhi
    light.3 = 2, -3.33, -18.31, 3.58, fx_strobe
    light.4 = 2, -3.33, 18.31, 3.58, fx_strobe

    light.5 = 1, -21.52, 0.00, 7.40, fx_beacon


    Regards,
    DDP.

  6. #6

    Default

    If defined in the model, there is little you can do...
    Tom Gibson

    CalClassic Propliner Page: http://www.calclassic.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, South-East QLD, Oztralia
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    What Tom Gibson say is very true, BUT one thing you can do that MAY have some effect is to edit the night time textures to brighten up the area around the nav lights, so it looks like the light is "spilling" onto them. This assumes that your model has night lighting defined. It will cost you nothing but a little bit of your time to try that.
    Steve from Murwilllumbah.

Similar Threads

  1. How to use DC-3 navigational aids
    By bruckey1 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-21-2005, 11:55 PM
  2. CHARTS-NAVIGATIONAL-AIRPORTS
    By DINOBAT in forum FS2004
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2004, 05:47 PM
  3. Navigational Utilities for FS2002
    By fsc_T5 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-2004, 07:56 PM
  4. Navigational Question
    By Ditchlights in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-15-2001, 03:19 AM
  5. Airport Scenery + Navigational Tutorials
    By paul34 in forum X-Plane
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-14-2001, 08:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •