W2xp versus Ortho4xp overlays

catman915

Hi.

Yes, i am fairly certain that you can combine them.

I only used the Ortho4XP tiles, which include the mesh / altitude information and you can extract the overlays / flat looking images of the buildings as seen from the space.

Being a RW pilot I think that the best combination is Ortho image and Objects set to Medium. Using that setup I can look down and recognize many of the buildings, areas..

If you cover them up with a lot of trees, houses, W2XP with Maximum Objects setting you may as well just use the default scenery and just add some mesh and a lot / Maximum objects W2XP objects and they will cover everything making the Ortho photos irrelevant / useless in my opinion. You will gain a better, in some cases, mesh but you lose all the other benefits from the orthos like the writing on some buildings the actual 2D shape of the buildings....

For US low level flight I use GO2 ZL17, 18 and likely the best option until you get familiar with Ortho is to get the free Forkboy2 tiles which I found very acceptable / good.

Hi.

You are welcome, Merry Christmas to you also.

One more note, the ZL18 takes a lot of storage space, there are some tiles that I have around LAX that are over 50GB and takes about 5 times longer to generate, Try the ZL17 less than 10 GB, first and if you are not satisfied with the way it looks go foe ZL18, it takes about 17 min for my system for ZL17 and about 1Hr for ZL18.

Post here if you need more help.

For a better look around the mountains / steep slopes you may want to try this config:

apt_smoothing_pix=8

road_level=1

road_banking_limit=0.5

lane_width=5.0

max_levelled_segs=100000

water_simplification=0.0

min_area=0.001

max_area=200.0

clean_bad_geometries=True

mesh_zl=19

curvature_tol=0.5

apt_curv_tol=0.4

apt_curv_ext=0.5

coast_curv_tol=1.0

coast_curv_ext=0.5

limit_tris=0

hmin=0.0

min_angle=10.0

sea_smoothing_mode=zero

water_smoothing=10

iterate=0

mask_zl=14