Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Correct installation process

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Blue Mountains, Australia
    Posts
    479

    Default Correct installation process

    All I can find out is that if you want to have the installation download process (from the MS site) install on a different drive to the C: drive ( I want to use my D: drive) I firstly need to change the drive where apps are installed from C: to D: -

    (for Windows 10) press the Windows and I keys then select SYSTEM > STORAGE > CHANGE WHERE NEW CONTENT IS SAVED then select NEW APPS WILL SAVE TO and select D:.

    Firstly is that correct to ensure the download will install to my D: drive?

    Secondly are there any other things I need to do as I intend to purchase and start the download just before I go to bed?

    Thanks
    Gigabyte Z390 UD m/b CPU: Intel Core i7-9700K 3.60 Ghz
    Memory: Dual 16Gb DDR4 2666 ram
    Video - NVidia RTX2060 OC 6GB
    Operating System: Windows 10 64bit Home

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bradford, West Yorkshire. UK
    Posts
    880

    Default

    Hi JP, the installation process is quite easy. If you want to install it to your second drive you don’t have to do anything in Windows. I don’t know which version of MSFS you are planning on buying but you should always download the standard version.
    Assuming you’ve bought & paid for the sim, whether you’ve bought the standard, deluxe or premium deluxe...
    download the “standard version” then download the “digital ownership”
    next.. launch the sim & it will ask where you would like the main stuff installing.. here you can browse to your second drive (D drive)
    you then have to wait the 2 or 3 hours (or however long it takes) to download and install the main part.
    Once it’s eventually done and the main menu appears, to into the “content manager” & select everything. Again, you maybe waiting again while it downloads the rest of it.
    If you’ve bought the deluxe or premium versions then all the extra content is installed automatically.
    Hope this helps

    Regards
    Steve
    Intel I9-10900K - Gigabyte Z490 Vision G - 64Gb DDR4 - Gigabyte RTX2080ti - 3x 43” Panasonic 4k TVs
    Corsair HXi series 1000W 80+ Platinum PSU - 1x500gb & 1x1TB M.2 SSDs

  3. #3

    Default

    That's what I did, change Windows to install Apps onto D: (Will create a few folders there.)

    Then when you install MSFS, watch for the prompt of where it installs, be sure to specify D: also.

    After installing MSFS, you will probably want to change where the cache saves to in the settings.
    Gigabyte GA-X99 Gaming G1, i7-5960X, Noctua NH-D14, Crucial Ballistix Elite 64Gb, Nvidia GTX Titan X, Creative ZxR, Ableconn PEXM2-130, WD Black SN750 250Gb & 2Tb NVMe/Gold 10Tb HDD, Sony BDU-X10S BD-ROM, PC Power & Cooling 1200w, Cosmos C700M, Noctua iPPC 140mm x6, Logitech M570/K800, WinX64 7 Ultimate/10 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Blue Mountains, Australia
    Posts
    479

    Default

    Thanks everyone,
    I intend to purchase the Standard version.
    As I intend to purchase and start the download just before going to bed when I am usually tired and not thinking well I wanted to ensure there was nothing I had to think about.
    Thanks for the heads up on placement of cache.
    My D: drive (partition) is empty with a capacity of 427 - yes changing the drive for apps certainly added some folders and files totalling 428 MB.

    Should I change (windows) where to install apps back to C: once all set up?
    Gigabyte Z390 UD m/b CPU: Intel Core i7-9700K 3.60 Ghz
    Memory: Dual 16Gb DDR4 2666 ram
    Video - NVidia RTX2060 OC 6GB
    Operating System: Windows 10 64bit Home

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Blue Mountains, Australia
    Posts
    479

    Default

    Just to advise that I have purchased and installed MSFS2020 but have no idea how long it took as I went to bed.
    Things I did NOTE though
    After starting the download/install I was then prompted where to install it SO anyone purchasing for the first time should note that they cannot simply start the process and walk away thinking that when they return it will be all done and ready to go. MS must download some 'config' files or similar before the main download.
    The download process displays the download 'rate' during download and I was getting mostly around 44 Mbps which is what my ISP advises as a 'typical download speed during the night. I only noticed this for a short time during the initial (short) download and the start of the main download (then went to bed)
    Now comes the learning process to know which joystick buttons do what and also keyboard keys. I will have to do some reading as running the first 'tutorial' just advises things like 'press joystick button 11' (which one is button 11 I wondered).
    Gigabyte Z390 UD m/b CPU: Intel Core i7-9700K 3.60 Ghz
    Memory: Dual 16Gb DDR4 2666 ram
    Video - NVidia RTX2060 OC 6GB
    Operating System: Windows 10 64bit Home

  6. #6

    Default

    Under the controls (going off of memory), least on mine, it showed a picture of the joystick and had the keys labelled 1-30 so at least I knew where key 11 actually was.
    Windows 10, 32 gigs RAM, Nvidia GForce GTX 1660 I7 6700 running at 3.40

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Location
    Olympia Washington
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dogdish View Post
    That's what I did, change Windows to install Apps onto D: (Will create a few folders there.)

    Then when you install MSFS, watch for the prompt of where it installs, be sure to specify D: also.

    After installing MSFS, you will probably want to change where the cache saves to in the settings.
    How do you tell it where to cache saves too.
    Liquid cooled, Intel i7-10700K, NVIDIA 3070, G.Skill Ram 16GB, 1TB M.2 NVME. Z490 MB Loads of Christmas lights.

  8. #8

    Default

    in the Data section of General...

    Name:  Local Cache.png
Views: 473
Size:  217.8 KB

    Rolling Cache. You can specify size here too. There is also a Manual Cache.
    Gigabyte GA-X99 Gaming G1, i7-5960X, Noctua NH-D14, Crucial Ballistix Elite 64Gb, Nvidia GTX Titan X, Creative ZxR, Ableconn PEXM2-130, WD Black SN750 250Gb & 2Tb NVMe/Gold 10Tb HDD, Sony BDU-X10S BD-ROM, PC Power & Cooling 1200w, Cosmos C700M, Noctua iPPC 140mm x6, Logitech M570/K800, WinX64 7 Ultimate/10 Pro

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Blue Mountains, Australia
    Posts
    479

    Default

    Which folder should I select for the rolling cache path when I don't want to use the C: Drive as my D: drive (where FS2020 is installed) does not contain USERS\myname\APPDATA\?
    There are currently no folders in 'myname' folder.
    Should I manually create an APPDATA subfolder and if so what other subfolders eg LOCAL?

    BTW I did find information about the keys on my Logitech joystick and have now swapped the function of keys 1 and 5 as I prefer the BRAKE on the 'fire button' BUT is the Joystick configuration 'system wide' or must if be changed for every aircraft?
    Last edited by jparnold; 12-07-2020 at 01:22 AM. Reason: add last paragraph
    Gigabyte Z390 UD m/b CPU: Intel Core i7-9700K 3.60 Ghz
    Memory: Dual 16Gb DDR4 2666 ram
    Video - NVidia RTX2060 OC 6GB
    Operating System: Windows 10 64bit Home

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,401

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jparnold View Post
    Which folder should I select for the rolling cache path when I don't want to use the C: Drive as my D: drive (where FS2020 is installed) does not contain USERS\myname\APPDATA\?
    There are currently no folders in 'myname' folder.
    Should I manually create an APPDATA subfolder and if so what other subfolders eg LOCAL?
    You can create a folder with any name you like on any drive you like. I have the rolling cache going to G:/MSFS/Cache, for example.

Similar Threads

  1. My new program installation process.
    By CaptJR in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2007, 10:13 AM
  2. WW2 RAF training process
    By EMAPhil in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-16-2005, 03:12 PM
  3. fs9.exe wont stop.process still alive
    By pradory in forum FS2004
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-31-2003, 02:58 PM
  4. Captain sim has the worst reg. process ever
    By bricktop2982 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-23-2003, 01:55 PM
  5. End process, WinXP Home
    By Squitters in forum FS2002
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-12-2003, 12:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •