Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: sim won’t launch

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Solihull (UK)
    Posts
    8

    Default sim won’t launch

    your comments would be appreciated with my fs2020 not launching

    excuse my lack of understanding of technical terms but my computer knowledge is basic

    the last time I was able to launch the sim I attempted to load a scenario I had saved and the sim crashed to desktop, when I tried to launch the sim following the “checking for update screen” I just got a thin very slow moving blue line across the screen which stopped after about 80%

    I read forum comments and Zendesk support suggesting I delete contents in my Community Packages but find nothing in it and understand this folder is for downloaded liveries etc which I don’t have the only additional things I have downloaded are about six aircraft from the content manager which is part of the premier deluxe pack that I purchased

    I don’t want to uninstall the sim and reinstall as with my Internet speed a 121gb download takes 22hours!

    can I ask if I download the latest patch the USA improvement is it likely to solve my problem, I understand it is a 9gb download which would take me 4 hours to download

    I have a new computer built to run the sim and is in excess of the minimum requirements with windows 10 64 bit, with all the latest windows updates, and always run the sim as administrator

    if I have to uninstall and reinstall so be it but I don’t have the confidence in the sim that it will crash again and just waste my time

    welcome any help in getting me back in the air. thanks

  2. #2

    Default

    If you can get it to do the update I would do that. It seems your only other choice is to start from square one.

    It takes me two days to download the whole thing. My internet connection is 6 gigabyte according to download tests, but the MSFS download speed is just short of 800kb. So don't feel bad about 22 hours.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bradford, West Yorkshire. UK
    Posts
    871

    Default

    Have you tried running it not as an administrator?
    Also you could try repairing it first, before going down the reinstall route.

    Regards
    Steve
    Intel I9-10900K - Gigabyte Z490 Vision G - 64Gb DDR4 - Gigabyte RTX2080ti - 3x 43” Panasonic 4k TVs
    Corsair HXi series 1000W 80+ Platinum PSU - 1x500gb & 1x1TB M.2 SSDs

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Solihull (UK)
    Posts
    8

    Default

    thanks sfojimbo and g7rta for your replies

    I was thinking in investing a faster internet connection but as Microsoft store are throttling things at their end have decided against that, I also feel better about my 22hour download it puts it into a bit more perspective
    I will try also the repair option before I download the latest updates from Microsoft
    much appreciate the help
    silhill ron

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    14

    Default

    My Internet connection is 500Mbs. I had to re-install earlier this week, took about an hour and quarter to download everything. MS was not slowing the D/L. At times I was getting 300Mbs. When the install program decompresses files the Mbs slows to as low as 8Kbs. That Mbs speed is an Average over a couple minutes not actual

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Solihull (UK)
    Posts
    8

    Default

    arosenberg

    thanks for d/l info and clarification.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Chester, UK.
    Posts
    41

    Default

    I'd do a little investigating before such drastic action. For example what additions have you made in your Community folder. I had a similar 'won't load' scenario. Make a copy of your Community folder and it's contents. Then delete everything inside your real Community folder and check if the sim loads.

    If it does then add the contents of the copy Community folder back into your live Community folder one at a time until it fails to load again. Then remove the latest file you moved in - you should be good to go without any files that corrupt MSFS2020.

    If the sim fails to load even with an empty Community folder then you have my sim-pathey a reload it is!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Solihull (UK)
    Posts
    8

    Default

    ben252
    thanks for showing an interest in my issue

    with my basic computing skills I have followed the path to my community folder and can find nothing in it

    I took the plunge last night and uninstalled the flight sim , searched to ensure all flight sim files were uninstalled and started the reinstall

    I have a new computer built in excess of minimum requirements the sim specifies, and my first task before playing the sim will be to tweak the general settings to hopefully avoid crash to desktop scenario

    thanks. silhill ron

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    East Texas, USA.
    Posts
    1,093

    Default

    I don't think CTDs are really a function of settings. I don't have them, and I have the settings turned up fairly high. I suspect the CTDs are caused either by addons that are problematic, or controllers that create conflicts. I don't have any mods or addons. My controller is a Thrustmaster recognized by the sim. I don't have a yoke or pedals. The simplicity may be the reason I don't have crashes at this point.
    I7-9700K, RTX-2070, Asus Strix Z-390-H MB, 32gb G Skill 3000 CL15, Corsair Obsidian 750D case, WD Black 1tb M.2, Crucial CT500MX SSD, Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium PSU

  10. #10

    Default

    Try the following:

    -Start the game via the MS Store App.
    -When the game is loading press <alt+enter> so that it is running in a window. Maybe you have to prompt something.

    Good luck!
    Pino

    President of the woh|group

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Won’t open
    By vb1 in forum Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-20-2020, 04:57 PM
  2. Fsx won’t appear after loading
    By Cjet123 in forum FSX
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-17-2019, 09:47 PM
  3. UASO Titan34D Launch Vehicle Completes Rollout To Launch Complex 40
    By kayamone sutton in forum Virtual Airlines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-11-2009, 04:22 PM
  4. to launch or not to launch...
    By Bomby in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 03-08-2004, 02:38 PM
  5. Replies: 39
    Last Post: 06-19-2003, 01:12 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •