Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: No Scenery

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    South East Wales
    Posts
    17

    Default No Scenery

    I am returning to the hobby as I have far more time these days. Back in the day I purchased fs2000, 2002 and 2004. i have set up a pc primary for fs9. I have loaded the discs and everything appeared ok. When i go to run it, everything seems fine apart from the fact no scenery is generated. I have uninstalled the software and reinstalled it with the same result. Don't remember this happening 15 years ago, so am i missing something? This pc is running windows 7. Any suggestions appreciated.

  2. Default

    What do you mean no scenery? What specifically happens and are you looking for something in particular? Can you post a screenshot?
    - James

    Intel i7-10700F 2.9 gigahertz - 16GB Memory DDR4 3000 megahertz - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Super 8GB - 480GB SSD + 1TB HDD - Windows 10

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    South East Wales
    Posts
    17

    Default

    James

    Thank you for the reply.
    I must have had a "senior moment" with the installation.
    I didn't install it!
    Uninstalled and reinstalled and everything is fine.
    Thanks again.
    Richard.

  4. #4

    Default

    If you have installed into the default folders, which is very easy to do, you run the risk of all kinds of unpredictable problems caused by Windows security processes and your specific problem could be one of the many possibilities.

    If you have in fact installed into the default folders I would want to suggest that you uninstall completely, remove any residual files/folders and then to re-install but this time into so called "custom" folders, preferrably in a partition outside that in which you Windows lives.

    If you have already done that, then please supply more information as James has already asked.

    Regards

    Hans

  5. #5

    Default

    Whoaaa! Hold your horses..

    DO NOT UNINSTALL, if you have issues, especially with adding scenery or trying to edit stuff..

    If you do pick up an issue, just post here, or PM me..
    Robin
    Cape Town, South Africa

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    South East Wales
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Thank you all for the information.
    Unfortunately I have uninstalled fs2004.
    Reinstalled it and everything seems fine (at the moment).
    I guess from your comments there may be
    implications having done this??
    I have a dedicated pc for fs2004 which is running
    windows 7.
    I still do 3 days a week work at a Land Surveying practice generally using cad and other processing software and since we went to windows 10 have never experienced so many issues and that is why I did a fresh install of windows 7 purely for fs2004.
    However at the moment it resides in the default folders. Hans suggested custom folders I have a ssd and wondering if it would be better to install it on there?
    I read your post Robin on installing fs9 on windows 10, and seem to remember you making reference to cut and paste - would you recommend this for moving the current installation?
    I never expected to receive the positive and helpful comments above - thanks to you all.
    Richard

  7. #7

    Default

    Hi Richard,
    Either way will do. What I would actually do, is copy the whole FS2004 folder from it's Program files folder, & post it into C:\
    Then download the Flight1 Registry repair tool from https://www.flight1.com/view.asp?page=library
    This tells the registry where FS2004 is.
    Then rename the original FS2004 folder to FS2004-backup, & delete the FS2004 desktop icon
    Then, in the new FS2004 install in C:\, find the FS9.exe, right-click on that, & Send to desktop.

    It actually takes longer to explain than to do, & now you have a 2nd backed up FS2004 install that you can copy to a portable drive to use as a backup, or to use as a basis for multiple FS2004 installs.

    (or you can uninstall FS2004 & reinstall into C:\ & NOT into it's default folder)
    I would do the copy & paste thing, I have 8 separate unique themed FS2004 installs done that way..

    Have fun.
    Robin
    Cape Town, South Africa

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    South East Wales
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Robin,

    Thanks for your comprehensive reply.
    I understand what you are saying.
    I will have a go this evening and let you know how I got on.

    Regards,

    Richard

  9. #9

    Default

    Great, It's pretty easy.
    Robin
    Cape Town, South Africa

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    South East Wales
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zswobbie1 View Post
    Great, It's pretty easy.
    Robin, so far so good, thanks for advice.

    Richard

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. No GPS, no FMC, no nothing.
    By BryanButler in forum FSX
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-10-2017, 05:04 PM
  2. Ho no no no bah humbug!
    By mav316 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-11-2010, 12:54 AM
  3. No scenery no radios
    By alis14 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 09:07 AM
  4. "No, no, no, ahhhhhhhhhhhh!"
    By sailor in forum FS2004
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-10-2003, 06:04 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-24-2000, 04:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •