Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: I need some questions getting back to Flight Simulator

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Wesrtern New York
    Posts
    2

    Default I need some questions getting back to Flight Simulator

    I have not done any playing for years. Everything is out dated. I have at hand, tower, Ipad and xbox. The tower is 8-10 years old. I just want to get started again. What equipment do I have to get that will work on equipment that I do have.

  2. Default

    What OS is on the tower? I have Windows XP HPE on my tower, and Windows 7 32 Bit on the Laptop! I'm running Fs98 and Fs2002 on the 7 computer fine! WinXP runs Fs98 and Fs2002 great! I have a Logitech Remote Mouse and 101 Key Key Board connected to the Laptop!

    Thanks, 173ABN!

    Christopher Tarana
    Last edited by CTarana45; 10-29-2020 at 08:25 PM.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CTarana45 View Post
    What OS is on the tower? I have Windows XP HPE on my tower, and Windows 7 32 Bit on the Laptop! I'm running Fs98 and Fs2002 on the 7 computer fine! WinXP runs Fs98 and Fs2002 great! I have a Logitech Remote Mouse and 101 Key Key Board connected to the Laptop!

    Thanks, 173ABN!

    Christopher Tarana
    Almost inevitably, new computer required, if you are to take advantage of any of the advances of the last 8-10 years.
    Windows 10 is needed to take advantage of 64-bit computing... Look at the recommended specs.

  4. #4

    Default

    If you can find FS2004, it is still very well supported, it could maybe, possibly run on your tower, depending on the operating system & RAM

    No need to spend a small fortune to get a new PC to run the latest simulator as this stage.
    Start small, & see how you like it.


    Christopher, both your tower & laptop will run FS2004, which is very much still being supported.
    Robin
    Cape Town, South Africa

  5. Default

    I'm perfectly fine running Fs98 and Fs2002 Standard Edition! I have two installs of Fs98 running now, C:\Fs98 and C:\Fs98GW. In the latter, I've installed Bill Lyon's Golden Wings Addon. In Fs2002 I have all Bill's addon's installed too!

    Thanks, Guys!

    Christopher Tarana

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,766

    Default

    "Windows 10 is needed to take advantage of 64-bit computing..."

    Windows 7 also provides "the advantage of 64-bit computing". Just install the 64-bit version (just like you'd have to do with windows 10).
    Intel 10700K @ 5.0 Ghz, Asus Maxumus XII Hero MB, Noctua NH-U12A Cooler, Corsair Vengence Pro 32GB 3200Mhz, Geforce RTX 2060 Super GPU, Cooler Master HAF 932 Tower, Thermaltake 1000W Toughpower PSU, Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit, and other good stuff.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by W2DR View Post
    "Windows 10 is needed to take advantage of 64-bit computing..."

    Windows 7 also provides "the advantage of 64-bit computing". Just install the 64-bit version (just like you'd have to do with windows 10).
    Yes but DX12 is only aupported in 64-bit compuiting by Window 10... One is only doing half the job with Windows 7...

  8. Default

    My daughter spent $150 on it at a local shop converting from Win7 64 Bit to Win7 32 bit! I feel 32 Bit is superior to 64 Bit computers.

    Thanks, Guys!

    Christopher Tarana

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,766

    Default

    I hope you're not serious about this..................
    Intel 10700K @ 5.0 Ghz, Asus Maxumus XII Hero MB, Noctua NH-U12A Cooler, Corsair Vengence Pro 32GB 3200Mhz, Geforce RTX 2060 Super GPU, Cooler Master HAF 932 Tower, Thermaltake 1000W Toughpower PSU, Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit, and other good stuff.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CTarana45 View Post
    I'm perfectly fine running Fs98 and Fs2002 Standard Edition! I have two installs of Fs98 running now, C:\Fs98 and C:\Fs98GW. In the latter, I've installed Bill Lyon's Golden Wings Addon. In Fs2002 I have all Bill's addon's installed too!

    Thanks, Guys!

    Christopher Tarana
    If you happy, thats great, no need to change. I'm also running all of Bill's add-ons in a separate install of Golden Wings. I'm using FS2004, quite a few of Bill's add-ons are for FS2002, but work perfectly in FS2004. I also have a separate version of Golden Wings, but for Vintage aircraft only, thats all the pre GW aircraft. I kept the 2 installs separate, with different splash screens.

    Bill's add-ons are great, all with a back story & a car or a boat. Good times, he is missed from our hobby.

    I started in the good old days, when the sim came out on stiffy disks. Great fun when my old laptop died & I had to replace it. The new one came without a DVD drive, so I had to remove the hard drive from the old laptop, put it into a case & copy the stuff across. And everything worked! So I ended up with an additional 1TB portable drive. Joys of PC's indeed.

    Oh, my laptop has 8GB RAM. Remember that the sims are all 32bit and can only address less than 4GB of ram, no matter how much RAM you have., including the RAM of the graphics card. There is a 4GB patch that will allow the sim to use all 4GB, which does help.

    See here: https://ntcore.com/?page_id=371

    Enjoy!!
    Robin
    Cape Town, South Africa

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-12-2017, 01:37 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-20-2016, 11:12 PM
  3. Guess who's back, back again, yes she's back.............
    By Fluffbun in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 08-05-2005, 07:08 PM
  4. Back from Amman and getting right back to work!
    By Arabian in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-21-2003, 04:25 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-02-2002, 01:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •