Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: To Steam or not to Steam - that is the question

  1. Default

    hello, b52bob, I have same intention buying new M2 1 TB SSD. My FSX SE is now on my old SATA
    500GB SSD. I certainly do not look forward to 'uninstalling' all my FSX SE and some 20 add-ons from
    the old SSD and reinstalling them again on the new SSD. I certainly dare not to do it by means of 'copy and paiste'. I would appreciate if you could give a short 'how to do it ....' and found the programs can be moved to a new drive with only three or four clicks. thanks for yr help,regards Peter

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by b52bob View Post
    ... I have extensively modified the program with many aircraft, scenery, and utilities with no problem at all....
    Based on forum traffic, I think there are as many folks loving this simulator as a way to develop (or maintain) their coding chops as there are are folks who use it to fly ... and maybe a lot who enjoy both.
    So how are you doing that?
    I noticed there was an SDK buried down there in some directory when I took a cursory look at the steam folders. Are you changing Cpp or VB code? I mean are able to rebuild the app or more or less editing XML files or something? Whas' Up?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnhinson View Post
    No problems with the software here, but if you are neurotic about being hindered by Steam, you can run it in "off-line" mode and bypass that.
    John
    Gosh, and I was being so careful not to push buttons. But no, I don't know nearly enough about it to pull together a respectable neurosis.

    The only issues I have come up against are add-on utilities that are FSX compatible but not FSX-SE compatible. It seems that the SE came along so late that the developers can't be bothered to modify their software - generally it is just a pathing issue that fails and sometimes it can be bodged but not always.
    I have also experienced a few DLC jocks that could not be bothered. Very polite about it, but quite eager to tell me all about how it was Dovetail's fault. They probably would like for their stuff to run well everywhere, but likely have a marketing person reminding them of what's important. :-)

    John

  4. #14

    Default

    Steam all the way for me. All my other games are on it and I plan to get this one on Steam as well when I get a new PC. I have not noticed any issues with it and Ive been on it since 2008. Its nice to have all games in one space, easy to manage. One of its handy features is its File Verification which If im not mistaken the MS store lacks. So any issue with a game, just run the FV and Steam scans the game files. If somethings wrong it will download just the affected files and youre ready to go.

    Quote Originally Posted by ciroanimau View Post
    I started using steam this year, when I bought a new computer to run smoothly xp11 and msfs.
    Msfs I've given up for a while. Being using x-plane instead, very happy with the results.
    I took a little while and research to use the steam version, but I am satisfied.
    The thing I am missing are the aircrafts for version 11.50 on steam. Only finding the 11 version.
    There is no 11.50 version of the airplanes in XP11. The aircraft are unchanged. Its just the Vulkan API that has been added to the sim that takes it to 11.50. It is only the rendering engine that has been affected

    https://www.x-plane.com/2020/09/x-pl...-now-released/
    i7 920 @ 3.00Ghz // GTX 1060 6GB // 12GB DDR3 // Win10 Pro

  5. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ciroanimau View Post
    I started using steam this year, when I bought a new computer to run smoothly xp11 and msfs.
    Msfs I've given up for a while. Being using x-plane instead, very happy with the results.
    I took a little while and research to use the steam version, but I am satisfied.
    The thing I am missing are the aircrafts for version 11.50 on steam. Only finding the 11 version.

    Enviado de meu ONEPLUS A5010 usando o Tapatalk
    Stean adds further unnecessry system load.
    Not going anywhere near my system! `Stripped bare` is the only way to go IMHO.

  6. #16

    Default

    For anyone who doesn't already have FSX in their computer and wants it, FSX:SE is a no-brainer acquisition.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,320

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mallcott View Post
    Stean adds further unnecessry system load.
    Not going anywhere near my system! `Stripped bare` is the only way to go IMHO.
    If Steam is causing any issues with additional load, your system likely isn't capable of running the sim anyways.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,389

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loki View Post
    If Steam is causing any issues with additional load, your system likely isn't capable of running the sim anyways.
    +1 and well said. Since he can't even spell it, we can all disregard mallcot's verdict on Steam.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz OC'd 4.28GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 16Gb 3500MHz Ram, 2x 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M case, CH Yoke & Pedals, Dell P2815Q 28" 4k Monitor, Windows 10 Pro x64

  9. #19

    Default

    My system struggles with FSX, but the steam version runs smoother than when I used the boxed version.

  10. Default

    I have and use Steam for most of my software purchases. I bought flight simulator Premium through Steam and everything downloaded perfectly in my computer. At the same time, a lot of people who purchased the Sim directly from Microsoft, were complaining that they did not receive the packages they paid for, that planes were missing and other things. I did not experience that, but it could be that the problem was fixed by the time I downloaded it. Since then, , I moved most of the installation folders, the big ones, to another drive using the move commands within the Steam app.. I have used apps that interface with Simconnect without a single problem. Other than FS, which is downloaded directly from Microsoft, all my other Steam purchases download at a rate of 900-940 Mbps, which pretty much is the cap for a 1 gig fiber. When you purchase software through them, it checks your location and connects you to their closest server, which speeds up things tremendously as you can see on my numbers.
    I haven't tried starting my games without connecting to the internet, but it does loads the Steam app before it loads any software bought through them because it checks for your Digital Rights to the software. I believe, that it will run the apps if you are not connected to the internet because other Companies, like Origin, for example, do that; if you don't have an active internet connection, it asks you for your Origin password and you are in.
    One last thing. Steam has a return policy that is awesome. More than once I bought games that were buggy as hell or just not what I expected, and right there on the app it gives you the option to request a refund. It only takes a few minutes to get your credit. Of course, the catch is that you have a reasonable amount of time before you can apply for a refund. When MSFS was released and because it took so little time to download the installer and then forever to download the full simulation, people ran out of time to claim a refund. After customers brought the issue to Steam, they made the proper adjustment to their software and people were refunded their money. Great company.
    Last edited by SpookyDiver; Yesterday at 03:15 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-24-2019, 09:07 AM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-08-2017, 07:50 PM
  3. Returning flight-simmer, not impressed with Steam FSX
    By TAYLOR-MANIA in forum Newcomer Services
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-07-2015, 05:48 AM
  4. FSUIPC not working with FSX Steam
    By chr1s1231 in forum FSX
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-05-2015, 04:52 PM
  5. Gmap not working with Steam
    By MoeWoodworth in forum Microsoft Flight
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-27-2012, 04:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •