Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: MSFS Addons

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Honolulu, HI
    Posts
    69

    Default MSFS Addons

    OK, as far as Microsoft Windows and Microsoft Flight Simulator goes, I did not "just fall off the cabbage truck".

    But I have been attempting to install various addons to MSFS, and have been encountering a weird error which seems to be mainly with aircraft/livery addons. Its basically saying that the "path is too long", even though the zip file structure did not look unusual at all.

    Name:  error.jpg
Views: 1094
Size:  102.1 KB

    I diligently Googled on the issue which suggested that it is an issue with Windows Explorer, and to use a program like 7-zip instead. I had this utility, so I gave it a shot.

    I extracted the file with 7-zip and I indeed got much farther, until I got an error now indicating that "file name too long". Which is something I haven't seen since WINDOWS 3.0!

    Name:  error2.jpg
Views: 1067
Size:  76.4 KB

    I honestly don't think I'm doing anything stupid here, but has anyone else encountered this?

    By the way, the file in particular was the Liveries Mega Pack, v10.

    And, yes, these were all being pointed to the correct Community folder.
    Last edited by jfitler; 10-26-2020 at 12:41 AM.
    i7-7700K 4.20GHz
    MSI Z-270A Pro Series MB
    32Gb 2400MHz DDR4 RAM
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8Gb
    WDC WDS240G1G01 240Gb SSD
    Toshiba DT01ACA100 1Tb HDD
    Seagate OneTouch 1Tb SSD
    Seagate BUP 5Tb HDD
    2 LG 4k 32" displays
    Microsoft X05-63895 Sidewinder joystick
    Logitech M325 mouse
    Costco 14993BLK4E XL series folding chair
    ACCO Model 40 stapler
    Rubbermaid MFG295600 plastic rubbish bin

  2. #2

    Default

    When I load add-ons to the Community folder, first I unzip the file to a specific (and temporary) location, then copy the main folder -(not all the serarate subfolders)- to the Community on my C drive. My installation is on a different drive, and MSFS automatically moves it there, but leaves a reference file with directions to the install drive. But, I found it best to install it to the C drive Community, others have differing opinions, but it works just fine for me.

    There's a very nice instruction in this forum - search "accessing Community folder".

    Also, check in the location you unpacked the file to, for a readme.txt file for instructions on which folders need to go the Community.
    Asus Z97-A, Intel I7-4770K, nVidia RTX 3070, 32gb ram(1600), 3 ssd drives -4tb total, 1 nvme ssd (500gb),
    Samsung CH890-34" curved - 3440x1440 monitor, Bose Companion 5 PC speakers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Honolulu, HI
    Posts
    69

    Default

    I tried extracting to a specific temp location and then copying the main (topmost) folder of this location to Community. It seems to get about halfway, and then again stops with this error:

    Name:  error3.jpg
Views: 1060
Size:  95.9 KB

    I have been installing addons on my non-C: drive Community location (my main MSFS install is on an external SSD), and so far has not been a problem. I am going to try installing to my C: drive Community folder however, and see what happens. Thanks for your feedback!
    i7-7700K 4.20GHz
    MSI Z-270A Pro Series MB
    32Gb 2400MHz DDR4 RAM
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8Gb
    WDC WDS240G1G01 240Gb SSD
    Toshiba DT01ACA100 1Tb HDD
    Seagate OneTouch 1Tb SSD
    Seagate BUP 5Tb HDD
    2 LG 4k 32" displays
    Microsoft X05-63895 Sidewinder joystick
    Logitech M325 mouse
    Costco 14993BLK4E XL series folding chair
    ACCO Model 40 stapler
    Rubbermaid MFG295600 plastic rubbish bin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,323

    Default

    What's the full path to your Community folder, starting from the drive letter?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Honolulu, HI
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loki View Post
    What's the full path to your Community folder, starting from the drive letter?
    Just a little more background. This error is occurring on a couple of addons only (so far) - most seem to be installing normally. My main install drive is my M: drive - an external SSD. When I installed MSFS and selected this drive, the installer set up the path. The full path to the addon repaint in question is:

    M:\WpSystem\S-1-5-21-286362359-108708673-3351814632-1001\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft.FlightSimulator_8wekyb3d8bbwe\LocalCache\Packages\Community\Asobo_208B_GRAND_CARAVAN_EX_Myanmar\SimObjects\Airplanes\Cessna208_MYA\TEXTURE.MYA\CESSNA_208B_GRANDCARAVANEX_COCKPIT_SEAT_FRONT_ALBD.PNG.DDS.json

    I understand that under the Windows file naming system the total filename or path cannot exceed 259 characters, while the path above is 296 characters. This appears to be the problem.

    I don't understand why MSFS had to pad the path to my M: drive (a virtually empty 1Tb SSD) with so much gibberish (which I had no control over), which then eats into this pathname character limitation.
    Last edited by jfitler; 10-26-2020 at 09:08 PM.
    i7-7700K 4.20GHz
    MSI Z-270A Pro Series MB
    32Gb 2400MHz DDR4 RAM
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8Gb
    WDC WDS240G1G01 240Gb SSD
    Toshiba DT01ACA100 1Tb HDD
    Seagate OneTouch 1Tb SSD
    Seagate BUP 5Tb HDD
    2 LG 4k 32" displays
    Microsoft X05-63895 Sidewinder joystick
    Logitech M325 mouse
    Costco 14993BLK4E XL series folding chair
    ACCO Model 40 stapler
    Rubbermaid MFG295600 plastic rubbish bin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,323

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jfitler View Post
    Just a little more background. This error is occurring on a couple of addons only (so far) - most seem to be installing normally. My main install drive is my M: drive - an external SSD. When I installed MSFS and selected this drive, the installer set up the path. The full path to the addon repaint in question is:

    M:\WpSystem\S-1-5-21-286362359-108708673-3351814632-1001\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft.FlightSimulator_8wekyb3d8bbwe\LocalCache\Packages\Community\Asobo_208B_GRAND_CARAVAN_EX_Myanmar\SimObjects\Airplanes\Cessna208_MYA\TEXTURE.MYA\CESSNA_208B_GRANDCARAVANEX_COCKPIT_SEAT_FRONT_ALBD.PNG.DDS.json

    I understand that under the Windows file naming system the total filename or path cannot exceed 259 characters, while the path above is 296 characters. This appears to be the problem.

    I don't understand why MSFS had to pad the path to my M: drive (a virtually empty 1Tb SSD) with so much gibberish (which I had no control over), which then eats into this pathname character limitation.

    That's what I was thinking. Try the process below to remove the path name limit.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/266621/how...60-characters/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Honolulu, HI
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Well, I had high hopes, but after trying (and double checking) the registry mod, no joy. Verified that the LongFileName attribute is set but it's still the same error. It's not a show-stopper by any means, but knowing it could possibly pop up with any future addon is frustrating!

    Thanks for your help anyway, loki! It was definitely worth a shot.
    i7-7700K 4.20GHz
    MSI Z-270A Pro Series MB
    32Gb 2400MHz DDR4 RAM
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8Gb
    WDC WDS240G1G01 240Gb SSD
    Toshiba DT01ACA100 1Tb HDD
    Seagate OneTouch 1Tb SSD
    Seagate BUP 5Tb HDD
    2 LG 4k 32" displays
    Microsoft X05-63895 Sidewinder joystick
    Logitech M325 mouse
    Costco 14993BLK4E XL series folding chair
    ACCO Model 40 stapler
    Rubbermaid MFG295600 plastic rubbish bin

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jfitler View Post

    M:\WpSystem\S-1-5-21-286362359-108708673-3351814632-1001\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft.FlightSimulator_8wekyb3d8bbwe\LocalCache\Packages\Community\Asobo_208B_GRAND_CARAVAN_EX_Myanmar\SimObjects\Airplanes\Cessna208_MYA\TEXTURE.MYA\CESSNA_208B_GRANDCARAVANEX_COCKPIT_SEAT_FRONT_ALBD.PNG.DDS.json
    This is the folder you should be moving or copying to the Community folder:
    Asobo_208B_GRAND_CARAVAN_EX_Myanmar

    thats all...nothing else. All the rest is contained within that folder. Try just using that folder.

    And if you can't move it to the M: drive Community, try the C: drive.
    Asus Z97-A, Intel I7-4770K, nVidia RTX 3070, 32gb ram(1600), 3 ssd drives -4tb total, 1 nvme ssd (500gb),
    Samsung CH890-34" curved - 3440x1440 monitor, Bose Companion 5 PC speakers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Honolulu, HI
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stempski View Post
    This is the folder you should be moving or copying to the Community folder:
    Asobo_208B_GRAND_CARAVAN_EX_Myanmar

    thats all...nothing else. All the rest is contained within that folder. Try just using that folder.

    And if you can't move it to the M: drive Community, try the C: drive.
    That is what I have been doing... dragging over the first level folder within the zip file. This is from the Liveries Megapack v10 download and about half of the C208 repaints cause this error for me. The others were fine.
    i7-7700K 4.20GHz
    MSI Z-270A Pro Series MB
    32Gb 2400MHz DDR4 RAM
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8Gb
    WDC WDS240G1G01 240Gb SSD
    Toshiba DT01ACA100 1Tb HDD
    Seagate OneTouch 1Tb SSD
    Seagate BUP 5Tb HDD
    2 LG 4k 32" displays
    Microsoft X05-63895 Sidewinder joystick
    Logitech M325 mouse
    Costco 14993BLK4E XL series folding chair
    ACCO Model 40 stapler
    Rubbermaid MFG295600 plastic rubbish bin

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,323

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jfitler View Post
    Well, I had high hopes, but after trying (and double checking) the registry mod, no joy. Verified that the LongFileName attribute is set but it's still the same error. It's not a show-stopper by any means, but knowing it could possibly pop up with any future addon is frustrating!

    Thanks for your help anyway, loki! It was definitely worth a shot.
    Did you make sure to reboot after making the registry change?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Addons and MSFS loading time
    By joancampos in forum Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-07-2020, 03:14 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-25-2017, 10:39 AM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-11-2014, 01:06 PM
  4. MSFS-quality aircraft addons?
    By PhilipsCDRW in forum X-Plane
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-20-2012, 02:17 AM
  5. MSFS-4 addons
    By dunolde in forum FS4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-27-1997, 12:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •