Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: cannot name a folder C:\fsx

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wooster,ohio.
    Posts
    3,199

    Default cannot name a folder C:\fsx

    i had to reformat my computer and i got just one simulator in right now. and i want to put my flight simulator back in but i can't make a separate folder for it so it's not in the X86 program files but windows keeps saying symbols are not allowed. so how can i make it have it's own folder
    16 gigs of ram
    1TB HardDrive
    windows 10.
    desktop

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,386

    Default

    What specifically are you trying to enter for the name, “FSX” or “C:\FSX”?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    7,260

    Default

    'C:\FSX' is a PATH name. 'FSX' is a FOLDER name. AFTER you create 'New Folder' by right click when you are at 'C:' you will have created a new FOLDER with a name of 'FSX' and therefore 'C:\FSX' will be the PATH to that folder. Terminology. Terminology. Terminology.
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wooster,ohio.
    Posts
    3,199

    Default

    i was trying to enter C:\FSX but windows won't let me do that so i will install fsx in the default location. but i am thinking that i have a conflict with the simulator and an add-on i have cause of a G3D.DLL error. which is can be textures or aircraft. well i have the 3D Lights Add-on from A2A plus a texture from here for strobe lights which i think could cause an issue
    16 gigs of ram
    1TB HardDrive
    windows 10.
    desktop

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,386

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CessnaFlyer View Post
    i was trying to enter C:\FSX but windows won't let me do that so i will install fsx in the default location. but i am thinking that i have a conflict with the simulator and an add-on i have cause of a G3D.DLL error. which is can be textures or aircraft. well i have the 3D Lights Add-on from A2A plus a texture from here for strobe lights which i think could cause an issue
    You just need to enter “FSX” as the folder name, as described above. Don’t include “C:\” in the folder name.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wooster,ohio.
    Posts
    3,199

    Default

    oh ok thank you. the reason is your not supposed to put fsx into the program files X86? cause it won't work? i have put it in the default location before. but i been having a lot of issues here lately and can't go cross country any more with out the simulator crashing.
    16 gigs of ram
    1TB HardDrive
    windows 10.
    desktop

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,386

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CessnaFlyer View Post
    oh ok thank you. the reason is your not supposed to put fsx into the program files X86? cause it won't work? i have put it in the default location before. but i been having a lot of issues here lately and can't go cross country any more with out the simulator crashing.
    The sim itself and many add-ons will work in the default location. However, due to the increased security Windows has on the Program Files directories, some add-ons have problems, as well as making it a bit harder to edit config files inside the sim folder. Installing into a folder outside of Program Files heads off any of these permission related issues. It doesn't affect performance or anything else. If you're having troubles with the sim crashing there is something broken elsewhere.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wooster,ohio.
    Posts
    3,199

    Default cannot name a folder C:\fsx

    ah ok. well the only add-ons i use is REX 5 and REX airports HD and every thing A2A has to offer as well as the orbx trees and the precipit fx stuff. other then that my scenery is all stock. but i do use textures from the rex programs. so i am thinking it's either a texture or sound for the default airplanes. i don't use the default planes that much so i don't think i will do anything at all to them.
    16 gigs of ram
    1TB HardDrive
    windows 10.
    desktop

  9. #9

    Default

    'i got just one simulator in right now.........' which simulator is that then and where (inside or outside
    C:\Program Files X86) do you have it? If you install a MSFT simulator it will by default (unless changed in the WIN registry) install in C:\Program Files X86. If you want your Flightsim installed somewhere else then first create the desired Installation Folder manually by pointing your mouse in the 'Root directory' could be the first level in the 'partition' and then 'rightclick'. A small menu appears with the 'New' option, click it and 'type' only the desired name. The folder will be created and after that when installing your Flightsim you can change the default Program Files X86 location and browse to your manually created 'Folder'. Doubleclick usually sets it. I have installed all my 'Sims' in my 'G:\' partition and they all work perfect, (however still saving for a new MB and m2 SSD)


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FolderWIN_Folders.JPG 
Views:	38 
Size:	383.4 KB 
ID:	222997
    Last edited by piet06273; 10-12-2020 at 04:52 PM. Reason: cannot get the picture resolution right

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    7,260

    Default

    If you formated your hard drive then you should NOT have any programs anywhere and there should not be a conflict with any add ons, or other programs. They are not installed until you install FSX.

    If you installed to 'Program Files' then re-format your hard drive. Start over in other words. Create a NEW FOLDER under 'C'. Install to that folder. Sim will create all the folders that go with the Sim. But you will have sim files in other WINDOWS folders which the Sim needs to function with Windows. Re-Boot PC after you finish install of Sim. Fly the sim for a few minutes. Change planes, etc as a test. Set weather and you default flight. Then Re-Boot your PC. THEN and only then can you start to do add-ons, one at a time, with a re-boot of Sim after each install. You must be meticulos with Windows as it is very dependent on Registry Entries so as to make the Sim run smooth. Windows will always try to do updates of all/any files you have like video drivers for your video card, etc. Do your own updates. Let Windows only update vital Securtiy features for Windows. Good luck.
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-02-2015, 02:01 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-21-2012, 05:53 PM
  3. Cannot save *.CFG files in FSX folder
    By calvinps in forum FSX
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 09:01 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-31-2010, 04:47 PM
  5. Cannot select airline name.
    By bill2759 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-20-2005, 06:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •