Help needed please !

Hi everyone...

I've been a daily visitor on this site for ten years now and this is my first post.

I have been an avid flight simulator fan since FS5. I have been using FSX for many years now and have built a nice FS cockpit around it.

Like many, I am seriously thinking of moving over to Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020. I had a custom system made about 4 years ago but I suppose that it is now outdated. My system is :- (Don't laugh)...

Intel I7 5820K / Corsair Hydro H105 / Asus X99-S / 32GB 2400Mhz RAM / 2 x Asus Strix GTX 980 4GB GPU/ Corsair AX1200i PSU / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD / Seagate 2TB HDD / Samsung 24X DVDRW / Corsair Air 540 BLACK / Corsair AF120 LED Case Fan x 4 / Windows 7 Pro 64Bit Operating System.

I am upgrading to Windows 10

My question is, what will I need to upgrade to run the new Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 sim at high / ultra scenery levels with minimum stutter ?

Thank you in advance.

Gasman.

You don't mention two important things, your monitor and your internet connection speed. To run a 1080p monitor takes a lot less GPU power than to run a 1440p or 4K monitor. If you are running a 1080p, you may be OK, but you really need an 8gb card to run anything with more pixels.

The internet connection speed is important, because if you have less than a 60 mb/s connection, you may see stutters or locks. Most of the scenery is stored in the cloud, so you have to have a good internet connection to input the scenery, particularly at high or ultra.

I7-9700K, RTX-2070, Asus Strix Z-390-H MB, 32gb G Skill 3000 CL15, Corsair Obsidian 750D case, WD Black 1tb M.2, Crucial CT500MX SSD, Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium PSU

Got to agree. A serious new graphics card is a must. Wait a few weeks and see what the 2080’s come down to.

Plus you need to dedicate the SSD to just Windows and MFS.