Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: SFS Paine Field/Everett Boeing Factory

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lincoln, lincolnshire, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    8

    Default SFS Paine Field/Everett Boeing Factory

    Hi there
    I have just installed the above scenery. only to find that the the area is surrounded by white/grey square blocks.. the airfield area looks ok but the surrounds are just a mess. Any ideas?
    Rgds
    Steve H

  2. #2

    Default

    You apparently need to download and install some tree textures, probably specified in the text file?
    Tom Gibson

    CalClassic Propliner Page: http://www.calclassic.com

  3. #3

    Default

    Sounds like one or more of your default XXnnnnnn.bgl files are either missing, have been replaced/overwritten during your Paine Field installation process or are corrupted.

    I would want to suggest that you position any aircraft somewhere on your Paine airport, then save that flight with a name that you can find again later on and de-activate the complete Paine airport scenery via your scenery library drop down menu procedure. Terminate FS9, restart, open your previously saved flight and have a look around but only to see if your white/gray square blocks are still there.

    If so, then you can be sure that one or more of the above mentioned default files are actually missing and that the problem is not related to the Paine scenery itself.
    If however those blocks now look "normal" then your Paine scenery is clearly to blame and in this case you will need to contact the author.

    With the above I've assumed that your Paine scenery was installed in your drop down scenery library listing above any of your default files normally listed near the bottom.

    Good luck and regards

    Hans

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lincoln, lincolnshire, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    8

    Default

    It does look like trees are the problem. I have now noticed that I have the same problem with the recent Renton scenery. Am I missing something.? I have tried the above test and the problem is still there. What next? I know, MS2020, Ah hang on ! you are going to need a space age computer to run it. Just like Fs 2004 and FSX back in the day. My mate in the computer shop seems to think the very latest Intel I7 will struggle. We will see. Now back to trees1

  5. #5

    Default

    Could you please supply the downloaded file name of your Paine field and from where you have downloaded it. In that case I could have a go at it myself and let you know which (tree) textures are (somehow) missing.

    Regards
    Hans

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lincoln, lincolnshire, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi Hans
    Thanks for responding. I downloaded from this site (FlightSim.com)
    File name- FS2004 Scenery--SFS Paine Field/Everett Boeing Factory v1.1
    It's in new FS2004 Files Page 3
    Rgds
    Steve H

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jetset2 View Post
    I downloaded from this site (FlightSim.com)
    File name- FS2004 Scenery--SFS Paine Field/Everett Boeing Factory v1.1
    Hi Jetset2, I downloaded the same scenery yesterday, installed it and all is working fine here. I didn't notice any problem with the scenery or suroundings.

  8. #8

    Default

    I downloaded and (test) installed the rather good looking KPAE airport but do not see any of the untextured tree objects, as you seem to see in your setup.

    I would want to suggest that, for initial testing purposes, you uninstall your Paine Airport completely and that you then re-install it, only this time do not cut/paste any of the supplied textures to your main FS9 texture folder, as is instructed in the accompanying readme file.

    I did it this way and all was well, most probably because the necessary tree library file (add_SeevKahn_Trees.bgl) and it's called for tree textures, a.i. those beginning with "sk_tree_", are now kept within the same KPAE scenery setup.

    Good luck and let's hear how it went.

    Hans

  9. #9

    Default

    Hi,

    It's likely that the OP may have another copy of the tree library file (add_SeevKahn_Trees.bgl) somewhere in his scenery folders and that copy does not include the textures. FS will load library BGL files in unpredictable priorities, so that one may be loading instead. Do a search in your scenery folders for that file name.
    Tom Gibson

    CalClassic Propliner Page: http://www.calclassic.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lincoln, lincolnshire, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thank you all for the help. The scenery is now working as advertised. I'm still not quite sure as to what I've done but it's worked. It also fixed a similar problem with my Renton(KRNT) scenery. Quite how I'm not sure, but all is well. Thanks again.
    Rgds
    Steve H

Similar Threads

  1. Carenado Mooney Paine Field Approach
    By polarbear17 in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 03:54 PM
  2. Boeing factory/Douglas factory scenery AI PACK
    By jon747340 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-09-2010, 07:30 PM
  3. ATC lesson Renton Municipal to Paine Field
    By Flydoc2329 in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2006, 07:09 PM
  4. Boeing's Everett Production Facility
    By robh9990 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-09-2005, 03:30 PM
  5. The *Doomed* Night Flight To Paine Field (3 shots)
    By MikeM in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 08:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •