Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Is the recommended spec list already out of date?

  1. #1

    Default Is the recommended spec list already out of date?

    Hi all,

    The top intel cpu listed on the FS2020 sheet is the i7 9800x. A trawl of the web shows faster intel cpu's like the i9 9900k or the i7 10700k . Are they out of date or are they saying that the 9800x chip is still the best for this sim?

    Cheers
    Stinger

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

  2. Default

    "Recommended" means "at least" in this case.
    Best regards,
    Luis Hernández

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lmhariano View Post
    "Recommended" means "at least" in this case.
    Hi,

    The cpu that i quoted is on what MS show as the "ideal" rig. It is just that i would have thought that in there they would put the fastest chip available?

    Stinger

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    7,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stinger2k2 View Post
    Hi,

    The cpu that i quoted is on what MS show as the "ideal" rig. It is just that i would have thought that in there they would put the fastest chip available?

    Stinger

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
    Each level in the specs should be considered a minimum to achieve a certain level of performance. They aren’t going to keep updating the specs as new components come out.

  5. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loki View Post
    Each level in the specs should be considered a minimum to achieve a certain level of performance. They aren’t going to keep updating the specs as new components come out.
    Great comment ! Am assuming FS2020 will run better with no barriers unlike FSX ? I know with FSX that the performance gets to a certain level and any more PC power is a waste.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    7,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Th1racer View Post
    Great comment ! Am assuming FS2020 will run better with no barriers unlike FSX ? I know with FSX that the performance gets to a certain level and any more PC power is a waste.
    Yes, MSFS should be much better positioned to take advantage of new hardware as it comes out. FSX got caught out with the change from single to multi-core CPUs in particular, whereas the new sim has had the benefit of a much clearer path regarding current and upcoming hardware. The ACES studio was also disbanded before they had a chance to properly update the sim with the next release, while MS and Asobo have said they are in this for the long haul. Of course things can change, but so far it looks promising.

  7. #7

    Default

    My point was that there were faster cpu's available on the day that the ideal specs were released, so i was surprised that they didn't put the fastest on the spec sheet.

    My post was asking if there was a reason they went for an 8 core chip instead of one, already available, with more. Asking if that perhaps the sim is unable to utilise (at present ) those extra cores.

    Perhaps this is a question that will be answered once the NDA is over.

    Stinger

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    7,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stinger2k2 View Post
    My point was that there were faster cpu's available on the day that the ideal specs were released, so i was surprised that they didn't put the fastest on the spec sheet.
    Ideal just means those are the specs to run the sim as best as possible with the settings maxed out (in theory; will need to confirm when it is launched). The fact that there are better CPUs out there just means the sim doesn't need those to run as best as possible.

    When it comes to multi-core support, the question shouldn't be whether it can use all of the cores, but whether it can take advantage of as many cores as it needs in order to run well. Not every task on a computer is suited to using every core available. And then there is the fact that it also needs to be able to run on CPUs with four cores as well as those are still pretty common outside of enthusiast circles.

  9. Default

    I forgot to say. The "recommended specs" are fine for running default MSFS at max settings (I guess)... and no addons at all. The thing is that, knowing you're here, it's very possible you want to install some as soon as they're released. For that you'll possibly need an even stronger PC.
    Best regards,
    Luis Hernández

  10. #10

    Default

    The only addon i "need" is an Embraer Phenom 300 because my home cockpit is based on that aircraft. While i am waiting i am hoping that the Citation will make a decent alternative.

    That said i am sure my wallet will take a bashing on a few addons i would like

    As i live in the UK i am hoping that Gary Summons is on the case as far as UK airports are concerned.

    Stinger

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. What Spec PC for maxed out FSX
    By simonnett in forum FSX
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 03-30-2010, 05:24 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-02-2003, 01:41 AM
  3. Has this already been figured out?????
    By BRNE in forum FS2002
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-11-2002, 06:16 PM
  4. XBOX spec VS PC spec
    By Indo_FS in forum FS2002
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-09-2002, 04:58 AM
  5. fs2002 date+time vs System date+time
    By Skyjacal in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-03-2002, 02:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •