Alwasy been taught never to trust your fuel gauge...

BushPilot

Almost all student pilots are taught "never to trust your fuel gauge..." Why is that the case?

I have been driving for just over 10 years now and the fuel gauge in my car has never let me down.

For the past few years I have been using real world weather addon's and plan my flight using a flight log, and the Headwind/Tailwind makes a huge difference.

So my reasoning is that the fuel gauges in an airplane must be designed/built to a standard that is as good as a car, if not better!

The conclusion I came to is that you should never express the fuel you have as a function of volume, but express it as a function of time by consulting the POH for the power/altitude/temp settings. (of course, never forget to take a peek in the tank for color, contaminants, water)

Is this reasoning correct?

Started: Flight Simulator 98 (Year 1999)

Private Pilot Certificate ASEL: August 7th 2014

So my reasoning is that the fuel gauges in an airplane must be designed/built to a standard that is as good as a car, if not better!

Unfortunately that isn't the case. So:

Consider where you are in an aircraft, that is, in the air where you can't pull over to the side of the road. Consider how inaccurate aircraft fuel gauges are, and how important fuel quantity is to the safety of flight. Consider the shape of fuel tanks, typically located in the wings (some exceptions, of course) and what dihedral might do as the aircraft sits off-level, as it taxis, as it climbs, descends and turns, perhaps skidding or slipping.

Also, a slight leak in the float driving the gauge and it no longer works at all, plus the effects of turbulence.