Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: In FSX - do I only see Sim traffic? Or other Sim flyers? Or both?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    31

    Default In FSX - do I only see Sim traffic? Or other Sim flyers? Or both?

    Hi,

    I'm still reading my FSX manuals. There may be 50 pages on this very topic and I just have not found it yet.
    I notice it makes some folks furious when you ask a question that is in the book, but ... I'm doing it anyway --

    It is often instructive to watch the airplane traffic that is generated by the Sim. I find it especially so regarding taxiing. And that, by the way is how I can tell that it is computer driven. You just cant get as perfect as a computer driving a tricycle with your feet...
    I would find it highly improbable that I am the only one that gets a little off of the yellow stripe. Not to mention in the dang grass.

    My point: I would like to only see, and see all of, the planes that have actual Sim pilots flying them.
    Is there a way to do that in FSX ?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rebrecs View Post
    Hi,

    I'm still reading my FSX manuals. There may be 50 pages on this very topic and I just have not found it yet.
    I notice it makes some folks furious when you ask a question that is in the book, but ... I'm doing it anyway --

    It is often instructive to watch the airplane traffic that is generated by the Sim. I find it especially so regarding taxiing. And that, by the way is how I can tell that it is computer driven. You just cant get as perfect as a computer driving a tricycle with your feet...
    I would find it highly improbable that I am the only one that gets a little off of the yellow stripe. Not to mention in the dang grass.

    My point: I would like to only see, and see all of, the planes that have actual Sim pilots flying them.
    Is there a way to do that in FSX ?

    Thanks in advance.
    Yes, it is in the manual. You can see Artifcially Intelligent `other` aircraft, and if you fly online, other sim pilots.

  3. Default

    You would have to be in multiplayer or online with VATSIM. But before you venture off into VATSIM you need skill, lots of it because VATSIM is all about "as real as it gets." And you should know how to aviate, navigate and communicate. Then you should have a plane that has a full fledged cockpit with real working FMC and know how to use SIDs and STARS.

    Here's some more reading material if you want. All free. http://www.flightsimbooks.com/
    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Westminster, CO
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    Just to amplify the above a bit, in FSX you can have "AI" traffic when you are flying in single player mode, and you can have other player's traffic when you are connected to a session with others, whether through a multiplayer server (of which there are several, I'm told) or directly connected to another player's session. In multiplayer you see only the traffic of others connected to the same session that you are.

    with real working FMC
    Not all aircraft have such a gadget, so if you're flying a lightplane (or don't they allow that) then you just need to be able to use the gear on board, along with knowing IFR flying and such, as mentioned above.

    Larry N.

    As Skylab would say:
    Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CRJ_simpilot View Post
    But before you venture off into VATSIM you need skill, lots of it because VATSIM is all about "as real as it gets."
    Loud and Clear, thank you.

  6. Default

    There are many other online servers you can fly on. No fmc needed there at all.
    Here for example, at FSCloud:
    https://fsc24.org/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lnuss View Post
    in FSX you can have "AI" traffic when you are flying in single player mode, and you can have other player's traffic when you are connected to a session with others, whether through a multiplayer server (of which there are several, I'm told) or directly connected to another player's session. .
    Interesting. Thank you. Now I know what I am looking for in the docs. I recall seeing multiplayer stuff in the FSX doc but zoomed past it.

    I wonder what happens if somebody hits the Pause button. (not a serious question)
    I reckon I will stick with the Simulated traffic for a while.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rebrecs View Post
    I wonder what happens if somebody hits the Pause button.
    Everyone else online gets launched through the windscreen.

    Edit --

    I just Googled 'What would happen if everything stopped?'

    Please don't hit the pause, just in case...
    Last edited by defaid; 06-04-2020 at 10:50 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by defaid View Post
    Everyone else online gets launched through the windscreen.

    Edit --

    I just Googled 'What would happen if everything stopped?'

    Please don't hit the pause, just in case...
    Best laugh I have had in months .....

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-11-2018, 04:03 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-24-2013, 12:02 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 02:05 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-10-2004, 06:52 AM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-01-2002, 01:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •